madVR v0.86.0 released - with Smooth Motion - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 133 Old 03-22-2013, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDWorld View Post

Try to delete 720p60 in madvr display modes. Then madvr will choose 1080p23 and will do upscale. If madvr choose 720p resolution then TV will do upscale (i don´t write 720p resolutions in madvr display modes because i preffer that madvr do upscale).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I'm going to remove all the 720p modes and have madVR upscale this as suggested. Thanks!

I actually left the 720p60 mode in Display Modes. This allowed 25p to be displayed at 60p with SMFRC on but the 720p23.976 material to be upscaled to 1080p23.976 by madVR.

Sammy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 133 Old 05-22-2013, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
Nekromantik2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi people

I installed MPC BE with LAV and MadVR.
I got Jinc 3 tap for chroma and image upscale, is this good or should I put chroma upscale to SoftCubic?
My main question is, I have selected "Only when needed" for smooth motion and have deleted 1080p24 on my display resolution switcher in MadVR.
If I play back 480p or 720p video files at 23.976fps will MadVR upscale to 1080P on my TV if I have disabled the switcher?

Thanks
Nekromantik2013 is offline  
post #93 of 133 Old 05-23-2013, 02:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
As for chroma, you may not see a difference between Jinc and others. If your graphics card is fast enough, choose Jinc3+AR, otherwise whatever (e.g. BiCubic75+AR).

If you delete "1080p24", then madVR will use your desktop resolution / refresh rate (1080p59/60?): 480p24 / 720p24 --> 1080p59/60.
renethx is offline  
post #94 of 133 Old 05-23-2013, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
Nekromantik2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks.
I seem to be getting bad performance. shame frown.gif
With Jinc3 on both Image and Chroma upscale using either software or DXVA copyback I get a render rate of 130ms in exclusive fullscreen mode.
Nekromantik2013 is offline  
post #95 of 133 Old 06-03-2013, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markabuckley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Smooth Vision processing in MadVR is a huge improvement over my TVs handling of directly input 24p

my Panasonic is a PF11UK - the European version which with a 24p input displays at an actual 23.976hz (unlike the American version which doubles to 48 ?)

you'd think that was pretty ideal

but I can see so much detail in any fast paced shots with Smooth Vision on outputing as 60p to the Panasonic - with very few negatives

I'm noticing things in films I've never spotted before. I've no idea why- but its certainly not Placebo
markabuckley is offline  
post #96 of 133 Old 06-04-2013, 09:16 PM
Newbie
 
alxnet2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
madVR with smooth motion has VASTLY improved playback of 24p video on my LG TV. I've been struggling for a while now on this issue and this solution works. Thanks!!!
alxnet2003 is offline  
post #97 of 133 Old 06-17-2013, 04:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 24,220
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 197 Post(s)
Liked: 1016
Has there ever been a dedicated MADVR set up guide thread?

Or is that basically considered the MPC-HC thread?

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is offline  
post #98 of 133 Old 06-17-2013, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267

Madvr v0.86.6

http://forum.doom9.org/showpost.php?p=1271414&postcount=1

 

 

