Celeron Ivy Bridge G1610, HD2500. Will it do 3d HTPC? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Celeron Ivy Bridge G1610, HD2500. Will it do 3d HTPC?

Home Theater Computers

cazten's Avatar cazten
05:53 PM Liked: 10
post #1 of 6
01-28-2013 | Posts: 95
Joined: Oct 2007
So ive been looking at low cost HTPC options. One thing I just noticed is that the new Ivy Bridge Celerons will Have the HD2500 GPU.

So looking around I notice the i3 with HD2500 is listed as being 3D BD ISO playable.

So Now I'm wondering can the same be said for the new Ivy Bridge Celerons with HD2500? I've not seen a single review of them yet anywhere. Im almost wondering if they've even shipped, though Newegg has it for $49.

If it does it may be one killer Low budget unit

Anyone know?
renethx's Avatar renethx
07:05 PM Liked: 389
post #2 of 6
01-28-2013 | Posts: 16,243
Joined: Jan 2006
No. ark.intel.com ("ntel® InTru™ 3D Technology").

AMD A6-5400K is the cheapest (~$70) CPU+GPU that supports BR 3D.
cazten's Avatar cazten
09:25 PM Liked: 10
post #3 of 6
01-28-2013 | Posts: 95
Joined: Oct 2007
Lame

Seems like a marketing gimmick considering other CPUs could with the 2500hd
jeffkro's Avatar jeffkro
09:37 PM Liked: 23
post #4 of 6
01-28-2013 | Posts: 2,053
Joined: Aug 2009
Yup, they intentionally disable stuff on the cheaper cpu's. Its marketing.
cazten's Avatar cazten
11:12 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 6
01-28-2013 | Posts: 95
Joined: Oct 2007
What exactly is it they turn off? Any way around it?
ps2cho's Avatar ps2cho
12:06 AM Liked: 10
post #6 of 6
01-29-2013 | Posts: 35
Joined: Dec 2008
No way around it. Go with the 5400k. I just got a new system with it and its a great chip for the price.
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3