Using Roku 2 xd with HTPC as extender - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-23-2013, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rlhowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga NE
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this Roku and read that with PLEX I might be able to stream to remote TVs. How useful is this and where is it discussed?

Bob Howell
rlhowell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-24-2013, 04:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
lovekeiiy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have the first and second general Roku boxes. Yes, you can use Plex on them. It's just a channel to install.

To find a discussion on it, you can go to the Plex forums and read the Roku subforum.

As for useful, that's a bit subjective. It's as useful as Netflix if you have a digital media you keep stored somewhere in your home network.

I would suggest checking out Plex's website. I think you may not understand what Plex is or what it does.
lovekeiiy is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-25-2013, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
xcrunner529's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've been disappointed with Plex and the Roku. I don't understand why it has to transcode all the time. Just freaking play the full bitrate file!
xcrunner529 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-25-2013, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrunner529 View Post

I've been disappointed with Plex and the Roku. I don't understand why it has to transcode all the time. Just freaking play the full bitrate file!

Codec support on the Roku support is very limited. Not much the Plex team can do about that. Otherwise the Plex Roku channel is very nice.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-25-2013, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
rlhowell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Atlanta, Ga NE
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replys.

Roku is a backup for the HTPC now and I see it can also be a way to get programs to remote areas of the house, like my wifes ironing area.

I am cutting the cable soon!

Bob
rlhowell is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-25-2013, 04:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
DanPackMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NC
Posts: 518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by xcrunner529 View Post

I've been disappointed with Plex and the Roku. I don't understand why it has to transcode all the time. Just freaking play the full bitrate file!

The ROKU has a strict conformance to an HLS streaming protocol. Even though it can support a 1080p MKV file via usb (R2 XS), PLEX has to do 'transcoding' to break it up into HLS packets just so the ROKU can receive them via a channel. There is also a mechanism by which the source transcodes at a lower quality if the connection cannot handle it. By limiting to that protocol, Roku helps ensure channels work by placing the burden on the channel provider. That is good, but it also means that there won't be a solution that does not require transcoding of some sort.

I use the term transcoding loosely above, as it still can be H264, just packaged differently.
DanPackMan is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off