DXVA2 in XBMC Frodo - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 50 Old 02-15-2013, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

The i3 I previously mentioned is running OpenElec, and I tried enabling DXVA under the video playback settings as well. It worked fine here as well.

So. . . egg on my face for this line (which I edited with strikethrough)

I should make it a point to re check the settings I mention rather than just trying to recall them off the top of my head

DXVA is obviously never an option in OpenELEC, but I do leave VAAPI enabled for the i3 2105 running OpenELEC version 2.99.2. VAAPI might have been working for a while in OpenELEC, but due to the issue I had with hardware acceleration the first time I ever setup XBMC I never thought to enable it. After I went to "check" in the stable release on my i5 and found it successful, then I toggled on VAAPI in OE and noticed similar 5% utilization
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

Well, according to this guy who Googled it and theorized about it, you're all wrong: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=140534&pid=1336310#pid1336310 -- it will only play "fluently" on the HD4000 and Intel NUC. Sorry guys...

smile.gif

I can't really prove him wrong, but from what Renethx said above it shouldn't be different for any IVB processor. My OpenELEC box is using a sandy bridge i3, but I'd have to throw windows on there just to test. I might get a chance to do so this weekend, in the interest of science. Screenshot may or may not be forthcoming wink.gif
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 50 Old 02-16-2013, 12:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Ok, installed XBMC12 and the aforementioned Intel driver on the Celeron 847 test system. I still see banding/pixelation on scene changes. CPU usage was around 14%. Turning off DXVA I get about 85-90% CPU util which is better than the 100% CPU util in XBMC11 but the video is still choppy. Using WMP for the same MKV and it's as smooth as butter. So, that's always an option for Celeron 847 and Windows, just launch WMP from XBMC. Bummer though.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #33 of 50 Old 03-31-2013, 03:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Livin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Progressive VC-1 can be played back just fine whether DXVA2 is on or off. It's interlaced VC-1 (a short clip here: BBC Life - Plants) that can't play with XBMC, whether DXVA2 is on or off, whatever graphics card (not only Intel, but also AMD or NVIDIA) you use. But interlaced VC-1 is found only in BBC Blu-ray and a few others.

DXVA2 on means decoding is done by GPU, as well as deinterlacing and scaling. With DXVA2 off, decoding is done by CPU, but deinterlacing and scaling can be still done by GPU (set Render method = DXVA). GPU in any IVB processor behaves exactly the same way.

MPC-HC (or any DirectShow player)+LAV Video Decoder (with whatever video renderer) is just perfect.

I have an Onkyo with HQV Vida VHD1900 processor for upscaling to 1080p, with Qdeo ... what do you recommend I set XBMC at to get the best PQ using my AVR?

My contents is all 720p and 1080i (OTA broadcasts)

________
Ltek

my setup: XBMC, Windows Media Center, Z-Wave/Insteon automation, Paradigm-Parasound-Onkyo-Velodyne Home Theater, 110" DIY Screen & BenQ W1070
Livin is offline  
post #34 of 50 Old 04-01-2013, 01:29 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Yup, an external post-processor is another solution. But AFAIK there is no simple, automatic way for XBMC to output native resolution based on the source.
renethx is offline  
post #35 of 50 Old 04-02-2013, 05:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 17,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 154
There is, it's just not in the main XBMC (yet?).

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=64139&page=11

See what an anamorphoscopic lens can do, see movies the way they were meant to be seen
stanger89 is offline  
post #36 of 50 Old 04-18-2013, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 50

Since you guys are all subscribed to this thread (and seem to know a lot about this) maybe you can help me? I currently have this machine running Win7-64/XBMC v11. An older machine, but working fine:

 

AMD Athlon-64 x2 (Dual-Core)

-  On-Board ATI Radeon HD 3200 (similar to HD2400) VGA-DVI-HDMI

- 2 gb ram and small HDD
- 400w PS

 

