*WOW* ... SVP +1080p Animation = OMG ! (60 frames per second for the win!) - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 685 Old 07-27-2013, 10:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
IMO SilverStone Sugo SG05-08 are pretty good for a pure video playback machine. No need to add expansion cards, no need to add HDDs, just having powerful CPU and GPU (and SSD, and maybe an ODD) is enough for this purpose.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 685 Old 07-27-2013, 01:33 PM
Member
 
Ben Agg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reneth what Nvidia GPU do you think would handle 120fps with SVP/MADVR level 5 on an OC 4670k? A Big problem I am facing is that crossfire is having so many issues with games at the moment and AMD cards are sucking on physx games which leaves little room to upgrade after grabbing one card. Flip side is AMD cards are absolutely destroying nvidia performance with openCL (SVP...).

I would much rather grab an nvidia GPU with the possibility to go for SLI in the future for gaming (and hopefully HTPC use!) but obviously without as much openCL performance I am wondering just how much that will factor SVP performance.
Ben Agg is offline  
post #453 of 685 Old 07-27-2013, 05:24 PM
Senior Member
 
trooper11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Surprised you didn't jump into the ATX or MATX silverstone cases for the upgrade path. Once you start putting a GPU card in- ITX loses it flavor IMO.

Are you limited on width ? Or you just like ITX? I always though something like the bigger silverstones that match with my AVR and other components on width looks more appropriate and stands out less looks wise. Is the choice for ITX a personal looks preference?

I ask this with total and full disclosure that I personally dislike ITX for such a build for a variety of reasons. You seem like you are doing your homework and know what your doing so I don't mean to challenge you too much on the ITX thing. More just curious your motivation, adding a CPU card prevents you from getting from ITX what most want from ITX (ultra small cute case and look) Personally I think those square node looking things are the ugliest things I've seen in PC hardware cases, and stretching it wider to look like a high end AVR (aka Silversone grandia series) is much more pleasing on the eye. Plus, you open up a variety of possibilities in hardware choice and future upgrade path.


Your right that choosing an ITX board was not in order to create a super small system in my case.

The place in my entertainment cabinet is limited, but it certainly could hold something in a mATX size/desktop style case. My motivation was to see how small of a footprint I could create and using an itx board helped in that regard. Since I needed space for a rather large video card, going with an mATX case would have resulted in a much larger case that offered a lot of wasted space for my purpose. This itx case seems to make very smart use of its space. Plus, an itx board is no more expensive than an mATX at the moment.

You mention that I lose alot of expandability, but my question is this: What expandbility applies to a pc devoted solely to media access/playback? Considering my server plans, why do I need to worry about adding hard drives down the line? I just dont see where I'm limited considering the purpose of the pc. That case allows me to upgrade my video card down the line or even the cpu if I need it. For playing back media, those are the only things that might need upgrading within say a couple of years.

As far as looks go, I get that some find that look ugly, but thats a subjective thing. Persoanlly, the SG08 looks fine to me. Its a sleek black with the bare minimum of front panel physical features to break up the clean look. It may not be the shape of other home theater components, but the style fits in my eyes. Its muted and 'clean', not to mention very well designed reagrding cooling/noise levels according to all the reviews I have read.

I may look agian at mATX/desktop style cases, but thats where I'm at right now.
trooper11 is offline  
post #454 of 685 Old 07-27-2013, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,420
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryBumkin View Post

@Mfusick,
Are you using JRiver for your player ( I think I saw some of your postings over there)? How is this set up for JRiver (MC18) do you just install SVP and everything just works (other than SVP settings) - or is there something that needs to be "done/set" inside JRiver?

I am using MPC-HC.

I am not sure if you can use SVP in Jriver. I have used Jriver and it's good, but I prefer the combo of MPC-HC and a slicker front end.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #455 of 685 Old 07-27-2013, 09:38 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Agg View Post

Reneth what Nvidia GPU do you think would handle 120fps with SVP/MADVR level 5 on an OC 4670k? A Big problem I am facing is that crossfire is having so many issues with games at the moment and AMD cards are sucking on physx games which leaves little room to upgrade after grabbing one card. Flip side is AMD cards are absolutely destroying nvidia performance with openCL (SVP...).

I would much rather grab an nvidia GPU with the possibility to go for SLI in the future for gaming (and hopefully HTPC use!) but obviously without as much openCL performance I am wondering just how much that will factor SVP performance.

