*WOW* ... SVP +1080p Animation = OMG ! (60 frames per second for the win!) - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgrenier16 View Post


I just put together a new system with an A10-5800k CPU and only using onboard 7660D GPU. I cannot get smooth playback at all with 720p or 1080p files. I have obviously not set things up properly as it even stutters slightly without engaging svp at all. It even stutters in xbmc. I have not loaded any codecs/decoders/etc besides the usual recommended ones (LAV, MadVR, FFdshow). I can't imagine that processor is not strong enough to manage 1080p MKV let alone 720p files. I have tried it on all svp presets and no dice. Any suggestions on how to set up my GPU? Wth am I missing??? I am using most recent catalyst drivers.

Your hardware is fast enough for SVP 3g + madVR BC75+AR/LZ3+AR. It's configuration that's wrong. Try this:

Hardware

- Disable "Core Performance Boost" or "CPB Mode" (Turbo Core) in BIOS. This constantly changes the multiplier and baseclock of CPU, that often results in instability of SVP.
- Make sure your RAM is in dual channel mode. DDR3-1866 is recommended.

AMD Vision Engine Control Center

- Disable all Color > Advanced options.
- Disable all Video options except for deinterlacing and pulldown detection.

SVP

- Select Level 3g
- Make sure "GPU-acceleration (OpenCL)" is checked. (CPU alone is not fast enough to execute Level 3g algorithm.)

madVR

- Chroma upsampling: Bicubic 75 + AR (or M-N for softer upscaling)
- Image upsampling: Lanczos 3 + AR (or anything except for Jinc).
- Make sure to check "use a separate device for presentation (Vista and newer)". Checking this will reduce GPU load greatly.
- Disable smooth motion
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 05:12 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgrenier16 View Post

http:/

I'll have to keep working on settings, but you think the hardware should be good enough for at least 2g if not 3g presets?

You can probably get 4G with your set up. Certainly I would think 3g.

Listen to ReneTHX advice.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #93 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 762
ReneTHX,

What setting would you reccommend for MadVR on my setup

2600k + 6870 X2

(To go with reclock/SVP)

Right now I think I am doing:

Chroma Upscaling = Jinc 3 taps (Anti Ringing filter enabled)
Image Upscaling = Jinc 3 taps (Anti Ringing filter enabled)
image down scaling = DXVA2 (processing done by GPU video logic)

Would it be different for my 3570k machine with only HD4000 and no card?

Lastly,

under general setting is there an optimal setting for CPU queue size and GPU gueue size ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #94 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 05:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Right now I think I am doing:

Chroma Upscaling = Jinc 3 taps (Anti Ringing filter enabled)
Image Upscaling = Jinc 3 taps (Anti Ringing filter enabled)
image down scaling = DXVA2 (processing done by GPU video logic)

Would it be different for my 3570k machine with only HD4000 and no card?

Lastly,

under general setting is there an optimal setting for CPU queue size and GPU gueue size ?

Chroma / image upscaling is good for 6870 X2. The best downscaling algorithm is Catmull-Rom+AR+LL

As Intel HD Graphics 4000 is very weak, I would set:

Chroma upscaling: Bicubic 50
Image upscaling: DXVA2 (equivalent to Lanczos+AR)
Image downscaling: DXVA2 (equivalent to LZ or C-R with AR, and perhaps with sharpening)
SVP: Level 4g without GPU-acceleration (simply Intel HD Graphics 4000 is not powerful enough to offload CPU)
renethx is offline  
post #95 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 05:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dodgexander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nr Brighton, England.
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone tried comparing madVR smooth motion to svp? It doesn't add frames like svp does but it seems more natural than svp when it comes to film.

Sent from my Blade S using Tapatalk 2

Natalya Simonova: Do you destroy every vehicle you get into?
James Bond: Standard operating procedure. Boys with toys.
Goldeneye
Dodgexander is online now  
post #96 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 06:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
The purposes and results of them are completely different from each other.

The purpose of madVR's smooth motion is remove "pulldown judder" (that is unavoidable when the framerate does not match the desktop refresh rate) with no artificial interpolated frame seen. When you play a 24fps content @60Hz with smooth motion on, the end result is the same as playing it @24Hz: there is no judder caused by uneven frame repeats 0 0 0 1 1 2 2 2 3 3 ... There is still "film judder" because of low framerate of 24fps.

SVP removes "film judder" by interpolating frames and creating new ones to make the framerate to 60fps (or the framerate = refresh rate). You will see artificially created, interpolated frames.
renethx is offline  
post #97 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Anyone care to explain the difference between judder and ringing?

