Should I replace my Mobo with something new or the same piece I have? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-02-2013, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have to order a new Mobo, because of a liquid spill that shorted out the current unit (Asrock E350M1 AMD E-350 APU).

I had no issues with the motherboard, so I was just going to order another one, but then I started thinking. Can I do the job w/o a decrease in performance for less than $100?

I have a basic build (Win 8 Pro, Seagate 2TB 5900 RPM HD, 2 2GB DDR, LG Blu Ray Drive). The HTPC is mainly used for viewing Blu Ray discs/.mkv files thru XBMC. I do not use it for DVR or gaming.


If you were in my shoes, what mobo would you put back in your HTPC?


Thank you,
slosvt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-02-2013, 12:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Tiddles88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Intel G1610 + Asrock B75M-GL for a buck or two over 100, assuming you have an mATX case. Vastly faster than an 350 APU.
Tiddles88 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-02-2013, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I have the following case:


SILVERSTONE Black Aluminum skin reinforced plastic front panel, 0.8mm SECC body MILO Series ML03B Micro ATX Media Center / HTPC Case

Is the I3 worth the extra cost of the basic Intel CPU?
slosvt is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-06-2013, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Tiddles,

How much difference would I see in using the Intel G620 + Intel boxdh67blb3 vs. your suggestion. I looked at the I3 but that would run more than I wanted to spend at this time.

Thank you,
slosvt is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off