How do I reset HDCP handshake between pc and receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-2013, 01:26 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wyen78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 307
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a pc connected to an onkyo txnr709. If the receiver is on when I power up the pc it gets recognized fine but if the pc is turned on first it handshakes with the tv due to the pass through on the receiver. This works as it should and allows me to use either the tv or receiver for sound but I need to reset the handshake when switching.

Pulling the hdmi cable out and replugging it works to reset it but it's annoying. Restarting the pc works but it's super annoying too. The best way so far that I've found is to change the resolution on the pc. Are there any better ways?

If there was a program that could do this, I could pin it to the taskbar and use Win+# to start it. Ideally it would just run when opened and then close that way you could program a remote for this function.

wyen78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-19-2013, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 18

Try adjusting your video settings to NOT Auto-detect the display.

Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
Old 02-19-2013, 11:36 PM
Member
 
rsinclair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I'm plagued with this as well, and although it's not the most elegant solution in the world, it's free and relatively painless:

On Windows 7, I'm able to "trick" the PC into refreshing its signal to the receiver by using a little-known shortcut: Win-P

Try it out and you'll see what it does. It's the shortcut to enable outputting your display to a Projector or other external/secondary screen. The first option happens to also act like a Cancel ("Use the PC screen only") so this, in essence, is what forces the PC to send a refreshed signal to the receiver.

So try hitting Win-P, then hit Enter (which selects the first option) and hopefully your display will reliably return like mine does after I figured this out. If you have the same problem I do, you have to do this with a blank screen, but you can think of it as a keyboard shortcut to "unlock" your HTPC, rather than a hacky keyboard shortcut to make up for a miserable implementation of HDCP over HDMI.

-R

rsinclair is offline  
Old 02-20-2013, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
My HTPC idles under 20 watts so I leave it on 24/7. This way I can easily access content from it via PLEX anywhere I have an internet connection without delay and my extender has instant access as well. This is much easier and life is good.

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 02-20-2013, 10:34 AM
Senior Member
 
scoyne88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 235
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was having constant sync issues with my HTPC -> Receiver -> HDTV setup as well. I bought the HDMI Detective, and have not had a single problem since. Took about five minutes to setup and has been worth every penny.

Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes.That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

 

DIY Speaker Cables
http://www.seancoyne.org

scoyne88 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off