*WOW* ... SVP +1080p Animation = OMG ! (60 frames per second for the win!) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Holy cow !!

If you have not tried it please do so.

I am doing MPC-HC + MadVR + SVP.

I've messed around a couple times before but always quit. I never tested a cartoon.

Played a few 1080p animation to test it out-

The difference was extreme.

I have dual monitors so I synced both screens in time- and used VLC as the second player.

It's possibly too good for movies. I would have to get used to the extra frames being created. But for animation it's awesome.
You can almost climb into the screen.

Too bad my CPU hits 98% on half pixel. frown.gif

WTF kind of system you need to run this pig ??? I'm running my i7 2600k stock and it's not enough.

I think I am going to reboot with a higher clock and try it at 4.5ghz.

The amount of CPU this pig wants just doesn't make sense. Don't try with a weak PC.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 09:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Add a good discrete GPU to offload CPU...
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 09:45 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
I have a 6870 X2.

I probably need more ??

Or it's set up wrong ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #4 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 10:07 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Did you check "GPU-acceleration (OpenCL)"?

BTW are you using a preset profile? Then which level? (Video profiles > Reset to defaults ...)
Mfusick likes this.
renethx is offline  
post #5 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
I'll have to look. I messed around a bit with all settings. I am not on the machine now.

I think on half pixel it started to max out the CPU. I changed it to one pixel I think and it's about 78%. I'd have to check to be certain.

Is there settings or setup you recommend for 2600k + 6870 Radeon ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #6 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 01:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Start with Level 5g (well, this is the highest preset level) with GPU acceleration on and change the settings if necessary ("Half pixel" in every 5g profiles). In my test with i5-3570K + HD 7770, madVR Jinc3+AR/Jinc3+AR and SVP 5g, @60Hz refresh rate,
HD FHD
CPU usage: 30% 65%
GPU usage: 75% 47%

Preset levels
Mfusick likes this.
renethx is offline  
post #7 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
I have 3570k in my HTPC.

If I upgraded my video card for desktop would that + current 6870 x2 be a good set up?

Or should I consider a newer GPU ?

Thoughts?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #8 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 02:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Puwaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Holy cow !!

If you have not tried it please do so.

I am doing MPC-HC + MadVR + SVP.

I've messed around a couple times before but always quit. I never tested a cartoon.

Played a few 1080p animation to test it out-

It really does very good on animated movies, no doubt. If you dial down the settings you can get a happy medium for normal movies.



Quote:
The amount of CPU this pig wants just doesn't make sense. Don't try with a weak PC.

I warned you! biggrin.gif SVP is largely CPU bound
Mfusick likes this.
Puwaha is offline  
post #9 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
I'm scared of setting up on my main HTPC. I was thinking originally 3570k was going to be enough but now I doubt it.

A mild overclock went miles for performance btw. I wasn't expecting it to help that much.

2600k overclocked is just enough.

If I was building a serious HTPC for this I'd probably consider going lga2011.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #10 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Start with Level 5g (well, this is the highest preset level) with GPU acceleration on and change the settings if necessary ("Half pixel" in every 5g profiles). In my test with i5-3570K + HD 7770, madVR Jinc3+AR/Jinc3+AR and SVP 5g, @60Hz refresh rate,
HD FHD
CPU usage: 30% 65%
GPU usage: 75% 47%

Preset levels

Ok I just tested it- but I have my second monitor open on AVS (this thread) and also downloading, my VPN is on ... and trying to set up my MX-900 remote.

So my system is probably a little stressed out.

I did this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post



5g is the heaviest preset profile. Details



FHD = Full HD = 1920 x 1080, the term used in SVPmark (haven't you seen this?).

It was choppy and not smooth. I'm going to reboot into an overclock and turn off the extra stuff and second monitor and retest.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #11 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777


It appears like when you open it - it does an auto test ???

Mine appears higher than the one you posted and I quoted above which leads me to think I can run it at this setting ?? Yes ??

I turned of the second monitor and shut all the crap I had running off and it seems to work a little better. I am still wondering if my video card is not configured properly ??? I am running the beta AMD driver ( 13.2_beta5 ) My system crashed when I tried the 12.1 official release with BSOD. But it seemed to like the beta on the second try.

Should I have anything specific set up on the other settings on my machine ?? Is this at all effected by Lucid or Virtu ?



I actually had the video card off I think... I just changed it.

going to re-test. Wish me luck. smile.gif

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #12 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777


actually... I did not have this checked off. I don't think I had it set. It was off and I just turned on GPU acceleration.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #13 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 03:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777






Does this look OK or normal to everyone ?

Shouldn't the GPU info be populated? Is it running on HD3000 GPU or something ? Ideas? (or am I just paranoid ?)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #14 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
It seems to be working much better now. I guess SVP just does not like multi tasking.

After turning most stuff off my PC seems to glide right through it. Playback looks smooth.

CPU is between 30% and 45%



5G heavy setting.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #15 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Ok- Cars, Brave, Monsters Inc, and the like just look freakin so amazing ...

I'm blown away.

I'm not sure I see this as needed for all movies or tv shows or normal watching but it's certainly added feature the clearly improves fast motion and animation scenes.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #16 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I give. What is SVP?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #17 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

I give. What is SVP?

