*WOW* ... SVP +1080p Animation = OMG ! (60 frames per second for the win!) - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 680 Old 06-12-2013, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
I want something for a great price biggrin.gif That can run max. I am debating on 2600k or 3570k for my HTPC (I have both)

Issue is I hate the Z68 board because it restarts too slow for a HTPC. The Z77 Asrock and 3570k is much faster by comparison. I like that !

I'm just wondering if 3570k is enough for max settings with consistent performance. It's not now (but I have no GPU)

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 680 Old 06-12-2013, 04:32 PM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
HTPC? Restart? Y U NO S3? biggrin.gif

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #273 of 680 Old 06-12-2013, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Because I often fall asleep with a movie or TV show playing... and when it sits for a while it gets "weird" and sometimes just restarting is the easiest when I come back. I often just turn off the Projector and receiver and go to bed and don't bother turning off the HTPC so it keeps playing. My 3570k with the Asrock fast boot reboots almost as fast as coming back from sleep anyways.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #274 of 680 Old 06-15-2013, 10:05 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Fair enough.

HD4000 max frequency set to 1600Mhz. RAM at 2000Mhz 10-10-10-28-1T, CPU at the regular 4500Mhz.
Code:
Test summary
-----------------------
  Date: 2013-06-15T19:57:42
  CPU:  Intel Core i7-3770K @3500 MHz [8 threads]
  GPU:  Intel HD Graphics 4000 [ver.8.15.10.2761]
  Mode: FHD + GPU [17 threads]

Overall scores
-----------------------
  Synthetic CPU:                  MC2741
  Synthetic GPU:                  MG3330
  Real-life:                      FG2390

Details: synthetic
-----------------------
  CPU: compose (single-threaded): 719
  CPU: compose (multi-threaded):  3097
  CPU: search (single-threaded):  579
  CPU: search (multi-threaded):   2460
  GPU: system -> GPU transfer:    2440
  GPU: GPU -> system transfer:    1924
  GPU: calculations:              188
  GPU: total score:               1665

Details: real-life /FHD
-----------------------
  decode video:                   18.82x (451.6 fps)
  48 fps - vectors search:        1.73x (82.9 fps)
  60 fps - frame composition:     2.10x (126.0 fps)
  48 fps - [SVP] fastest:         4.36x (209.4 fps)
  48 fps - [SVP] simple 1:        4.20x (201.7 fps)
  60 fps - [SVP] good:            2.22x (133.2 fps)
  60 fps - [SVP] high:            1.89x (113.4 fps)
  60 fps - [SVP] highest:         1.05x (63.0 fps)
  72 fps - [SVP] simple 2:        2.31x (166.6 fps)

Looking at the previous page, #257
MC 2750->2741
MG 2446->3330 (+36,14%)
FG 1972 ->2390 (+21,19%)

Almost 40% increase in clock speed and in synthetic 36% improvement and real life get's an increase of 21%, perhaps a memory bottleneck?

I also did some other testing just for the hell of it.
Unigine Valley running in windowed mode, 1024x576 resolution, 0xAA, volumetric shadows disabled and quality set to low.
FPS increased from 21.5 to 28.8 (+33,95%) by going from 1150Mhz to 1600Mhz.
F1 2012 1920x1080, 0xAA and ultra low settings.
Average FPS increased from 35 to 51 (+45,71%) and minimum FPS increased from 31 to 45 (+45,16%)
Dropped the res to 1280x720 and avg 85 min 61, gpu usage hovered between 80% and 100% showing a memory bandwidth bottleneck.
I did the Unigine benchmark because I use it as a stress test. Not as demanding as Heaven but still nice to look at if I'm sitting at the desk.

Mfusick, would you bother and see how your HD4600 does in the SVPMark if you overclock it?
Since looking at your #264 FG2795 score I'd guess you'd probably reach maybe FG3400 or even more with 1500-1600Mhz igpu speed.
Would be interesting to see.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #275 of 680 Old 06-15-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Yeah I can do it. What settings you want? Same 4400mhz and 1500mhz GPU ?

