Celeron Ivy Bridge G1610, HD2500. Will it do 3d HTPC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-28-2013, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cazten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So ive been looking at low cost HTPC options. One thing I just noticed is that the new Ivy Bridge Celerons will Have the HD2500 GPU.

So looking around I notice the i3 with HD2500 is listed as being 3D BD ISO playable.

So Now I'm wondering can the same be said for the new Ivy Bridge Celerons with HD2500? I've not seen a single review of them yet anywhere. Im almost wondering if they've even shipped, though Newegg has it for $49.

If it does it may be one killer Low budget unit

Anyone know?
cazten is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-28-2013, 06:05 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,191
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 209 Post(s)
Liked: 371
No. ark.intel.com ("ntel® InTru™ 3D Technology").

AMD A6-5400K is the cheapest (~$70) CPU+GPU that supports BR 3D.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-28-2013, 08:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cazten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lame

Seems like a marketing gimmick considering other CPUs could with the 2500hd
cazten is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-28-2013, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Yup, they intentionally disable stuff on the cheaper cpu's. Its marketing.
jeffkro is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-28-2013, 10:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cazten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What exactly is it they turn off? Any way around it?
cazten is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-28-2013, 11:06 PM
Member
 
ps2cho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No way around it. Go with the 5400k. I just got a new system with it and its a great chip for the price.
ps2cho is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off