Radeon HD 7870: 2560 GFLOPS, 153.6 GB/s
GeForce GTX 660 Ti: 2460 GFLOPS, 144.2 GB/s
GeForce GTX 670: 2460 GFLOPS, 192.3 GB/s
GeForce GTX 680: 3090 GFLOPS, 192.3 GB/s

GeForce GTX 660 Ti may be a good choice. Memory bandwidth is less important in the region > 100 GB/s.
renethx is offline  
post #456 of 685 Old 07-27-2013, 10:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
To use SVP in J River MC, just add ffdshow raw video decoder as a video post-processor. (This applies to every 32-bit DirectShow video player.)
renethx is offline  
post #457 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 01:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I am currently using a GT640 paired with an i3-3220. Not using MadVR at this point but planning to.

I am upgrading to an i5-3470 to get better SVP performance. I have been offered a GTX 670 at a price equal to about $190. Surely a steal, but is there ANY benefit in upgrading from the 640 for HTPC use? Or is it just a waste of cash considering I do not game?

4k is not on my horizon either.

I know it won't help SVP and it is probably overkill for MadVR.

Should I just pass?
politby is offline  
post #458 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 01:47 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
GT 640 is underkill, GTX 670 is overkill (at least right now). Radeon HD 7770 / 7790 is a right choice. If you prefer NVIDIA, GTX 650 Ti.
renethx is offline  
post #459 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 02:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

GT 640 is underkill, GTX 670 is overkill (at least right now). Radeon HD 7770 / 7790 is a right choice. If you prefer NVIDIA, GTX 650 Ti.

Thanks for that. Should I get the boost 650ti or just the base model?
politby is offline  
post #460 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 02:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
650 Ti is twice more powerful than 650. Never get 650 vanilla. There is also Ti Boost. The main difference is that memory bus is increased from 128bit to 192bit. But this is less important in video playback. 1GB memory is also enough. Get a cheaper & quieter model of Ti or Ti Boost.
renethx is offline  
post #461 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 04:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

650 Ti is twice more powerful than 650. Never get 650 vanilla. There is also Ti Boost. The main difference is that memory bus is increased from 128bit to 192bit. But this is less important in video playback. 1GB memory is also enough. Get a cheaper & quieter model of Ti or Ti Boost.

 

Thanks. I went ahead and ordered an MSI variant. This is supposedly the quietest of them all. 

 

politby is offline  
post #462 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 06:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
quick question on svp 1g to 5g. what really improves as you go higher? is the smoothness better, or picture quality, e.g. the ringing or oily border around moving images that are visible on 1g, which is all my machine is capable of now.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is online now  
post #463 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 09:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
A higher level means smoother motion, but this does not necessarily mean less artifacts like "oily border". Rather smoothness and artifacts freeness are not compatible well with each other. If you don't like artifacts of 1g (least artifacts of all 1g-5g), then SVP may not be for you.
renethx is offline  
post #464 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 50
its definitely bearable, and something i dont notice from watching distance. i was about a foot away trying to see what the levels could do and noticed the aforementioned artifacts.

I was more curious what i would get out of upgrading from my 1g capable setup to something that can do 5g. animation and docs as suggested did look great. i was trying to watch a regular movie with it and 30 seconds in wife was saying what the heck is this, looks like a home movie. had to turn it off lol.

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is online now  
post #465 of 685 Old 07-31-2013, 02:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cburbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Oregon
Posts: 2,884
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 18
IF people are interested at newegg - SAPPHIRE 100358L Radeon HD 7770 GHz Edition 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 CrossFireX Support Video Card - $80 after MIR.

"Dang! You got shocks, pegs... lucky! You ever take it off any sweet jumps? "

Sony 55EX500 Settings
cburbs is offline  
post #466 of 685 Old 08-01-2013, 05:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by aliaskary77 View Post

its definitely bearable, and something i dont notice from watching distance. i was about a foot away trying to see what the levels could do and noticed the aforementioned artifacts.

I was more curious what i would get out of upgrading from my 1g capable setup to something that can do 5g. animation and docs as suggested did look great. i was trying to watch a regular movie with it and 30 seconds in wife was saying what the heck is this, looks like a home movie. had to turn it off lol.

A higher level is a lot more smoother than 1g (Frame Interpolation mode 2m of 1g is the biggest drawback). Artifacts are still there, however (even they may increase with a higher level). To reduce artifacts, setting

- Motion Vectors Grid: 24 px. Large 2 (12 px. Adaptive 2 is the default of 5g)
- Search Radius: Small (Average is the default of 5g)

is often recommended (they are used in lower levels). Doing so results in less fluidity and less artifacts.