I couldn't find a single result on Google
AnthonyB is offline  
post #98 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 06:36 PM
Member
 
pgrenier16's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puwaha View Post

What kind of RAM do you have? Do you have it in dual channel or single channel mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Your hardware is fast enough for SVP 3g + madVR BC75+AR/LZ3+AR. It's configuration that's wrong. Try this:

Hardware

- Disable "Core Performance Boost" or "CPB Mode" (Turbo Core) in BIOS. This constantly changes the multiplier and baseclock of CPU, that often results in instability of SVP.
- Make sure your RAM is in dual channel mode. DDR3-1866 is recommended.

AMD Vision Engine Control Center

- Disable all Color > Advanced options.
- Disable all Video options except for deinterlacing and pulldown detection.

SVP

- Select Level 3g
- Make sure "GPU-acceleration (OpenCL)" is checked. (CPU alone is not fast enough to execute Level 3g algorithm.)

madVR

- Chroma upsampling: Bicubic 75 + AR (or M-N for softer upscaling)
- Image upsampling: Lanczos 3 + AR (or anything except for Jinc).
- Make sure to check "use a separate device for presentation (Vista and newer)". Checking this will reduce GPU load greatly.
- Disable smooth motion

I told you it would be something embarrassingly simple. I only have 1 DIMM of 8G DDR3-1600, and hence single channel mode. I will try all other settings and order another stick of ram to match. Then I will go bang my head against a wall and try not to ask stupid questions in the future. I assume this will fix the problems. If not I shall be back. I thank you all for your help and can't wait to get this working on my new BenQ w1070!! redface.gif
pgrenier16 is offline  
post #99 of 685 Old 03-07-2013, 07:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

Anyone care to explain the difference between judder and ringing?

I couldn't find a single result on Google

Judder is temporal, ringing is spacial (in the context of video playback). They are completely different.
renethx is offline  
post #100 of 685 Old 03-08-2013, 10:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Any links so I can see the difference?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #101 of 685 Old 03-08-2013, 05:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
They are totally different notions (so nobody tries to explain the difference between them smile.gif). You'd better see yourself what judder is and what ringing is.

(2-3) Pulldown judder: Run SmoothMotion23.ytp (included in madTestPatternSource) @59Hz with Smooth Motion OFF
No pulldown judder: Run the same file @59Hz with Smooth Motion ON, or run it @23Hz with Smooth Motion OFF

Film judder: Run Original File @23Hz without pulldown judder, @59Hz with pulldown judder
No film judder: Run InterFrame @59Hz

Ringing vs anti-ringing
Veeper likes this.
renethx is offline  
post #102 of 685 Old 03-08-2013, 09:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK.. I finally get it..

Ringing is what you get when you turn the sharpness up on the TV and it introduces noise around edges. (For example)

Judder is that hideous effect that you get on a pan across a set.

I really like the frame interpolation on SVP but.... It is hard to get used to watching that. The soap opera effect is a little overloading. How do you get used to that?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #103 of 685 Old 03-09-2013, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 762
You actually do get used to it. But because it's new it seems odd at first. The more you use the more you like it, but I could also live without it.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #104 of 685 Old 03-09-2013, 04:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
So... I'm guessing that madVR smooth motion can be enabled at the same time as SVP to eliminate pulldown judder and make SVP look even more smooth?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #105 of 685 Old 03-09-2013, 04:40 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

So... I'm guessing that madVR smooth motion can be enabled at the same time as SVP to eliminate pulldown and make SVP look even more smooth?

As you can see yourself, SVP removes pulldown judder too. Recall what pulldown means.
renethx is offline  
post #106 of 685 Old 03-09-2013, 04:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
It seems to look a tiny bit better when I have smooth motion as well as SVP.

Might have found a good setting for madVR and SVP. It took me long enough, but now I know what I'm looking for it makes it a lot easier.

Thanks for the education!

Now, if I could just find a way to have mpc as an autoplay option.
AnthonyB is offline  
post #107 of 685 Old 03-09-2013, 05:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
The only possible cause of non-smoothness is a slight mismatch between the final framerate (59.94fps) and the desktop refresh rate (say, 59.93Hz), that may cause a frame drop or repeat every a couple of minutes. SMFRC can remove it, but you lose sharpness slightly.
renethx is offline  
post #108 of 685 Old 03-09-2013, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
staknhalo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 51
So this is just for software 120Hz simulation? Or am I mistaken?
staknhalo is offline  
post #109 of 685 Old 03-10-2013, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Not really a simulation.. SVP will interpolate frames to make it match your display. The only caveat is you need to have a really good processor
AnthonyB is offline  
post #110 of 685 Old 03-10-2013, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,355
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

Not really a simulation.. SVP will interpolate frames to make it match your display. The only caveat is you need to have a really good processor

Make me wonder how the high end TV's do it. Do they have a processor that powerful in them ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #111 of 685 Old 03-10-2013, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just a guess here but..

What I'd venture to say is they don't have other processes like a windows PC would and it is the only job of that chip to do video interpolation.