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #276 of 680 Old 06-15-2013, 11:14 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yeah, something like that. Try and see how high you can get the iGPU.
You'll probably need to increase the igpu offset voltage.
On my HD4000 I had to raise the offset voltage to +0,100 for 1600Mhz. While under load that translated to ~1.19-1.21v under load. While stock 1150Mhz and automatic offset voltage I saw my board pushing 1.23-1.25v to the iGPU eek.gif (E: And by that I mean that much voltage for the stock clocks which seems waaay over the top)
Techpowerup tested the HD4600 and they needed +0,200 for 1750Mhz.

E: Bumped my ram to 2400CL11. Figured it would be a bit more comparable.
In Unigine Valley the fps/point increase was 2.08%/1.82%
Here's the SVPMark
Code:
Test summary
-----------------------
  Date: 2013-06-15T22:17:50
  CPU:  Intel Core i7-3770K @3500 MHz [8 threads]
  GPU:  Intel HD Graphics 4000 [ver.8.15.10.2761]
  Mode: FHD + GPU [17 threads]

Overall scores
-----------------------
  Synthetic CPU:                  MC2740
  Synthetic GPU:                  MG3368
  Real-life:                      FG2442

Details: synthetic
-----------------------
  CPU: compose (single-threaded): 709
  CPU: compose (multi-threaded):  3151
  CPU: search (single-threaded):  575
  CPU: search (multi-threaded):   2425
  GPU: system -> GPU transfer:    3177
  GPU: GPU -> system transfer:    1924
  GPU: calculations:              189
  GPU: total score:               1684

Details: real-life /FHD
-----------------------
  decode video:                   18.88x (453.1 fps)
  48 fps - vectors search:        1.76x (84.3 fps)
  60 fps - frame composition:     2.14x (128.3 fps)
  48 fps - [SVP] fastest:         4.54x (217.8 fps)
  48 fps - [SVP] simple 1:        4.36x (209.4 fps)
  60 fps - [SVP] good:            2.27x (136.0 fps)
  60 fps - [SVP] high:            1.89x (113.3 fps)
  60 fps - [SVP] highest:         1.06x (63.6 fps)
  72 fps - [SVP] simple 2:        2.36x (170.1 fps)

And the increase in FG score was around the same as well, 2.17%. MG bumped only 1.14%

meh biggrin.gif

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #277 of 680 Old 06-18-2013, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
I'm having issues with black levels over HDMI on intel GPU so I might throw in my HD6870x2

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #278 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
I'm shopping for a GPU. smile.gif. Need help.

I want to do MADVR + SVP and re-clock. Max PQ.

Light gaming.

$200 budget. Suggestions?

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #279 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 07:30 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 326
ASUS HD 7790 or its 1GB version. It is hard to find a quiet HD 7870 card.
renethx is offline  
post #280 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 07:48 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quietest 7870 I've seen is the Powercolor PCS+ Vortex II, on about the same level as the GTX6xx series DCII's.
Newegg has those open box 231.99$
If you new then ncix has them for 269.99$ (along with the games which you could sell)



Mfr P/N AX7870 2GBD5-2DHPPV

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #281 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 08:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

ASUS HD 7790 or its 1GB version. It is hard to find a quiet HD 7870 card.


This is going in my Cosmos II desktop case so I can tolerate an average noise card. I don't need it silent. I actually need a second card for my HTPC that is silent.

I am considering getting two cards. Only one needs to be silent. But my budget is about the same on both.


What is better a 7870 or a 7790 ?

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #282 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 08:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagittaja View Post

open box

Yup, that's why I wrote "hard". smile.gif

NCIX's models are different, unfortunately.

- AX7870 2GBD5-2DHPPV (dual fan; only open box is available)
- AX7870 2GBD5-2DHPPV2E (single fan, available at NCIX)
- AX7870 2GBD5-2DHPPV3E (single fan, available at NCIX)

(Newegg's pic are correct.)
renethx is offline  
post #283 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 08:56 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=79640&vpn=AX7870%202GBD5-2DHPV&manufacture=PowerColor

I guess I should've mentioned US ncix

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #284 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121727

Thoughts? 2GB worth a little extra?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121772&nm_mc=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r&cm_mmc=OTC-pr1c3grabb3r-_-Video+Cards+-+AMD/ATI-_-ASUS-_-14121772


$20 for 2GB GDDR5 ?