With DXVA2 on, works fine and can handle VIDEO_TS, 1080p .MKV, AC3, DTS. DXVA2 was the magic that helps this config (I assume by offloading a lot to GPU). I mainly like to play movies so you can’t really tell it’s not a real disc in a real stand-alone player ( high bitrate video and sound with all bit-streamed channels to AVR)

 

Swapping it out for this machine:

 

Intel Core-i3 2120 (Dual-Core, Quad-Threaded),

- On-Board Intel HD 2000 graphics VGA-HDMI

- 6gb RAM, 1gb HDD

- 280w PS

 

The question is … will the Intel 2000 work as good as the AMD-GPU setup? Or, do I need to drop in a AMD 5670/6670 and a power-supply upgrade? The reason I ask is because I’m reading about Intel 2000/3000/4000 XBMC problems. I did notice that Windows Update is suggesting a driver update to WDDM1.1/1.2. I will likely install it or the latest from Intel.com (once I document my current version). I plan to go ahead and install XBMC v12.1 since it’s current stable.

 

The AVR and plasma are old (see workout room below), so I must use VGA (@ 720p) and SPDIF. However, I would also like it to be able to handle 1080p over HDMI later (without messing with the insides again) so I will also test final config with Living Room setup (with front HDMI Aux on Onkyo 607 setup).


Living Room Home-Theater:
Epson 8350 1080p Projector (96") / Panasonic TH-46pz850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 7.2 HDMI Audio/Video Amplifier/Receiver (630 watts)
Panasonic DMP-BD60 Blu-Ray Disc Player / Cisco 8742hdc DVR (TimeWarner)
Harmony 670 - Universal Remote / HTPC (XMBC/Win7-64) Media Server PC
Polk Audio Monitor Series II Speakers (Large 6.1 Matched Separates) / PSW505 12-Inch Sub
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #37 of 50 Old 04-18-2013, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post

I did notice that Windows Update is suggesting a driver update to WDDM1.1/1.2. I will likely install it or the latest from Intel.com (once I document my current version).

Used that as more of just a notification that an update was available.

 

Current Intel HD Video Driver
DM: Intel HD Graphics Family, Intel, 12-15-2012, v8.15.10.2598, MS-WHCP
Intel Graphics and Media (Control Panel): Driver Version v8.15.10.2598, vBIOS v2126.0
WEI 4.7: 7.1, 7.4, 4.7, 4.6, 5.9

 

Installed updated driver from Intel.com.
Dated 3-21-2013 with a Package Version v15.28.15.64.3062
Verified below that driver version DOES match what the driver text said it would be.

 

Now, Current Intel HD Video Driver
DM: Intel HD Graphics, Intel Corp, 3-8-2013, v9.17.10.3062, MS-WHCP
Intel Graphics and Media (Control Panel): Driver Version v9.17.10.3062, vBIOS v2126.0
WEI 5.1: 7.1, 7.4, 5.1, 5.8, 5.9
 

Notes: WEI increased for Aero 5.1 and 3D 5.8. vBIOS stayed the same.


Living Room Home-Theater:
Epson 8350 1080p Projector (96") / Panasonic TH-46pz850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 7.2 HDMI Audio/Video Amplifier/Receiver (630 watts)
Panasonic DMP-BD60 Blu-Ray Disc Player / Cisco 8742hdc DVR (TimeWarner)
Harmony 670 - Universal Remote / HTPC (XMBC/Win7-64) Media Server PC
Polk Audio Monitor Series II Speakers (Large 6.1 Matched Separates) / PSW505 12-Inch Sub
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #38 of 50 Old 06-20-2013, 04:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

DXVA2 is not just decoding but it involves deinterlacing (both video and film mode) and rendering (in particular scaling). XBMC mixes various methods in a complicated way:



If "Allow hardware acceleration (DXVA2)" is on, then all subsequent rendering methods are only DXVA2 (i.e. the card vendor supplied driver's algorithm). If it is off, you can still use DXVA2 for deinterlacing and scaling. You can also choose hardware accelerated video scaling (Lanczos3 etc.) as well as crappy software scaling (Bilnear etc.), while deinterlacing is always software mode ("De-interlace" etc.) and the quality less than satisfactory.

