Streaming 1080 over WiFi - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-05-2013, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone school me on this?

I have a HTPC with all my media located on it. I'm running Plex on the HTPC. When I try to play 1080 movies on my laptop through Plex Media Center the video buffers every few seconds.
hollatbk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It would help if you gave us details about your wifi setup, and what kind of media you are streaming (resolution, bitrate, etc). But basically, you wont be able to stream most 1080 material over a 54g network, it's too slow.
sitlet is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 11:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Hardline it. Wireless is simply never going to work 100% of the time for 1080p (unless it's super compressed 1080p I suppose). You could too Plex Media Center to transcode it to a lower quality, which would help.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 12:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,261
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

Hardline it. Wireless is simply never going to work 100% of the time for 1080p (unless it's super compressed 1080p I suppose).

Never? What about the new 802.11ac routers once that equipment matures?
Karyk is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
Never 100% of the time is what lockdown571 said.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lockdown571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyk View Post

Never? What about the new 802.11ac routers once that equipment matures?

Theoretically, yes. Practically, no. Wireless is subject to interference from a lot of sources, and you can never expect 100% reliability. It doesn't matter how fast the protocol is.
lockdown571 is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 01:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 189
In order to overcome these issues via wireless, you need a lot of buffer memory and have to tolerate a lot of buffering before actual payback.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
sycochkn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am successfuly playing Bluray ISOs over my network with a Netgear R6300 and a Netgear A6200 (80211.ac) with file sharing. I am using Virtual Clone Drive and PowerDVD10 ultra or XBMC. I just tried and eperiment I played two different movies at the same time over the wireless network one is stored on one computer and one is stored on the other. They both play just fine.
sycochkn is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HTPC:
ios
CPU - Sandy Bridge LGA1155 (3D) Intel i3-2100
MoBo - GIGABYTE GA-Z68MA
RAM - G.Skill 2x2GB DDR3
HDD - WD Green 2TB

The Laptop:
CPU - Intel® Core i7-3632QM
RAM - 8GB DDR3

Router is just the standard Cable Modem with a built in wireless router from Verizon Fios. I do know its a newer version capable of 300 Mbps over the wireless. (Model: Actiontec mi424wr)

Here's the thing. I play all my movies through my HTPC on my 1080 HDTV, or stream them to my roku located in my bedroom that is connected to a 720 HDTV via Plex. I just got a new laptop that is 1080p and for shits and giggles I was trying to stream Blu-Rays from my HTPC to the laptop via Plex so I could see how they looked. I know I could always just directly hard wire my laptop to the router but that's beside the point. From what I'm gathering streaming 1080p over wireless isn't practical.
hollatbk is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockdown571 View Post

Theoretically, yes. Practically, no. Wireless is subject to interference from a lot of sources, and you can never expect 100% reliability. It doesn't matter how fast the protocol is.

I finally got my wireless N running 1080p with almost no stutter, you just to have really really good signal strength. I'm just using windows network sharing, no plex or anything.
jeffkro is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 08:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Its not about the quantity (speed, strength of signal, etc) its about the quality (lack of interference and dropped packets).

Our baby monitor is a wireless internet terrorist.
Sammy2 likes this.
assassin is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-06-2013, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Our baby monitor is a wireless internet terrorist.
Ain't that the truth!!
vladd is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-08-2013, 05:27 AM
Newbie
 
ShadoeOSU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Liverpool, NY
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vladd View Post

Ain't that the truth!!

No kidding. Our monitor operates at 2.4GHz and it completely killed our wireless network. I had to upgrade to a 5GHz router just to get around the interference.
ShadoeOSU is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off