Live TV and Playback while still Recording Problems - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2013, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hockeyrcks9901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hopefully someone can help...

My recordings work perfectly fine but live tv just shows a blank blue screen and trying to play a show that's still recording gives a corrupt video error. It still records fine.

Anybody experience this before.

Using network ceton tuner but I don't think that's the cause...
hockeyrcks9901 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-28-2013, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Have you installed any codec packs? Did you change the default MPEG2 codec from the standard Microsoft provided one?
Puwaha is offline  
Old 01-29-2013, 01:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hockeyrcks9901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sharks codecs.

Don't think I changed anything on the MPEG settings.
hockeyrcks9901 is offline  
Old 01-29-2013, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeyrcks9901 View Post

Sharks codecs.

Don't think I changed anything on the MPEG settings.

It is easy enough to uninstall the codecs (restoring OS defaults) to ensure that they arent affecting your problem. You dont need them for LiveTV functionality. Is your system 32bit? I ask because it is quite possible some other software installation has installed additional codecs. 'Format Factory' is a well known source of codec issues.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
Old 01-29-2013, 08:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,412
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 452 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeyrcks9901 View Post

Sharks codecs.

Don't think I changed anything on the MPEG settings.

IIRC, the default action or suggested setting on Shark codecs is to disable Media Foundation which will mess up your LiveTV playback on WMC.
Foxbat121 is online now  
Old 01-29-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hockeyrcks9901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

It is easy enough to uninstall the codecs (restoring OS defaults) to ensure that they arent affecting your problem. You dont need them for LiveTV functionality. Is your system 32bit? I ask because it is quite possible some other software installation has installed additional codecs. 'Format Factory' is a well known source of codec issues.

I'll try uninstalling them and see if that fixes the problems. System is 64bit.

I had installed them awhile ago but we've moved since and are planning to move again shortly so I didn't bother setting the AVR up. Will post later tonight with an update.
hockeyrcks9901 is offline  
Old 01-29-2013, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hockeyrcks9901's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Uninstalling sharks codecs fixed livetv but broke .mkv playback. Thoughts?
hockeyrcks9901 is offline  
Old 01-29-2013, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post

suggested setting on Shark codecs is to disable Media Foundation which will mess up your LiveTV playback on WMC.

I just released new versions of my codecs that when choosing to use the SUGGESTED settings,
It will ask you if you use LiveTV and if you answer YES, it will not disable Media Foundation.
Current releases at the time of this post are 398 for the Windows 7 release, and version 141 for Windows 8 users.

I release directly to MajorGeeks - every other fileserver gets the distributed installer from MajorGeeks.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
Old 01-30-2013, 10:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 27,219
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 368 Post(s)
Liked: 1511
Thanks ...

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off