EDID Override for Nvidia GTX 680 HDMI output - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-21-2013, 04:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
liquidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
My graphics card with hdmi output is adament that my receiver/TV can only do 2 channel. However I know this is not the case. I've heard there is a way to override this, can someone point me in the right direction?

Many thanks!
liquidsmoke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-24-2013, 10:02 AM
Senior Member
 
jarablue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This link shows you how to do the edid override.

http://hardforum.com/showpost.php?p=1038495309&postcount=438
jarablue is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-24-2013, 10:10 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,004
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Before you go override the EDID, how is your receiver configured and connected? I assume you have an HDMI receiver. In most cases, if you didn't turn off HDMI audio from receiver to TV, your receiver will report 2-ch stereo in its EDID. For most TVs, their HDMI inputs are indeed 2-ch stereo only. Override and force send DD 5.1 will not result anything.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-24-2013, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
liquidsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK thanks guys smile.gif.
liquidsmoke is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-26-2015, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello

I just opened a similar thread. Can someone please confirm that we only need to do an EDID override by having only the AV Receiver connected? I read in a few places that I will need to connect the TV separately, take the raw data from moninfo then do the same with the AVR connected and them merge the files and then update the PNP monitor driver.

Is that correct or do I not need to bother about the TV anymore?

Thanks.
alitech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

taboola here


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off