WMC and EPG - ease of use - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-13-2013, 09:13 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
whalewang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Considering building a HTPC from scratch to replace my Comcast DVR.
Software questions:
Is the WMC interface easy to use?
Will WMC get my Comcast lineup using EPG?
Any monthly cost for using WMC?

I'm really not sure which direction to go: HTPC + WMC (w/ cablecard) or Tivo or Comcast DVR
whalewang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-13-2013, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Yes
Yes
No

Get a CableCARD tuner and skip the excessive TiVo fees.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-13-2013, 11:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Yes
Yes
No

Get a CableCARD tuner and skip the excessive TiVo fees.

I concur.

Just make sure you set up WMC with remote, not the cheap ass way with keyboard and mouse. It is meant to be used with a remote. Makes WAF significantly higher.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueiedgod View Post

I concur.

Just make sure you set up WMC with remote, not the cheap ass way with keyboard and mouse. It is meant to be used with a remote. Makes WAF significantly higher.

Are we going to go through this again? Using a mouse is better and not "cheap ass" at all. I'd only use a remote if forced to do so, and if I was so forced I'd probably go back to a DVR because one of the main advantages of a HTPC would have been lost.
Karyk is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bonscott87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Wilds of West Michigan
Posts: 3,964
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23

We use a remote with WMC 95% of the time.  No need for a keyboard/mouse unless I need to stream something from a web site directly (rare) or to do maintenance (update software, windows updates, etc)  WMC with integrated Netflix and Hulu Desktop takes care of almost all of our media needs and it all supports a remote. 


Scott
bonscott87 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 03:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Whatever. I use a remote 0% of the time because a remote is completely unnecessary and remotes are a PITA. Some people like mice and some people like to attach 1960s technology to a computer. wink.gif

But my response was to blueiedgod, spreading a bunch of nonsense about how not having a remote is "cheap ass" and won't result in a high WAF. My wife uses the mouse just fine and has never complained when we transitioned from a Tivo with a remote.
Karyk is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 03:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,407
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Agree to disagree.

bryansj is online now  
post #8 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 05:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Why should I agree to something that's wrong? That's absurd.

Different people like different things. I hate remotes and find them completely unnecessary on an HTPC. Some people like remotes. It's a difference of opinion. The only thing that's wrong is to say that a remote is either necessary or useless.
Karyk is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyk View Post

Why should I agree to something that's wrong? That's absurd.

Different people like different things. I hate remotes and find them completely unnecessary on an HTPC. Some people like remotes. It's a difference of opinion. The only thing that's wrong is to say that a remote is either necessary or useless.

Your opinion would certainly be in the minority... a tiny minority at that. Enjoy WMC via whatever interface device makes your heart flutter. We could care less. For most people who are not sitting at the PC, using WMC with a remote is the preferred option.

For those of us who have WMC Extenders a remote is probably the only or only practical way to run it. I know my HP x280n comes with a very excellent remote and is intended to be operated with it. I like the remote so much bought extas and I am using it as a universal remote in several rooms whether they have HTPCs or extenders. Nice green button and all the appropriate WMC keys to support the as designed Windows Media Center 10' interface. Oh I have a Lenovo min-keyboard and mouse. Only use it for maintenance on my main HTPC which would be much less than 1 percent of the time WMC is playing.

Just another blank signature.
gtgray is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 520
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyk View Post

Why should I agree to something that's wrong? That's absurd.

Most people who use HTPCs try to get a configuration and appearance of it being more than a computer at the TV - they go for a STB/device like experience - hence, they prefer to use a remote.

If all you want is a computer at your TV - then sure, mouse and keyboard.
staknhalo is online now  
post #11 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 10:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,452
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by gtgray View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyk View Post

Why should I agree to something that's wrong? That's absurd.

Different people like different things. I hate remotes and find them completely unnecessary on an HTPC. Some people like remotes. It's a difference of opinion. The only thing that's wrong is to say that a remote is either necessary or useless.

Your opinion would certainly be in the minority... a tiny minority at that. Enjoy WMC via whatever interface device makes your heart flutter. We could care less. For most people who are not sitting at the PC, using WMC with a remote is the preferred option.

For those of us who have WMC Extenders a remote is probably the only or only practical way to run it. I know my HP x280n comes with a very excellent remote and is intended to be operated with it. I like the remote so much bought extas and I am using it as a universal remote in several rooms whether they have HTPCs or extenders. Nice green button and all the appropriate WMC keys to support the as designed Windows Media Center 10' interface. Oh I have a Lenovo min-keyboard and mouse. Only use it for maintenance on my main HTPC which would be much less than 1 percent of the time WMC is playing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by staknhalo View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karyk View Post

Why should I agree to something that's wrong? That's absurd.

Most people who use HTPCs try to get a configuration and appearance of it being more than a computer at the TV - they go for a STB/device like experience - hence, they prefer to use a remote.

If all you want is a computer at your TV - then sure, mouse and keyboard.
I am so glad there are folks like you who can speak for 'most people'. Have you considered a job in Government? I mean if we only had a few good guys who knew what 'most people want' we could easily do away with elections and other bothersome 'choice' issues...wink.gif
olyteddy is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 02-18-2013, 10:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
If you want to use a remote, use a remote. If you want to use a keyboard/mouse, use a keyboard/mouse. If you are new to the HTPC world, try them both and see what you like best. Can we move on and let this die already?
kegobeer is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 02-19-2013, 12:06 AM
Senior Member
 
ajkrishock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 303
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 23
So much of the decision surrounding remotes and other control devices centers around who the users are and what they're doing with it. Specifically..

1. Are you designing primarily for DVR/cable STB replacement?
2. Are you the only user, or will wives/children using it?
3. Are you trying to replicate the ease of use of a typical cable STB?
4. What is your comfort level with technology? That of the other users?

I've been using HTPC's for about three years now. Both of them are used by my wife and 7 year old son. My son took to the system very well. I use Harmony remotes for "typical" uses and a DiNovo mini for keyboard/mouse functionality. My wife is ok with the Harmony, but only after many months of exposure to it. She won't touch the mini. The idea of using a keyboard & mouse in front of her TV is still foreign and very uncomfortable.

So, I designed for that situation. There is no better or worse.. just what works for you and the people you share your home with. Ultimately, if the system is hard to use, it'll sit in a corner and collect dust.. which to me would be the ultimate insult to my investment in time, money and research.
ajkrishock is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 02-19-2013, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,407
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 195
Please visit this thread and let it die again

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1457286/do-i-need-a-remote
lockdown571 likes this.

bryansj is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off