No Video or Audio from PC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-29-2013, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
scarbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Lurker, but first time poster here. I haven't been able to find a solution to this problem via searching.

I recently bought a Panasonic plasma TV (TC-P55ST50) and am attempting to use it as an additional display via HDMI. The PC display is a Samsung LCD via DVI. I also have a Yamaha RX-V573 receiver which I'd like to use as the pass through. I'm using Windows 7 and an ASUS Nvidia GTX 550 graphics card as the display/audio output. The drivers are up to date via the ASUS website, but can't recall which version. Even though there is a slightly newer driver on the Nvidia site, I've avoided it because it fails to install.

In both the Nvidia and Windows control panels I can see the Yamaha as an additional display and if I turn off ARC, I can see the Panasonic as an additional display. The problem is that the television says there is no signal. I've tried playing with the resolutions, both matching them and using the native resolution for each. Also have tried disconnecting the DVI with the smaller display.

One thing I have not tried is moving the PC closer to the television. I will likely try it this evening. I think the connections are all good though since the PC recognizes the new display, but the HDMI connection is over some distance since the PC is in another room. 65 feet via two wall plate couplers, specifically. Any chance the distance or couplers could be an issue?

Thanks for any input. Let me know if more information is needed.

Eric
scarbelly is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-29-2013, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
65 feet via two wall plate couplers, specifically. Any chance the distance or couplers could be an issue?

65 feet is quite a run for hdmi, I wouldn't doubt that's your problem.
sitlet is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-29-2013, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
scarbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. I can probably cut down some of the length by getting rid of the coupler wall plates and using bulk cable wall plates and a single cable if needed.
scarbelly is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off