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #285 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:06 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagittaja View Post

http://us.ncix.com/products/?sku=79640&vpn=AX7870%202GBD5-2DHPV&manufacture=PowerColor

I guess I should've mentioned US ncix

Too much $$$ mad.gif

I should be able to run SVP and MadVR on my 4770k with a 7770 or 7790 I'd imagine. (Renethx ? Opinion?)

I think my plan is to buy one now for my desktop to fix my Intel GPU issues and run 3 monitors. The GPU I buy now will be put in my desktop. Soon aftwards I would move it to the HTPC and upgrade the desktop GPU at some point in the near future when I find a better need. I am planning a new projector upgrade, at which time I can make better use of the HTPC capability and will desire a GPU. It's also inevitable I'll crave a better GPU card for my desktop in the future. This is a cheap stop gap for now.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #286 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 326
7790 1GB is good for madVR+SVP. But note ASUS heatpipe, that's a bit tall. will fit most ATX HTPC case, but won't fit microATX HTPC case.
renethx is offline  
post #287 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
I am looking at some cheap options:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007709%2050001669%20600286767&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&CompareItemList=48%7C14-150-598%5E14-150-598-TS%2C14-121-632%5E14-121-632-TS%2C14-127-726%5E14-127-726-TS%2C14-121-727%5E14-121-727-TS%2C14-150-667%5E14-150-667-TS&percm=14-150-598%3A%24%24%24%24%24%24%24%3B14-150-667%3A%24%24%24%24%24%24%24

Trying to understand the real differences.


Here is some help you can provide:

2GB or 1GB ? Which should I ?
7790 stock with 1GB is better than a 7770 Ghz edition with 2GB memory ?

7850 1GB is better than 7790 ghz edition with 2GB ?

Between $100 and $200 is my budget but I am just confused by which way to go. I'm not seeing any clear value anywhere. Wondering if I should just throw in my 6870 card. Is a 7790 a worthy upgrade ? I was planning on keeping the 6870 with the 2600k but I could install a cheap 5670 have laying around I guess. It's just and office PC and I probably should not be gaming on it and working anyways. biggrin.gif

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #288 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:26 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you really want silent then get an Accelero S1 Plus for yer graphics card.
Since you have a Antec 300 and it has rear 120mm fan slot so it should fit just fine.

E: Before I moved my HTPC to the current Lian Li PC-A05NB it was inside a Cooler Master Centurion 540, it's width is 190mm and rear fans 80mm. And the S1 was just a teeny weeny bit too large so I had to MacGyver the side panel on, meaning using spacers on the top corners + couple of strips of duct tape to hold it together LOL

Antec 300 width is 205mm.

Of course the actual "height" of the S1 will depend on your GPU and how it's die is located.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #289 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

7790 1GB is good for madVR+SVP. But note ASUS heatpipe, that's a bit tall. will fit most ATX HTPC case, but won't fit microATX HTPC case.

I can park a truck inside my PC case. biggrin.gif My HTPC case is an antec300. I should be ok on size. My HTPC in inside my AV closet so small and cute is not a concern for me. I skipped the micro ATX and mini ITX building for myself personally. My parents and brother have the MILO03 Silverstone and the Grandia cases and while I am jealous they look nicer than mine - I just have no use for a nicer or smaller case.

My biggest concern in the HTPC is noise. I wouldn't want to put a very noisy card in that machine.


I am wondering about space for the top slot though:



I might have to give up the top x1 slot it looks like (that is ok)




Here is my HTPC on the far left and the desktop far right. The middle is a full 10 bay tower Thermaltake Amor olschool from an old LGA775 build, which I used for my 2600k and will be my new office PC.



The Antec300 looks small (My HTPC) but in reality it's a decent sized normal PC tower and far larger than a typical HTPC




Apology for my messy basement. biggrin.gif

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #290 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagittaja View Post

If you really want silent then get an Accelero S1 Plus for yer graphics card.
Since you have a Antec 300 and it has rear 120mm fan slot so it should fit just fine.

I don't need passive cooling, I can take a reasonable amount of noise. Between the movie playing, The air conditioner, it being in a closet, ... etc... etc ... It has never been a major issue.

