XBMC 12 Released today. - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreenEyez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guinness77 View Post

I have yet to get my HTPC set up, but was just wondering about seamless branching. How would XBMC play back a seamless branching blu-ray ISO without a full BD menu?

Thanks

It has some built in algorithms that select the longest playlist in the disk, which is the movie obviously. And plays it back as a normal movie. With Frodo i heard they improved this , and you can actually select other tracks from the ISO , so you can play the extras. Kinda like that BD-Lite feature some media players like the lower end Dunes have. Haven`t tested this yet.
GreenEyez is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 06:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guinness77 View Post

I have yet to get my HTPC set up, but was just wondering about seamless branching. How would XBMC play back a seamless branching blu-ray ISO without a full BD menu?

Thanks

Fyi, XBMC 12.0 can display non-Java menus. Seamless branching still works fine for all discs though.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #33 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
acejh1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
You can choose a different playlist in Frodo via a small popup menu that comes up before the movie plays, buts it is very basic - It only lists playlist numbers, it doesn't even show the length, so its a blind guess. Not as good as MPC/JRiver Playlist selection menu, but an improvement over Eden.

Not all HDMV menus work either, it needs a lot of improvement.
acejh1987 is offline  
post #34 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Guinness77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I will have to give it a try once I setup my computer.
Guinness77 is offline  
post #35 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 07:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
It'd be great if the Intel GPU/DXVA macroblocking issue is fixed. I need to dig into the changelog and see if it is unless someone knows off the top of their heads.

BTW, no problems accessing the forums this morning.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #36 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
steelman1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 969
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Not as far as I know Stardog - shouldn't be too much of a problem though playing media without it on an intel chip.
steelman1991 is offline  
post #37 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 09:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

See you've been at the weed again smile.gif - slick front end and jriver just don't sit well together. It is certainly a far superior playback application, but it can't hold a candle to xbmc in the slick/eye candy stakes, if that's what you mean.

Yup. That's why I use mediabrowser lol

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #38 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 09:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenEyez View Post

It provides the same quality as MPC-HC with LAV filters and EVR (not MadVR) . MadVR is what i would call "ultimate" , not "above average". MadVR does kick the crap out of anything else when it comes to upscaling capabilities smile.gif

Do you use SVP?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #39 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Yup. That's why I use mediabrowser lol

I was going to say the same lol.

I like mediabrowser plenty, but it will always be at the mercy of WMC as it's base.

I'd love to use XBMC because it is a great piece of software, just waiting on MPC+Madvr AND more importantly cable card tuner compatibility with DRM.

But media browser + MPC kicks ass for now.
FantaXP7 is offline  
post #40 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 11:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zagor View Post

I used to be one of those MPC-HC + Madvr +Lav nuts but over time my eyesight is not as good as it used to be (I can't tell the difference anymore even on my 82" TV) so I traded for the ease of use and the abilty to "control everything with a remote" of XBMC plus everything else that it brings to the table.

I hear ya, but mediabrowser with MPC as an external player works out very well. The remote commands are just about flawless between the two apps.

But to each their own.
FantaXP7 is offline  
post #41 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 02:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Right. Mediabrowser can use external players

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #42 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 240
XBMC can use external players
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #43 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Perkasie, PA
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidT99 View Post

Upgrading from Eden has also gone without issues
I am on Eden and want to upgrade to Frodo but I don't really know how to upgrade. Can you tell me how do you do it?
Thanks.
lulimet is offline  
post #44 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by steelman1991 View Post

Not as far as I know Stardog - shouldn't be too much of a problem though playing media without it on an intel chip.

Except for the Celeron 8x7 (the embedded mobile Celeron boards with HD2000). While 2x more powerful than Atom/Zacate, there's still not enough CPU for the internal player to render in software on Windows.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #45 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Except for the Celeron 8x7 (the embedded mobile Celeron boards with HD2000). While 2x more powerful than Atom/Zacate, there's still not enough CPU for the internal player to render in software on Windows.

I know it's not the answer you were looking for, but I believe linux is immune from this problem. So if all else fails you can try OpenELEC
lockdown571 is online now  
post #46 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 04:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

XBMC can use external players

It's not the same though...

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #47 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 07:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

It's not the same though...

Nice, how so?
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #48 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

I know it's not the answer you were looking for, but I believe linux is immune from this problem. So if all else fails you can try OpenELEC

Actually, I found some good answers on the wiki. There's DSPlayer and of course launching an external player. So, pretty much the same as before.

I just needed to know the answer for when people ask me in regards to this

Yeah, the Celeron mobile boards absolutely rock OpenELEC.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #49 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BizarroTerl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Jose, CA USA
Posts: 1,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenEyez View Post

It provides the same quality as MPC-HC with LAV filters and EVR (not MadVR) . MadVR is what i would call "ultimate" , not "above average". MadVR does kick the crap out of anything else when it comes to upscaling capabilities smile.gif

Does MadVR make a difference if you're playing full BR rips?
BizarroTerl is offline  
post #50 of 59 Old 01-30-2013, 08:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by BizarroTerl View Post

Does MadVR make a difference if you're playing full BR rips?