As I remember, the Xbox processor is not a very good processor but it can do some things that you would have to pay $1500 for with a PC
AnthonyB is offline  
post #112 of 685 Old 03-11-2013, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Roussi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW USA
Posts: 556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Simplified answer: specialized chips. CPU: versatile, but not efficient.
Roussi is offline  
post #113 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
cheezit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17

Question,

 

If I am currently watching 1080p 24 movies and have Madvr switching my video cards refresh rate to 23.976 (23 Nvidia custom) and I want to set up SVP, do I still have Madvr switch to 23.976 or do I have just stay at straight 60?

 

Thanks, this looks interesting!

cheezit73 is offline  
post #114 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 11:47 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't understand where you guys adjust the 2G 3G 4G 5G level from frown.gif
Otherwise this thing does look amazing. Watched parts of Brave 720p with this on and the scene where the girl rides on her horse through the forest and shoots arrows and climbs the waterfall etcetera was amazing tongue.gif

Also my htpc with athlon ii x2 240 and hd5670 gddr3 seems to handle most 720p stuff quite fine. Not a chance for 1080p but I rarely watch 1080p stuff.
On my main rig on the other hand the cpu is barely loaded with 19 threads, maybe 40% across cores but gpu is sitting at around 40-80% depending on material. Even 1080p bluray remux (40-60Mbps or something like that) worked just fine.

Sent from my GNote

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #115 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 05:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
MlNDBOMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 846
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 48
i think I remember hearing that this runs much better on sandybridge and newer processors than older processors.

Is this because it was optimized with the AVX cpu feature in mind?
MlNDBOMB is offline  
post #116 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 05:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
goros's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 778
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Settings advice for my rig?

i7-3930k @ 4.3GHz
32GB Quad-Channel DDR3 @ 1600MHz 9-9-9-24
GTX650 1GB DDR5
Win7 ultimate x64
Nvidia 0-255 patch on 314.22whql
Core parking disabled (all cores)
Bitstreamed audio over HDMI to Denon 4311ci, Sony KDL52z5100 240hz TV
MPC-HC (x86)
ReClock
madVR
SVP
goros is offline  
post #117 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 06:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezit73 View Post

Question,

If I am currently watching 1080p 24 movies and have Madvr switching my video cards refresh rate to 23.976 (23 Nvidia custom) and I want to set up SVP, do I still have Madvr switch to 23.976 or do I have just stay at straight 60?

You have to stay at 59Hz.
renethx is offline  
post #118 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 06:06 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by lagittaja View Post

I don't understand where you guys adjust the 2G 3G 4G 5G level from frown.gif
Otherwise this thing does look amazing. Watched parts of Brave 720p with this on and the scene where the girl rides on her horse through the forest and shoots arrows and climbs the waterfall etcetera was amazing tongue.gif

Also my htpc with athlon ii x2 240 and hd5670 gddr3 seems to handle most 720p stuff quite fine. Not a chance for 1080p but I rarely watch 1080p stuff.
On my main rig on the other hand the cpu is barely loaded with 19 threads, maybe 40% across cores but gpu is sitting at around 40-80% depending on material. Even 1080p bluray remux (40-60Mbps or something like that) worked just fine.

Sent from my GNote

Right click the SVP icon in the system tray, then click video profiles > reset to defaults. You will see this:



Perhaps SVP level 2g with OpenCL hardware acceleration + madVR Bicubic75+AR / Lanczos3+AR is a good choice for your system.

BTW

lagittaja likes this.
renethx is offline  
post #119 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 06:11 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,084
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by goros View Post

Settings advice for my rig?

i7-3930k @ 4.3GHz
32GB Quad-Channel DDR3 @ 1600MHz 9-9-9-24
GTX650 1GB DDR5
Win7 ultimate x64
Nvidia 0-255 patch on 314.22whql
Core parking disabled (all cores)
Bitstreamed audio over HDMI to Denon 4311ci, Sony KDL52z5100 240hz TV
MPC-HC (x86)
ReClock
madVR
SVP

Your processor should be able to handle SVP Level 5g (the highest level) with or without OpenCL. GTX 650 is the weakest point, madVR Bicubic75+AR / Lanczos3 (or Jinc3 depending on the content) +AR is a good choice.
renethx is offline  
post #120 of 685 Old 05-01-2013, 11:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
cheezit73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 618
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

You have to stay at 59Hz.

Do I need to create a custom resolution for 59 ie is it really 59.?? Or do I just put 1080p59 as an option in madvrs resolution changer and remove the 1080p23.

Also I already had Mpchc and reclock installed so I installed svp lite, avisyth, ffdshow, but svp shows waiting for ffdshow video when I play something....I did put ffdshow raw filter in Mpchc external filters below lav video. Any ideas?
cheezit73 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Amd A6 3650 2 6ghz Socket Fm1 Quad Core Desktop Apu Cpu Gpu With Directx 11 Graphic , Intel Core I7 4770k 3 5ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor
Gear in this thread - G2020 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off