New Hard Drive won't initialize.... "the device is not ready" - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-30-2013, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimbo75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
i have a new WD 2TB hard drive that I'm putting into a MediaSonic USB3.0 external enclosure. After attaching the hard drive, I went into Computer Management to initialize the disk. When I tried to do that, I get an error that pops up from the Virtual Disk Manager that says, "The device is not ready".

I've tried detaching and re-attaching the drive and rebooting my HTPC, but no luck.... Any ideas? Do I have to initialize it with a SATA cable on the motherboard first before putting it in the enclosure?

Thanks.
jimbo75 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-31-2013, 04:10 AM
Member
 
Nebiroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Don;t think so, but doing this would immediately reveal whether the drive itself is fault. If it won;t work properly connected directly to a SATA port either, then it;s the drive. If it does work properly, the problem is elsewhere.
Nebiroth is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-31-2013, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
And it's not your enclosure? You said USB 3.0 -- is there USB 3.0 on your mobo? Got the drivers loaded to support the USB 3.0 port? Proper USB 3.0 cable? Try hooking the enclosure to a USB 2.0 port as a test... maybe even reuse a known good USB 2.0 cable on that one.
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-31-2013, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimbo75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I attached the hard drive to my motherboard and it initialized fine. And then I put it back into the enclosure and everything was ok. Not sure what the deal was last night....

Yes, I do have USB3.0 on my mobo and I'm using the cable that came with the enclosure.
jimbo75 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-31-2013, 03:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Glad you got it working! Tell us how your transfer speeds are using the USB 3.0 interface, please.
Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-01-2013, 07:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jimbo75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I tried a couple of transfers.... when transferring mp3s and photos I was getting around 50 MBps. when transferring home movies (Canon .m2ts files), I was getting around 68 MBps.

I haven't tried updating drivers or anything... I did see a bunch of sticky posts on the MediaSonic forums about updating drivers.
jimbo75 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off