Asrock B75M-GL - HDMI Options? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2013, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I think the subject says it all. I purchased the mother board and failed to pay attention to one major detail. It does not have an HDMI port!

Do I need a new mother board or can I buy a video card to pass the audio/video to my receiver?
slosvt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-13-2013, 04:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 28,476
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Video card.

Not such a big deal.

Might end up costing you $10 more in the long run but you'll end up with superior picture.

Even a 6450 for $25 is an upgrade in video quality IMO.

Go look at video cards.

Any 6000 level or up AMD Radeon will work great.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 02-13-2013, 04:36 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 28,476
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
$29

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121439

Silent design.

Low power.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 02-13-2013, 11:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
If you attach a DVI-HDMI adapter to the DVI port, perhaps it works as normal HDMI (i.e. supports HDMI audio and limited range RGB).
renethx is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I would just get a Video Card that has HDMI out so that you can have FULL HD audio pass through for your system whether your watching regular DVD or Bluray.

Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K Reference 200.7 S2, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 28,476
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

If you attach a DVI-HDMI adapter to the DVI port, perhaps it works as normal HDMI (i.e. supports HDMI audio and limited range RGB).

This is good advice but I think you'll also see some additional benefits from a video card for only $29 its not bad route.

Most don't like a video card because its louder and hotter and uses more energy. Plus unneeded. No one does not like a video card because the video performance, hookup options or possibilities are not great.

Aside from gaining a hdmi port I think a silent cheap video card would work nice.

I like the control center over the intel graphics properties personally.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:31 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

If you attach a DVI-HDMI adapter to the DVI port, perhaps it works as normal HDMI (i.e. supports HDMI audio and limited range RGB).

I have a DVI to HDMI cable, would that do the same?
slosvt is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 05:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes
tomandbeth is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
That will work but DVI was only intended to carry Video only, you will also need to run a toslink or digital audio cable in order to get sound.

Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K Reference 200.7 S2, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

That will work but DVI was only intended to carry Video only, you will also need to run a toslink or digital audio cable in order to get sound.

Toys

Some dvi carries audio as well. This is often mistaken.
assassin is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Some dvi carries audio as well. This is often mistaken.

Only if the audio is "patched" in and interweaved over the three sets of data pins that transmit the video through the DVI cable which is vary rare, almost non existent.

Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K Reference 200.7 S2, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

Only if the audio is "patched" in and interweaved over the three sets of data pins that transmit the video through the DVI cable which is vary rare, almost non existent.

Toys

Not in PC. Some cards have it. I wouldn't say its common but I wouldn't say its non existent either.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814999010



http://store.nvidia.com/store/nvidia/en_US/pd/ThemeID.326200/productID.219271100
assassin is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Those card manufacturers must be using some proprietary system to allow that DVI-D connector to suply sound - i.e. using the 3 sets of pins that carry video and inject sound as well.

Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K Reference 200.7 S2, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:16 PM
Member
 
TheTinkerer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

Only if the audio is "patched" in and interweaved over the three sets of data pins that transmit the video through the DVI cable which is vary rare, almost non existent.

Toys
You can quit arguing. AMD since the 4xxx (maybe even the 3xxx) series have been able to carry the audio over DVI with an adapter unlike nvidia which needed the s/pdif jumper. It hurts spreading misinformation.
TheTinkerer is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:32 PM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 25
in essence, everyone is right. If you re-read the OP's original question about using the onboard DVI connector - no, it will not carry audio. If you purchase a video card, specifically ATI or nVidia as mentioned, then yes, the DVI-D connector can carry audio.

My original answer was referring to the motherboard DVI-D connector. If the OP gets a Video card, it's a MOOT point as more than likrly, the card will have a HDMI output which solves everything.

Toys

Denon AVR-3311CI, Denon DVP-602CI, B&K Reference 200.7 S2, Belkin PF60
Sony BDP-S5000ES, Silverstone HTPC (6 Tuner DVR & 10 TB Media)
PSB Stratus Minis, PSB Stratus C6, PSB Alpha S surround, James Subwoofer EMB-1200
Sharp LC-70LE755U, Harmony 880 Remote
Toys7505 is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 10:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

That will work but DVI was only intended to carry Video only, you will also need to run a toslink or digital audio cable in order to get sound.

This is true only in the formal DVI specs. Reality is different. DVI port of tons of mb supports audio (i.e. DVI = HDMI in every sense). All ASRock Intel chipset mb I tested carry audio over DVI. AMD mb also support YCbCr color space over DVI.