SVP is definitely a wow factor to my wife and children when watching animation. But I often turn it off with movies.
renethx is offline  
post #467 of 685 Old 08-01-2013, 06:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,420
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
It works with certain movies. For example- AVENGERS was pretty awesome with it. But half that movie is PC graphics superimposed. IT might as well be animation smile.gif

You get used to the effect and then I find I desire it more and more. It really is better- even if your not accustomed to it.

I have often played VLC on on monitor, and MPC-HC with SVP on another and queued them up to be same sync time- I can compare side by side. Cool test.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #468 of 685 Old 08-03-2013, 04:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 62
I do not think I will ever turn it off. Actually the word "effect" is better used to describe the result of 1920s 24fps filming technology when used with year 2013 playback gear.

SVP looks like reality, 24p is an "effect". cool.gif
Chainik likes this.
politby is offline  
post #469 of 685 Old 08-04-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,420
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
You run SVP 100% of the time ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #470 of 685 Old 08-05-2013, 12:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

You run SVP 100% of the time ?

With everything that is not live TV or .wtv, yes. Can't use it with live TV because I have 64-bit 8MC, and MPC-HC does not work well with .wtv recordings.

Everyone in the family loves it. As I said earlier it also solved my problems with never being able to get refresh rate switching to work right. Now I can keep everything set to 60 Hz and all is smooth as butter.

If anyone knows how to get MPC-HC to play H.264 WTVs properly I'm all ears!
politby is offline  
post #471 of 685 Old 08-05-2013, 12:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
There is a technical difficulty in applying SVP to a telecined HD movie. The content has to be inverse telecined before it is sent to SVP. Unfortunately no video decoder can IVTC such a content properly.
renethx is offline  
post #472 of 685 Old 08-05-2013, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Ben Agg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by politby View Post

it also solved my problems with never being able to get refresh rate switching to work right. Now I can keep everything set to 60 Hz and all is smooth as butter.

I actually think this is the biggest benefit to SVP (aside from awsome visuals!), Although refresh switching works correctly for me I absolutely hate the refresh switch between MB and playing a film and exiting again , maybe its fine for other people but it really bugs me lol.
Ben Agg is offline  
post #473 of 685 Old 08-20-2013, 04:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,420
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
You need an HDMI dongle thingy to maintain your resolution

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #474 of 685 Old 08-26-2013, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,420
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Is there a chart that relates CPU to levels in SVP ? Like a SVP score minimum to run certain levels and such ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #475 of 685 Old 08-26-2013, 10:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
renethx is offline  
post #476 of 685 Old 08-26-2013, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 62
René, is there data for the i5-3470 somewhere?
politby is offline  
post #477 of 685 Old 08-26-2013, 10:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Core i5-3470 (IVB) is of base clock 3.2GHz. It's close to Core i5-4670 @3.4GHz. It should be able to handle SVP Level 5g with proper GPU assistance.
renethx is offline  
post #478 of 685 Old 08-27-2013, 08:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,420
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
ReneThx,

I see you got your hands on a i3 Haswell and it seems to run 5G levels with 7770 Radeon ? Or does it skip ? Would adding Reclock or MadVR into the mix mess things all up?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #479 of 685 Old 08-27-2013, 09:53 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Neither ReClock nor madVR adds extra CPU load (madVR relies solely on GPU). Using them with SVP is highly recommended.

Haswell Core i3 can handle SVP Level 5g for some contents (e.g anime) but struggles for some contents. You'd better think the highest SVP level for Haswell Core i3 is 4g (then CPU load is ~50%, GPU load with HD 7770 and madVR Level 5 is ~45%).
renethx is offline  
post #480 of 685 Old 08-27-2013, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,420
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Neither ReClock nor madVR adds extra CPU load (madVR relies solely on GPU). Using them with SVP is highly recommended.

Haswell Core i3 can handle SVP Level 5g for some contents (e.g anime) but struggles for some contents. You'd better think the highest SVP level for Haswell Core i3 is 4g (then CPU load is ~50%, GPU load with HD 7770 and madVR Level 5 is ~45%).

So Haswell i3 can do 4G with GPU, and also run MADVR and RE-CLOCK at too. That's not too shabby biggrin.gif

I guess CPU is getter more powerful these days. Is it the hyperthreading ? How does something like an older socket 1155 i3 2100 do ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Amd A6 3650 2 6ghz Socket Fm1 Quad Core Desktop Apu Cpu Gpu With Directx 11 Graphic , Intel Core I7 4770k 3 5ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor
Gear in this thread - G2020 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off