*WOW* ... SVP +1080p Animation = OMG ! (60 frames per second for the win!) - Page 23 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #661 of 679 Old 06-05-2014, 08:34 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 314
4K support = SVP 64bit (almost). I haven't heard of it.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #662 of 679 Old 06-06-2014, 06:40 AM
Member
 
pylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 17

Interesting that there's a software dedicated to this. Maybe I'll try it out sometime, it'd be nice if it didn't make me feel sick to my stomach though. Every single TV implementation of smooth video gives me headaches and makes me nauseous. I have no problem with 60fps (infact I enjoy it), but when something is interpolated from 24->60fps it always seems to have this sort of "fluid motion" as I call it that makes it look fake, like it's too "smooth" to be real..

pylor is offline  
post #663 of 679 Old 06-07-2014, 04:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Compare:

[F4. FHD 48fps] The Hobbit (2012) - Trailer.flv (original 48fps)
[F4. FHD 60fps] The Hobbit (2012) - Trailer.mkv (original 48fps -> 24fps by dropping half the frames -> 60fps by InterFrame)

in this folder. The former is from the original 48fps film. The latter was created by InterFrame (= a non-realtime version of SVP, roughly) from [F4. FHD 24fps] The Hobbit (2012) - Trailer.mp4, and that's how SVP looks like. Aside from usual "oily effects", it may look quite unnatural. But even the original 48fps may look unnatural (because of the lack of motion blur and strobing artifacts).

Another example:

[F4. FHD 24fps] Tangled (2010).mkv (original)
[F4. FHD 60fps] Tangled (2010).mkv (created by InterFrame)

I like the latter a lot.
renethx is offline  
post #664 of 679 Old 06-07-2014, 02:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Somehow the folder share was set to private. It's now public. Enjoy the beauty or ugliness of SVP (or InterFrame).
renethx is offline  
post #665 of 679 Old 06-09-2014, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Compare:

[F4. FHD 48fps] The Hobbit (2012) - Trailer.flv (original 48fps)
[F4. FHD 60fps] The Hobbit (2012) - Trailer.mkv (original 48fps -> 24fps by dropping half the frames -> 60fps by InterFrame)

in this folder. The former is from the original 48fps film. The latter was created by InterFrame (= a non-realtime version of SVP, roughly) from [F4. FHD 24fps] The Hobbit (2012) - Trailer.mp4, and that's how SVP looks like. Aside from usual "oily effects", it may look quite unnatural. But even the original 48fps may look unnatural (because of the lack of motion blur and strobing artifacts).

Another example:

[F4. FHD 24fps] Tangled (2010).mkv (original)
[F4. FHD 60fps] Tangled (2010).mkv (created by InterFrame)

I like the latter a lot.

Those are hard to download. I could not figure out what I needed to click, everything looks like it but really is an advertisement. Or it required a facebook or gmail account... or twitter...

Can you just load them into dropbox or like free cloud storage account ? and post the public direct download link ?

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #666 of 679 Old 06-09-2014, 06:39 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 314
If you have a SNS account, download begins with a few mouse clicks, pretty easy (ignore "Premium", that requires a paid account).

How about MediaFire?
renethx is offline  
post #667 of 679 Old 06-10-2014, 07:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
utee05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austin,TX
Posts: 815
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So I have 2 rigs that I can test this on. One is my main gaming rig that has a i7-4770k OC to 4.5Ghz with 16gb ram and GTX780. I have another mild HTPC with a10-5800k and r7 260x. I have madVR set at lvl5 for both of these but now am going to give SVP a try.


Is there a chart of the list of settings of which to start off with and tweak in SVP as I go along? Thanks.
utee05 is offline  
post #668 of 679 Old 06-10-2014, 02:59 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 314
For starters, try preset levels of SVP (video profiles > reset to defaults). Make sure GPU-acceleration (OpenCL) is enabled. FYI the best combination of madVR / SVP levels for each source/target resolution is:



For A10-5800K, you may have to lower SVP level by one-two rank as compared with Core i3. GTX 780 is equivalent to R9 270X in madVR/SVP performance (OpenCL support in NVIDIA cards is not so good).
renethx is offline  
post #669 of 679 Old 06-23-2014, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Love your charts

Thumbs up every time!


Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
For starters, try preset levels of SVP (video profiles > reset to defaults). Make sure GPU-acceleration (OpenCL) is enabled. FYI the best combination of madVR / SVP levels for each source/target resolution is:



For A10-5800K, you may have to lower SVP level by one-two rank as compared with Core i3. GTX 780 is equivalent to R9 270X in madVR/SVP performance (OpenCL support in NVIDIA cards is not so good).

It is interesting to see the wattage ^
I noticed you step down the levels on the i3 which probably lowers the wattage. What happens if you keep the level higher with the i3 ? (CPU does not look maxed out, might go another level up?)

It's not really fair to compare a dual core on level 2 to a quad core on level 5 for wattage IMO.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #670 of 679 Old 06-23-2014, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
TheFranchise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
It is interesting to see the wattage ^
I noticed you step down the levels on the i3 which probably lowers the wattage. What happens if you keep the level higher with the i3 ? (CPU does not look maxed out, might go another level up?)

It's not really fair to compare a dual core on level 2 to a quad core on level 5 for wattage IMO.
Also, one of those is using a 260x while the other is a 270x. When gaming on those, that's a 30-35 watt difference right there. It's harder to figure out the difference for SVP though since the 270x is (usually) operating at a lower usage % than the 260x.

Last edited by TheFranchise; 06-23-2014 at 12:34 PM.
TheFranchise is online now  
post #671 of 679 Old 06-23-2014, 01:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 592
Yeah my point or question was centered more around the idea that a higher end CPU and GPU on higher settings should consume more power- they are doing more work. I was curious if the i3 would consume the same power if it was doing the same work or not ?

A lot of people think powerful CPU automatically consume a lot more power, but if they are not very high usage it's not really true. My i7 desktop cruises around at 800mhz and consumes less power than my Celeron G530 on the killawatt if the GPU card is off (or removed).

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #672 of 679 Old 06-23-2014, 11:46 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
It is interesting to see the wattage ^
I noticed you step down the levels on the i3 which probably lowers the wattage. What happens if you keep the level higher with the i3 ? (CPU does not look maxed out, might go another level up?)

It's not really fair to compare a dual core on level 2 to a quad core on level 5 for wattage IMO.
Core i3 can't handle SVP level 5g for 1080p24 movies. The chart represents the best combination of SVP and madVR levels each combination of CPU and GPU can handle. I am not going to test all possible CPU/GPU combinations, it's simply unneccessary because we can infer the result (except for power consumption) easily.

The 'preset' SVP levels are not suited for the current crop of CPUs (I mean 'Haswell'). Core i3 can handle Level 5g for 480p and 720p, but can't for 1080p (then 5g for 480p/720p had better be renamed to 4g). Core i5 can handle Level 5g for up to 1080p easily, let alone Core i7. Then ...
Mfusick likes this.

Last edited by renethx; 06-23-2014 at 11:59 PM.
renethx is offline  
post #673 of 679 Old Today, 06:29 AM
Newbie
 
HDTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think SVP is great and learned a lot reading this forum. I had a question about what video card would be good for SVP. I am using a FX-8350 and a GT520 video card. My Cpu usage for 16:9 1080p is 50 to 60% cpu usage at 5g and 40 to 50% cpu usage for wider aspect ratio 1080p movies like 2:35:1. The GPU load is running at 50 to 80%. I have Gpu acceleration enabled of course. I am using EVR render. I was wanting to know if upgrading to a Radeon R7 240 or 7770 would take more load off my cpu and provide richer color and better picture. My picture is good it just seems the color isn't as rich as it should be. I heard that some Nvidia video cards have RGB issues. I also though if I switch to a Radeon card that might make the color richer. Also my fps seem to be weaker compared to others when I run SVP mark. I was thinking upgrading to a better video card might help with this. Here are my SVP results:
Test summary
-----------------------
Date: 2014-07-02T17:50:43
CPU: AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core @4027 MHz [8 threads]
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 520 [ver.337.88]
Mode: FHD + GPU [17 threads]

Overall scores
-----------------------
Synthetic CPU: MC2233
Synthetic GPU: MG2536
Real-life: FG1531