Smooth Video project.

Basically takes your normal film 24 frame per second rate and up converts to 60 frames per second (more)

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #18 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
http://www.svp-team.com/

Here you go:



SVP allows you to watch any video on your PC file with frame interpolation (like you can watch it on high-end TVs and projectors). It increases frame rate by generating intermediate animation frames between existing ones to produce very smooth, fluid and clear motion. The technology is well-known for a while ("TrimensionDNM", "Motion Plus", "Motionflow" and others), but now it's available for free to PC users with simple GUI and just a couple of mouse clicks.

SVP provides GPU acceleration and it's possible to watch FullHD 1080p-video recalculated to 60Hz in real-time with mid-range CPU and almost any GPU hardware.
SVP actually is not a video player itself, but it enables almost any player to play smooth video.
Yeah, also in 3D smile.gif

First, it's free, second - if both Peter Jackson and James Cameron don't think the "soap opera effect" is something bad why should you? wink.gif
"We are indeed shooting at the higher frame rate. The key thing to understand is that this process requires both shooting and projecting at 48 frames/s, rather than the usual 24 frames/s (The great majority of films have been shot at 24 frames per second since the late 1920s). So the result looks like normal speed, but the image has hugely enhanced clarity and smoothness. Looking at 24 frames every second may seem ok—and we've all seen thousands of films like this over the last 90 years—but there is often quite a lot of blur in each frame, during fast movements and if the camera is moving around quickly, the image can judder or "strobe." Shooting and projecting at 48 frames/s does a lot to get rid of these issues. It looks much more lifelike and it is much easier to watch, especially in 3-D." - Peter Jackson
"3D shows you a window into reality; the higher frame rate takes the glass out of the window" - James Cameron

http://www.svp-team.com/wiki/Download

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #19 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just amazing.. I was just wondering how I can get more out of my HTPC and this thread comes along. Lol

Guess I have a project for tonight!

How easy is it to configure?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #20 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 05:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
This is why I won't switch to a standalone player. So many things you can do with an HTPC to make the movie watching experience even better.

Plus, it is sort of a sense of accomplishment when you build something that gives you amazing eye candy.

Wish there was something you could do with cable tv lol
AnthonyB is offline  
post #21 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 06:45 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Good luck running level 5. Lol.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #22 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 07:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Holy crap..

Watching Pitch Perfect it looks pretty damn good
AnthonyB is offline  
post #23 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 07:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
What settings? What player ?

You have MADVR enabled ?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #24 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 07:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Uniform
13
Double source frame rate
Disabled
Yes to madVR
Mpc-be

I don't see level 5
AnthonyB is offline  
post #25 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
Right click SVP icon in the bottom right running.... first option--->video profiles - >>>reset to defaults.


-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #26 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 07:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
OK.. Level 5 was complete fail. But I have mismatched memory and I will see what happens after I get the system stable. But level 3 looks great.

Tip. Don't bother running pixel shaders like sharpen complex 2
AnthonyB is offline  
post #27 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 08:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,430
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Liked: 777
SVP is very CPU intensive. I'm running i7 with all 4 cores overclocked 30%, and a GPU card, and a mild overclock on my 16GB DDR3 Ram.

It appears that SVP has a self test when you start it up- with a score and determines the appropriate level of your hardware.

The basic modes are self labeled (like i3, or whatever) and should provide good insight into the right setting. Put it on basic and just choose the 1 setting if your unsure.

I am on the advanced now- messing around with stuff just trying to see how it effects.

I'm happy now. I running level 5 with less than 50% CPU.

Makes me think a small overclock on my 3570k and I should be ok.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #28 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
oh em gee i need to try out this magical thing
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #29 of 685 Old 02-16-2013, 11:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Mine appears higher than the one you posted

So do you see 6c and 6g (maybe more, 7c, 7g)? I haven't seen such levels. confused.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

CPU is between 30% and 45%

5G heavy setting.

That's normal. With i5-3570K without OC, max CPU usage is ~65% at 5g.
renethx is offline  
post #30 of 685 Old 02-17-2013, 05:01 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,112
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 358
SVP 3.1.4 was just released. Lite is enough if you already have Avisynth and ffdshow installed (you can download them from the same page). BTW it works with any 32-bit DirectShow player including WMP (32-bit is default) and WMC (if you use Windows 32-bit).
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Intel , Intel Core I5 3570 3 4 Ghz Processor , Intel Pentium G2020 2 9ghz Lga 1155 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Intel Pentium G3220 3 0ghz Lga 1150 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd , Amd A10 6700 Richland 4 2ghz Socket Fm2 65w Quad Core Desktop Processor Amd Radeon Hd Ad6700okhlbox , Amd A6 5400k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Dual Core Desktop Processor , Amd A8 5600k 3 6ghz Socket Fm2 Quad Core Desktop Processor , Amd A6 3650 2 6ghz Socket Fm1 Quad Core Desktop Apu Cpu Gpu With Directx 11 Graphic , Intel Core I7 4770k 3 5ghz Lga 1150 Quad Core Desktop Processor
Gear in this thread - G2020 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off