DXVA2 video scaling:



AMD is the worst, NVIDIA is not so good (ES = Edge sharpening), Intel is the best among the three. Unfortunately, with Intel, DXVA2 decode is sometimes broken and "DXVA Best" deinterlacing never works in XBMC. So the best compromise would be:



The best deinterlacing method (DXVA2 Best) and the best video scaling method (Lanczos, except for Jinc) never work at the same time in XBMC internal player whatever card you use. If you care about the best PQ, you'd better use an external player with madVR (DXVA2 for Intel).


Thanks for the helpful post, in the new xbmc gotham maybe you can make sense of this for me, is this what you were discussing where we could perhaps use dxva best with lanczos 3?

To access these settings need confluence if i remember, latest xbmc nightly, and hit the side bar to access expert.

https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/838
Murilo is offline  
post #39 of 50 Old 06-20-2013, 04:41 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
The table of "DXVA2 Scaling Algorithms" is wrong. The correct one (from this post) is
Code:
      Scaling        |   AMD    |  NVIDIA  |   Intel    
--------------------------------------------------------
SD --> HD (1.5x)     | Lanczos  | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
SD --> FHD (2.25x)   | Lanczos  | Lanczos  | Lanczos+AR 
SD --> 4K UHD (4.5x) | Lanczos  | Lanczos  | Lanczos+AR 
HD --> FHD (1.5x)    | Bilinear | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
HD --> 4K UHD (3x)   | Bilinear | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
FHD --> 4K UHD (2x)  | Bilinear | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR
renethx is offline  
post #40 of 50 Old 06-20-2013, 05:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I will take a look.

I guess your solution for dxva best, lanczos 3 is actually here with this guys builds.


http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=127174&page=9

Have no tried it.

Do any of these settings such as lanczos 3 effect chroma upsampling in xbmc to or is that purely a madvr thing.
Murilo is offline  
post #41 of 50 Old 07-18-2013, 09:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,123
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 193 Post(s)
Liked: 1003
Where did OP go?

DarkSlayer I hope you didn't get slayed.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #42 of 50 Old 07-18-2013, 09:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
renethx is offline  
post #43 of 50 Old 07-18-2013, 11:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tesla1856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas, USA
Posts: 1,277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 50

Ran into something strange with Intel 2000.

 

In XBMC v11.x DXVA2 over HDMI works fine. Over VGA, had to switch it off (or colors went crazy). No problem leaving it off because decent i3 CPU. Would still do 1080p MKV and original BD M2TS. Sound was bitstream over optical.

 

Is this even possible for it to act like this?


Living Room Home-Theater:
Epson 8350 1080p Projector (96") / Panasonic TH-46pz850u 46" 1080p Plasma TV
Onkyo TX-sr607 7.2 HDMI Audio/Video Amplifier/Receiver (630 watts)
Panasonic DMP-BD60 Blu-Ray Disc Player / Cisco 8742hdc DVR (TimeWarner)
Harmony 670 - Universal Remote / HTPC (XMBC/Win7-64) Media Server PC
Polk Audio Monitor Series II Speakers (Large 6.1 Matched Separates) / PSW505 12-Inch Sub
Tesla1856 is offline  
post #44 of 50 Old 07-23-2013, 01:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2,626
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Where did OP go?
DarkSlayer I hope you didn't get slayed.
I didn't get slayed, but thanks for caring
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

DXVA2 video scaling:

Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

The table of "DXVA2 Scaling Algorithms" is wrong. The correct one (from this post) is
Code:
      Scaling        |   AMD    |  NVIDIA  |   Intel    
--------------------------------------------------------
SD --> HD (1.5x)     | Lanczos  | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
SD --> FHD (2.25x)   | Lanczos  | Lanczos  | Lanczos+AR 
SD --> 4K UHD (4.5x) | Lanczos  | Lanczos  | Lanczos+AR 
HD --> FHD (1.5x)    | Bilinear | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
HD --> 4K UHD (3x)   | Bilinear | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
FHD --> 4K UHD (2x)  | Bilinear | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR

So the table (corrected) is showing DXVA2 image upscaling? Is intel still the sole user of bicubic chroma upscaling while the other 2 use bilinear?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tesla1856 View Post

In XBMC v11.x DXVA2 over HDMI works fine. Over VGA, had to switch it off (or colors went crazy). No problem leaving it off because decent i3 CPU. Would still do 1080p MKV and original BD M2TS. Sound was bitstream over optical.

Is this even possible for it to act like this?
Quoted you to indicate that I didn't ignore your post, but I have no idea of the answer
Dark_Slayer is offline  
post #45 of 50 Old 07-23-2013, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StinDaWg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murilo View Post

I will take a look.

I guess your solution for dxva best, lanczos 3 is actually here with this guys builds.


http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=127174&page=9

Have no tried it.

Do any of these settings such as lanczos 3 effect chroma upsampling in xbmc to or is that purely a madvr thing.
I use this build and it works flawlessly. I have an AMD 5450 and it uses hardware accelerated Lanczos3+DXVA Best for deinterlacing. Basically everything in this chart that says bilinear is changed to Lanczos3. I have not tried 4k as my card doesn't do it nor do I have a monitor that supports it.
Code:
Scaling        |   AMD    |  NVIDIA  |   Intel    
--------------------------------------------------------
SD --> HD (1.5x)     | Lanczos3  | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
SD --> FHD (2.25x)   | Lanczos3  | Lanczos  | Lanczos+AR 
SD --> 4K UHD (4.5x) | Lanczos3  | Lanczos  | Lanczos+AR 
HD --> FHD (1.5x)    | Lanczos3 | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
HD --> 4K UHD (3x)   | ?        | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR 
FHD --> 4K UHD (2x)  | ?        | Bilinear | Lanczos+AR
It works with Nvidia cards as well.
StinDaWg is offline  
post #46 of 50 Old 07-23-2013, 10:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post


So the table (corrected) is showing DXVA2 image upscaling? Is intel still the sole user of bicubic chroma upscaling while the other 2 use bilinear?

The table is on image upscaling. Look at this post for chroma upscaling. Intel is the sharpest among the three.
renethx is offline  
post #47 of 50 Old 05-24-2014, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I realize this is an old thread, but I was curious if you guys knew if anything had changed with regard to intel.

I've got an Intel HD4600 and it appears to be handling DXVA2 in 12.3 just fine with the latest Intel drivers (15.33.0.3574). Not sure if I'm testing something improperly or not, but I'm at least not having any issues currently. This thread seems to imply that it works, but I trust you guys a little more.
MordredKLB is offline  
post #48 of 50 Old 05-25-2014, 05:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
All problems about Intel HD Graphcs + DXVA2 are fixed with Frodo.
renethx is offline  
post #49 of 50 Old 05-28-2014, 10:50 PM
Newbie
 
HoorayforMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Renethx, you posted some recommended settings for Intel and XBMC last year on this thread. What do you currently recommend for Intel HD4000 and Gotham? It seems that the settings are quite different now, with DXVA-HD being an option, and of course DXVA2 now works. What is your latest recommendation?

Thanks!
HoorayforMe is offline  
post #50 of 50 Old 05-29-2014, 08:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Very simple:

SYSTEM > Settings: Default

For each individual video,

Videos - Settings > Deinterlace video: Auto, Deinterlace method: Auto select, Video scaling method: Auto

Then enable "Set as default for all videos". Then you will get exactly the same picture as LAV Video Decoder DXVA2 (native) + EVR.
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off