I'd for sure not want "loud" but average to quiet and anything in between is fine. Any card that is not loud should be fine for me. I'd prefer a quieter one, but I don't think I would swap out fans for passive cooling at an extra cost and frustration.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #291 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:35 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It only takes a few minutes to install the S1 rolleyes.gifbiggrin.gif

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #292 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 326
renethx is offline  
post #293 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 09:58 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Since were talking GPU here, one thing has been bugging me.
Why are the HD77xx cards pulling that much power in BD playback vs let's say the 650Ti and 660.
"Blu-ray Playback: Power DVD 9 Ultra was used at a resolution of 1920x1200 to play back the Batman: The Dark Knight disc with GPU acceleration turned on. Playback started around timecode 1:19, which has the highest data rates on the BD with up to 40 Mb/s. Playback was left running until power draw converged to a stable value."

Went through the 7750 reviews at TPU and even they're pulling over 20w.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #294 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagittaja View Post

It only takes a few minutes to install the S1 rolleyes.gifbiggrin.gif

I would rather just spend the extra cost on a better card. You know I am capable of changing a cooler wink.gif

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #295 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 10:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 326
My own measurements of the total system power consumption: i5-4670, Z87 Exteme4, 1 x SSD, 1 x HDD (movies stored), iGPU / HD 7770 / GTX 650 Ti.
Code:
       | Idle | BD playback | difference
----------------------------------------
Intel  | 34W  |     38W     |    4W
AMD    | 45W  |     60W     |   15W
NVIDIA | 44W  |     49W     |    5W

Maybe AMD raises voltage too high?
renethx is offline  
post #296 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 11:01 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Looks like so.
Here's HD7770, scroll down
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7770/29.html
GTX 650 Ti
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeForce_GTX_650_Ti_Boost/29.html

Looks like the Nvidia cards stay at 2D clocks for blu ray playback and AMD cards go all the way up to 3D clocks, and voltage.

Same for HD78xx
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/HD_7850_HD_7870/29.html
GT 640
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zotac/GeForce_GT_640/32.html
GTX 780
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/NVIDIA/GeForce_GTX_780/30.html

Perhaps Nvidia's Purevideo HD or whatever it's called these days is the reason. AMD uses UVD. I'd probably need to take a deep dive to those, never bothered reading up on those and how they actually do what they do.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #297 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 11:52 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 326
More measurements

System: Core i5-4670, Z87 Exteme4, DDR3-1600 8GB x 2, 1 x SSD, 1 x HDD (movies stored), iGPU / HD 7770 / GTX 650 Ti.

- BD playback: 1080p MKV (ripped from a BD movie) with MPC-HC+DXVA2 (native)+EVR
- BD playback with SVP: 1080p MKV (ripped from a BD movie) with MPC-HC+DXVA2 (copy-back)+SVP (Level 5g)+madVR (Level 5)

System power consumption
Code:
       | Idle || BD playback | difference || BD playback with SVP | difference
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Intel  | 34W  ||     38W     |     4W     ||         -            |      -
AMD    | 45W  ||     60W     |    15W     ||        131W          |     86W
NVIDIA | 44W  ||     49W     |     5W     ||        144W          |    100W

NVIDIA consumes more at SVP playback.

CPU / GPU usage at BD playback with SVP; AMD (left), NVIDIA (right)

renethx is offline  
post #298 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 12:12 PM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well that's explained by Geforce 600 series poor performance in computing and such. GK104/GK106 are purely gaming cards.
Looking at the utilization graphs the GTX650Ti has to do more work compared to the HD7770, while in games the HD7770 falls behind.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #299 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,992
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 593
So should I get an Nvidia?

Which card for under $200 ?

I am not overly concerned with a few bucks of electricity a year.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #300 of 680 Old 06-19-2013, 12:53 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,956
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 326
No. AMD is a better choice for SVP (i.e. better for OpenCL). Read also this interesting post.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tong Chia View Post

Below are 2 screen captures using the same SVP settings. One is the 7970 and the other is a GTX650Ti. The 650Ti shows pronounced ghosting as SVP needed to keep the workload low to avoid frame drops.
The capture is a 1080p clip of 93Million Miles from Jason Mraz posted on Youtube, the car is moving rapidly from right to left.

HD 7970



GTX 650 Ti

renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Amd A6 3650 2 6ghz Socket Fm1 Quad Core Desktop Apu Cpu Gpu With Directx 11 Graphic , Intel Core I7 4770k 3 5ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off