New build with Intel HD 4000 display not clear - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 05:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
victor M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello everyone,

This weekend I follow Assassins payed procedure and it was extremely!!! helpful. I Haven't installed the codecs yet (Lav or Shark) but this device is mostly for DVR rather than ripping and storing my content.



so..after being delayed because of the snow storm this past weekend..I finally installed my Ceton infinitv 4 in my HTPC. The setup process was pretty simple and I was up and running in about 30 minutes (including activation of the card).

After watching the TV for some time (Panasonic 55gt50 using HD-Masters settings) I noticed a couple of things.

  • When I change the channel for about half a second the channel is in slow motion but the audio is fine. After a half a second video is playing at normal speed. (Is this normal behavior). This is regardless if I hit the up or down channel or type in a channel number.
  • The TV no longer looks as clear as when I had the Cable box plugged in... I can't point my finger on it but it looks like the HTPC is playing with the video signal before sending it to the display. Is there a way to tell the machine to just pass-thru the signal?
  • My processor is running around 58-61c. with just the Power supply and Processor fan. Should I invest in another fan or are there temps normal?


I'm pretty new to the HTPC world any help with my observations above would be greatly appreciated.

  • Win 7 Ultimate (64 bit)
  • Intel Core i3-3225 3.3GHz Dual-Core
  • ASRock Z77 Pro4-M Micro ATX LGA1155
  • G.Skill Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1866
  • Western Digital Red 2TB 3.5" 5400RPM
  • Samsung 840 Series 120GB 2.5" SSD
  • Silverstone ML03B HTPC
  • Antec 380W ATX12V / EPS12V
victor M is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
victor M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
don't mean to be a pain.... wondering if anyone has any suggestions
victor M is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 09:38 AM
Member
 
drtdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have stutter when first tuning a channel. Always have had that not sure why I just learned to live with it.
Your CPU temps seem high you might want to check that your heat sink is installed correctly and that thermal compound is being used. Maybe install an exhaust fan.
drtdiver is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 09:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
victor M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that stutter is a pita but I'll have to deal with it. what would you suggest the optimal cpu temp to be?
victor M is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 10:36 AM
Member
 
drtdiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I would say you should aim for about 40 c
drtdiver is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 10:44 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,076
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 356
IVB processor suffers from a thermal interface material problem, so it tends to run at high temperatures. 60°C-70°C *core* temperature is pretty normal (always look at core temperature, CPU temperature is not reliable). IVB is designed to work up to 105°C core temperature, beyond that CPU will automatically throttle down so that CPU won't be damaged.
renethx is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 10:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
victor M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.

Any suggestion on my screen not looking as sharp. I'm trying to avoid touching the intel graphic contrast/brightness settings. I'm really trying to avoid buying a dedicated graphic card to increase my wife's approval rating.
victor M is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 11:13 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,076
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 356
People usually disable any of

- Noise reduction
- Sharpness
- Skin Tone Enhancement
- Adaptive Contrast Enhancement

in Intel Graphics and Media Control Panel > Media > Image Enhancement (disabling the first two means selecting "Application Settings"). You may want to tweak them a little bit. TV should be set to limited range RGB (= "Standard" in Panasonic plasma), otherwise video will look washed out.
renethx is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 02-12-2013, 11:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
victor M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Renethx

Thank you for the information. I will definitely give it try tonight and report back.

This is definitely a learning experience I tell you that much.
victor M is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 02-17-2013, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
victor M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

People usually disable any of

- Noise reduction
- Sharpness
- Skin Tone Enhancement
- Adaptive Contrast Enhancement

in Intel Graphics and Media Control Panel > Media > Image Enhancement (disabling the first two means selecting "Application Settings"). You may want to tweak them a little bit. TV should be set to limited range RGB (= "Standard" in Panasonic plasma), otherwise video will look washed out.

So I tried your suggestion unfortunately it still not clear.

I went a head and purchased a sapphire hd6450. The display is much clearer. I also went ahead and did a registry hack listed below. So far so good.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1273766/live-tv-in-media-center-7-looks-washed-out-but-hdhomeruns-quick-tv-looks-perfect
victor M is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off