That's why I suggested trying a DVI-HDMI adapter (or a DVI-HDMI cable), in particular because his mb is ASRock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

If you re-read the OP's original question about using the onboard DVI connector - no, it will not carry audio.

You can't say so until somebody actually tests it.
renethx is offline  
Old 02-14-2013, 11:12 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toys7505 View Post

Those card manufacturers must be using some proprietary system to allow that DVI-D connector to suply sound - i.e. using the 3 sets of pins that carry video and inject sound as well.

Well, audio data are stored in in data island periods of TMDS signals in HDMI specs that are to be empty in DVI specs. So electrically DVI-D can carry video+audio with no problem.

I guess you are a CE person. In PC, DVI can be HDMI easily.
renethx is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 05:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 28,476
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTinkerer View Post

You can quit arguing. AMD since the 4xxx (maybe even the 3xxx) series have been able to carry the audio over DVI with an adapter unlike nvidia which needed the s/pdif jumper. It hurts spreading misinformation.

All my AMD cards can do this. I have a few of those silly adapters too.
But since all my and cards have hdmi I don't use it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 05:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 28,476
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 442 Post(s)
Liked: 1740
Btw- if I had make a bet then my money is always on Renethx. If he say it will work then..... smile.gif

Personally I'd buy a silent $30 video card but not because he's wrong.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

This is true only in the formal DVI specs. Reality is different. DVI port of tons of mb supports audio (i.e. DVI = HDMI in every sense)

In such cases, DVI-D dual link can support bitstreamed HD audio?

I always based my understanding from pre HDMI audio days where I had to jump the SPDIF connection to my gtx graphics card. Couldn't carry HD audio through spdif.

Audio is carried through the extra 3 pins in DVI-D dual link Edit: This was wrong and the image should be ignored. I will not spread misinformation, I will not spread misinformation, I will not spread misinformation, . . .



How it gets there in this board is new information for me. Time to google
Dark_Slayer is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 08:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
DVI dual-link architecture is compatible with HDMI dual-link architecture (whose connector is HDMI Type B, which has never been realized in the CE market). HDMI dual-link supports (LPCM or compressed) audio, so does DVI dual-link port. However, there is (and will ever be) neither AVR that supports HDMI dual-link, nor GPU that supports it. HDMI 2.0 is already being released.

HDMI single-link architecture

video/audio data+H/V sync+pixel clock --> encoded to 3 x TMDS data channel (R, G, B, for example) + 1 x TMDS pixel clock channel by HDMI source (GPU) --> over HDMI single-link cable --> decoded to video/audio data+H/V sync+pixel clock by HDMI sink (AVR)

HDMI dual-link architecture

video/audio data+H/V sync+pixel clock --> encoded to 6 x TMDS data channel + 1 x TMDS pixel clock channel by HDMI source (GPU) --> over HDMI dual-link cable --> decoded to video/audio data+H/V sync+pixel clock by HDMI sink (AVR)
renethx is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 08:19 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Slayer View Post

Audio is carried through the extra 3 pins in DVI-D dual link

I sometimes see this statement, but this is plain wrong (who spread this?). Audio data are interleaved in TMDS signals. No extra pins are required. From HDMI 1.3 specs:
Quote:
5.1.2 Operating Modes Overview

The HDMI link operates in one of three modes: Video Data Period, Data Island period, and Control period. During the Video Data Period, the active pixels of an active video line are transmitted. During the Data Island period, audio and auxiliary data are transmitted using a series of packets. The Control period is used when no video, audio, or auxiliary data needs to be transmitted. A Control Period is required between any two periods that are not Control Periods.

An example of each period placement is shown in the following figure.


Older NVIDIA GPU has no HD audio controller, audio data (2ch PCM, AC3, DTS) has to be supplied by onboard audio codec; then GPU interleaves the supplied audio data with video in TMDS signals.
renethx is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 07:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
All,

I can confirm the DVI to HDMI cable is all I needed to get HD audio to my receiver (after updating all of the drivers for the motherboard). Now I need to decide of I want to keep the video card I ordered or not...
slosvt is offline  
Old 02-15-2013, 07:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post

All,

I can confirm the DVI to HDMI cable is all I needed to get HD audio to my receiver (after updating all of the drivers for the motherboard). Now I need to decide of I want to keep the video card I ordered or not...

Great news.

And further confirmation that audio is capable over pc dvi.
assassin is offline  
Old 02-16-2013, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Dark_Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,239
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 524 Post(s)
Liked: 392
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

I sometimes see this statement, but this is plain wrong (who spread this?)

Evga forum frown.gif from 2007. Should've read further into it
Dark_Slayer is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off