Details: synthetic
-----------------------
CPU: compose (single-threaded): 402
CPU: compose (multi-threaded): 2217
CPU: search (single-threaded): 488
CPU: search (multi-threaded): 2250
GPU: system -> GPU transfer: 1031
GPU: GPU -> system transfer: 858
GPU: calculations: 158
GPU: total score: 1268

Details: real-life /FHD
-----------------------
decode video: 9.78x (234.7 fps)
48 fps - vectors search: 1.52x (73.0 fps)
60 fps - frame composition: 1.22x (73.2 fps)
48 fps - [SVP] fastest: 2.91x (139.5 fps)
48 fps - [SVP] simple 1: 2.52x (120.9 fps)
60 fps - [SVP] good: 1.40x (83.9 fps)
60 fps - [SVP] high: 1.12x (67.4 fps)
60 fps - [SVP] highest: 0.74x (44.5 fps)
72 fps - [SVP] simple 2: 1.51x (108.9 fps)

Also my cpu temp was around 60c and I read on here to disable CPB and the temps went down to around 50c. Thanks to renethx for that tip.
I do not plan on using MadVR just EVR render. Any advice would be appreciated.

Last edited by HDTN; Today at 06:35 AM.
HDTN is online now  
post #674 of 679 Old Today, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
TheFranchise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTN View Post
My picture is good it just seems the color isn't as rich as it should be.
Have you already tried increasing the vibrance/saturation in the video card driver settings?

You may also have the colorspace set wrong for TV vs. monitor output. 0-255, 16-235. On one TV, and my ATI card, I was getting either too much blacks or faded everything. So far, the only fix was putting the FFdshow filter's output to RGB32. Looks great now.
TheFranchise is online now  
post #675 of 679 Old Today, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
HDTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Faded is a good word to describe my color. I have tried both 0-255 and 16-235 before in the Nvidia control panel that didn't help. I also set the video card to YCbCR 4:4:4 and that made the color look better but still not that great like with a blu-ray player or STB. Also I am using ffdshow raw filter and Lav Video decoder and I didn't know if you were supposed to change the colorspace in ffdshow and Lav decoder also or just in the Nvidia control panel or what? When I hook up the pc to the tv again I will try your suggestion.
HDTN is online now  
post #676 of 679 Old Today, 10:23 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,944
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Try madLevelsTweaker.exe included in madVR (it works without madVR). Leave color space conversion options in ffdshow raw video filter / LAV video decoder untouched.
renethx is offline  
post #677 of 679 Old Today, 12:08 PM
Senior Member
 
TheFranchise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTN View Post
Also I am using ffdshow raw filter and Lav Video decoder and I didn't know if you were supposed to change the colorspace in ffdshow and Lav decoder also or just in the Nvidia control panel or what? When I hook up the pc to the tv again I will try your suggestion.
Just FFdshow raw filter. Towards the bottom in Output. And then you can mess around in the RGB Conversion tab for TV and PC levels, though I'd have to check again because I don't think changing those settings did much if anything on mine. Maybe mine's set on "auto" somewhere. I just did this the other day, so I haven't messed with it more yet.

Checkmarking RGB32 finally made the picture look as good as I expected it to be.

When you play a video, mouse over the FFdshow icon in the corner to see that it's outputting in RGB32.

Worked great for the one of my ATI cards that was giving me a hassle. Whether it fixes your output, I guess we'll see.
TheFranchise is online now  
post #678 of 679 Old Today, 12:11 PM
Newbie
 
HDTN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post
Try madLevelsTweaker.exe included in madVR (it works without madVR). Leave color space conversion options in ffdshow raw video filter / LAV video decoder untouched.
I will try madLevelsTweaker.exe also. Where is safe site to dowload it from? Also is GT520 fast enough for 120fps output at 5g?
HDTN is online now  
post #679 of 679 Old Today, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 20,972
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 592
It comes with MadVR. Use link from the first post in the mpchc sticky thread in this forum.

-


"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Amd A6 3650 2 6ghz Socket Fm1 Quad Core Desktop Apu Cpu Gpu With Directx 11 Graphic , Intel Core I7 4770k 3 5ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off