Issue with WD Red Drives - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 75 Old 01-30-2013, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,055
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Cheaping out on the case again, eh? wink.gifwink.gif

It must be fun to build something in a case that nice.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 75 Old 01-30-2013, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,587
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 204 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

It must be fun to build something in a case that nice.

It's niceness is only paralleled by it's impracticality biggrin.gif
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #63 of 75 Old 01-30-2013, 04:14 PM
Member
 
shabazkilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm running 12 WD Red 2TB drives in my storage server without issue. All the drives are connected to an Adaptec 5805 controller via a Chenbro CK13601 SAS expander.


shabazkilla is offline  
post #64 of 75 Old 01-30-2013, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabazkilla View Post

I'm running 12 WD Red 2TB drives in my storage server without issue. All the drives are connected to an Adaptec 5805 controller via a Chenbro CK13601 SAS expander.



I think this is some sort of strange motherboard vs red incompatibility. Needless to say we won't use this specific motherboard again with the red drives.
assassin is offline  
post #65 of 75 Old 02-01-2013, 11:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,829
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 957
what is your solution ???

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #66 of 75 Old 02-01-2013, 04:30 PM
Senior Member
 
cdru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

what is your solution ???
Going out on a limb here but I'm going to guess not to use that particular motherboard with the red drives.
cdru is offline  
post #67 of 75 Old 02-28-2013, 12:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,829
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 957
Asassin,

What was your final solution ??

Change the mobo or change the drives? Or did WD come through with a fix ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #68 of 75 Old 02-28-2013, 01:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Asassin,

What was your final solution ??

Change the mobo or change the drives? Or did WD come through with a fix ?

Changed the drives. Works well.
assassin is offline  
post #69 of 75 Old 02-28-2013, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
So now you are using more than 5 Red drives with the ASRock mobo?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #70 of 75 Old 02-28-2013, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post

So now you are using more than 5 Red drives with the ASRock mobo?

No.
assassin is offline  
post #71 of 75 Old 02-28-2013, 08:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

No.

So you haven't solved the issue yet...
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #72 of 75 Old 02-28-2013, 08:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Nope. Didn't have time to troubleshoot further. Customer wanted his HTPC.

Likely an ASRock controller issue I think. Doubt it has anything at all to do with the WD Red drives. Like I said worked perfectly well with all Greens or a combination of Red and Green.
assassin is offline  
post #73 of 75 Old 02-28-2013, 08:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,829
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 957
I believe it might just be a limitation. It's probably not going to effect 99% of the people. But it does kinda suck. It's not unreasonable to want to use 5+ HDD's in a PC build and Asrock is not exactly a strange motherboard.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #74 of 75 Old 06-03-2013, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Just wanted to update those interested that about two weeks ago I received a PM from WD here at AVS...
Quote:
Hello Assassin, we came across your post the other day regarding our Red drives. We also noticed you were in contact with our support team. If you wouldn't mind, we would like to gather some more information from you regarding our drives and the issues you experienced. Would you mind providing me with your case number so we may contact you?

Thanks,
WDSupport

I asked them to contact the guys at Assassin HTPC for additional information. Time permitting I will keep you posted.
assassin is offline  
post #75 of 75 Old 06-03-2013, 06:20 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 23,829
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 957
That's a strong reply. At least they care and want to fix it. Kudos to WD.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off