MadVR mostly shines when upscaling and deinterlacing. However, even 1080p blu-rays need the chroma component upscaled, so there are some improvements with MadVR. Honestly, though, for native 1080p material you're either going to need a very large TV (like a projector) or very good eyes to notice the difference.

Arguments about the benefits of MadVR come up almost every week on this forum. I think the best thing is just to see for yourself! You can either setup mpc-hc with MadVR (one of the stickies has a walkthrough) or download a trial of JRiver which already has MadVR configured.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #51 of 59 Old 01-31-2013, 04:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
balky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 776
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post

I am on Eden and want to upgrade to Frodo but I don't really know how to upgrade. Can you tell me how do you do it?
Thanks.

Probably not completely what you're asking, but I would recommend waiting at least a month before touching a working setup...

I got rid of LAV, MPC-HC, MadVR, Mediabrowser all at once last year as soon as the version of Eden that supported HD audio bitstreaming came out. I haven't looked back since then.

My setup stays this way until Frodo out grows it's teething pains...
balky is online now  
post #52 of 59 Old 01-31-2013, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
DavidT99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lulimet View Post

I am on Eden and want to upgrade to Frodo but I don't really know how to upgrade. Can you tell me how do you do it?
Thanks.

Just download the latest stable release and double click the icon. No different to clean installing.

Frodo has been through alpha, beta and 3 RC stages so it should be pretty stable however that doesn't mean there wont be bugs.

David
DavidT99 is offline  
post #53 of 59 Old 02-08-2013, 07:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,724
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 684
I am not seeing much different in this new version... I read the new features but I can't say anything new has translated into improving my experiences.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #54 of 59 Old 02-08-2013, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 714
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

I am not seeing much different in this new version... I read the new features but I can't say anything new has translated into improving my experiences.

Don't care about HD audio? Odd.

Don't care about PVR? Understandable.

These are both huge features that I'm sure took a lot of work. If you don't care about either of these then there wasn't much else done.

XBMC is already the best, how much improvement do you expect?
macks is offline  
post #55 of 59 Old 02-08-2013, 08:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by macks View Post

XBMC is already the best, how much improvement do you expect?

Why, CableCard support of course smile.gif.

I am looking forward to OE3.0. I hope it has all these features.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #56 of 59 Old 02-08-2013, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Why, CableCard support of course smile.gif.

I am looking forward to OE3.0. I hope it has all these features.

2.99.1 and 2.99.2 already have live tv. I've got a nextpvr backend on my main htpc and running openelec on the bedroom htpc. It's as stable as frodo, which isn't 100%. I've also used it on a Nexus 7 smile.gif It worked pretty decently (not as great on 1080i, but almost playable) still no hardware acceleration on android

Improvements are still possible smile.gif
  • .ts playback
  • optional splitter and decoder support (even xml type support like current external player support)
  • streamlined library sync
  • un-fork plex and build in transcoding support
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #57 of 59 Old 02-09-2013, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,887
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Why, CableCard support of course smile.gif.

I am looking forward to OE3.0. I hope it has all these features.

What's OE3.0? I'd love to have a replacement for WMC with cablecard support.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
post #58 of 59 Old 02-09-2013, 06:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,334
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctviggen View Post

What's OE3.0? I'd love to have a replacement for WMC with cablecard support.

XBMC's live tv supports several backends, and some of those support cablecard tuners (none support Copy-once)

Myth (linux)
NextPVR (Windows)
ArgusTV (Windows)
Mediaportal (Windows)
4therecord (Windows)

There might be others that I'm not aware of

OpenELEC v3.0 will be the stable release corresponding to XBMC Frodo. OE 2 was Eden

It's an embedded linux entertainment center, targeted to provide only hardware drivers to support XBMC and corresponding input devices. Check it out openelec.tv
Dark_Slayer is online now  
post #59 of 59 Old 02-10-2013, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
brianjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have been playing with XBMC 12 for a day now using Argus TV as a backend. I am finally at the point where I am understanding how most things work, and how to setup everything the way I want. Unfortunately, I am still struggling in a few areas. I too do not like the EPG, and I have not found a suitable skin to give me what I want. The next is series recording. Some things I read suggest this is something that can be done, but I don't see a way to do it from within XBMC. The last is Netflix. It looks like the Netflix add-on hasn't been updated for Frodo, and even then it looks like it might be really lacking compared to what is in WMC.

The idea of one solution that is more tightly integrated than WMC with a bunch of plugins is appealing, but so far I am left feeling like XBMC is no better than WMC in many regards. In the end, I am still left with a bunch of compromises. I will probably be using WMC for a while longer, because Netflix integration and PVR functionality are the two most critical features for WAF. If anyone has any suggestions, I am all ears.
brianjb is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off