DVDfab's new VidOn.me Set Top Box vs other solutions. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 24 Old 02-05-2013, 08:01 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Please excuse my total noobness when it comes to this topic. I am getting sick of trying to keep track of all my blu-rays and trying to keep them out of my 4-year-old's and 2-year-old's hands. Also, it would be so much more convenient to be sitting in my home theater, press one button on my harmony one remote, have my entire library of blu-rays at my fingertips without having to even get up from the couch smile.gif I have started thinking about ripping all of my blu-rays and DVDs to an external hard drive and using something to play them.

I have heard good things about DVDFab as a copying/ripping software, and I saw on their website they have a "deal" going on right now that for $299 you get every piece of software they produce with lifetime free updates. They are also throwing in a new product that they call the "VidOn.me Set-Top Box" (they claim its a $99 value) It looks like this is a box that i will attach an external HD to via USB 2.0 and will then attach this box via HDMI to my audio/video receiver. I can't find any reviews on this product, as it looks like they won't even start shipping them till March 1st. The deal and all the specifications on this set top box are here: http://www.dvdfab.com/holiday-season-campaigns.htm Given the specs of this thing, does this sound like something that is legit and will work as I hope it would?