Quote:
madVR v0.86.6

* added smooth motion frame rate conversion algorithm
* added settings page for smooth motion frc configuration
* added "trade quality for performance" option for smooth motion frc
* added test patterns to madTestPatternSource to test smooth motion frc
* added support for drawing remote controlled calibration test patterns
* added support for DCI-P3 and BT.2020 primaries and BT.2020 matrix
* added support for "matrix=2020" and "primaries=2020|DCI" tags
* added resolution based auto detection for DCI-P3
* added explicit detection for non PS3.0 capable GPUs
* added IMadVRInfo interface which makes all sorts of info available
* fixed: RGB input with odd width/height is now accepted untouched
* fixed: IVideoWindow::put_Owner() failed when pins were not connected yet
* fixed: madHcCtrl.exe autostart registry entry was incorrect / not working
* fixed: occasional crash when using DXVA scaling with high-bitdepth content
* fixed: green line at the left image border when using DXVA scaling
* fixed: refresh rate changing didn't always work correctly in Windows 8
* fixed: MPC-BE title bar didn't handle unicode characters correctly
* fixed: ZoomPlayer: cosmetical issue when pausing in FSE mode
* fixed: #18: decoder queue sometimes exceeded limits
* fixed: #23: video didn't follow overlay window position when paused
* fixed: #35: framerate tag was not working
* fixed: #37: when no video duration was known, seekbar was not shown
* fixed: #42: memory leak with certain OSD elements
* fixed: #44: GraphStudioNext "Performance Test" Crash
* fixed: #46: XySubFilter: 3DLUT was not applied to frames with subtitles
* fixed: #47: XySubFilter: subtitles weren't rerendered after scaling change
* fixed: #48: XySubFilter: incorrect positioning after downscaling
* fixed: #49: XySubFilter: incorrect PGS subtitle positions
* fixed: #50: XySubFilter: smooth motion FRC caused subtitles flicker
* fixed: #51: settings dialog now mentions both ReClock and VideoClock
* fixed: #52: XySubFilter: incorrect ASS subtitle positions
* fixed: #55: FSE seek bar resulted in inaccurate seeking for DVDs
* fixed: #62: crash when external 3dlut file with long filename was missing
* fixed: #65: film refresh rate was used with dxva decoding -> deinterlacing
* fixed: #66: Cineform decoder v210 (10-bit 4:2:2) corruption
* fixed: #72: display mode restauration didn't work correctly in win8
* fixed: #73: display mode was not restored when playback was stopped in MC18
* fixed: #74: fullscreen <-> windowed can be slow with large CPU queue
* fixed: #79: XySubFilter: non-color-corrected subtitles had wrong levels
* fixed: #81: Repeated frames count increases when video is paused
* increased max CPU queue size to 128 frames
* renamed madHcNet.dll to madHcNet32.dll
* file "settings.bin" is not written into win7/8 "VirtualStore", anymore
* tray icon appears faster now
* slightly improved multi monitor behaviour (when using DXVA or MPC-BE)
* improved exclusive mode presentation timing with jittery audio clock a bit
* filter enumeration timer is now only active during DVD playback
* extended logging for fullscreen exclusive presentation queue
* internal software video decoders are now disabled by default (again)
Mrkazador is offline  
post #99 of 133 Old 06-17-2013, 10:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
changelog.txt tells you what's new with each release. smile.gif
Quote:
v0.86.6:
* fixed: test pattern API "BlindConnect" made problems with HCFR
* fixed: 3dlut was never applied when drawing test patterns
* fixed: HCFR running with admin rights couldn't always connect to madVR
* added new remote control API "madVR_SetBackground" for plasma users

v0.86.5:
* fixed: calibration test pattern colors were sometimes incorrect
* added support for internal VideoLUT processing
* added remote control ability for internal VideoLUT processing

v0.86.4:
* added support for drawing remote controlled calibration test patterns
* renamed madHcNet.dll to madHcNet32.dll
* drop/repeat estimate now works up to 240Hz
* tray icon appears faster now
* fixed: #81: Repeated frames count increases when video is paused
renethx is offline  
post #100 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Would smooth motion work on 25p content? My tv supports 24p and I have my movies (24P) playing back fine but it's the euro films that are proving to be difficult.

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #101 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 02:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Smooth motion FRC works for anything, but the lower the TV refresh rate is, the more sharpness you will lose.

For 25p movies, the best option would be 25Hz, obviously. If your TV can't do that, try 50Hz or 75Hz. All of that with Smooth motion FRC turned off. If your TV can't do that, either, I'd recommend switching your TV to 60Hz for 25p movies, and then turn Smooth motion FRC on. That should give the best results.

If you switch Smooth motion FRC to "only activate when there would be judder otherwise" or however that option was called, it will automatically disable for 25Hz, 50Hz and 75Hz, and automatically enable for 60Hz.

One more problem: If your content is actually 50i and not 25p, it's also important to choose the right way to deinterlace. For movie content either turn deinterlacing off (that works for a lot of PAL DVDs), or force madVR into film mode. Either way you'll get 25p. If you have deinterlacing on and forced film mode off, madVR will use DXVA deinterlacing and the output will be 50p, which will result in Smooth motion FRC being less effective. Smooth motion FRC works better with 25p @ 60Hz.
madshi is online now  
post #102 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Smooth motion FRC works for anything, but the lower the TV refresh rate is, the more sharpness you will lose.

For 25p movies, the best option would be 25Hz, obviously. If your TV can't do that, try 50Hz or 75Hz. All of that with Smooth motion FRC turned off. If your TV can't do that, either, I'd recommend switching your TV to 60Hz for 25p movies, and then turn Smooth motion FRC on. That should give the best results.

If you switch Smooth motion FRC to "only activate when there would be judder otherwise" or however that option was called, it will automatically disable for 25Hz, 50Hz and 75Hz, and automatically enable for 60Hz.

One more problem: If your content is actually 50i and not 25p, it's also important to choose the right way to deinterlace. For movie content either turn deinterlacing off (that works for a lot of PAL DVDs), or force madVR into film mode. Either way you'll get 25p. If you have deinterlacing on and forced film mode off, madVR will use DXVA deinterlacing and the output will be 50p, which will result in Smooth motion FRC being less effective. Smooth motion FRC works better with 25p @ 60Hz.

I will have to remember this one. My TV does 96Hz and 120Hz (it is labled as a 600Hz plasma but I cannot see were to set it for 600Hz so that is a falacy) so should I use one of these refresh rates instead of 60Hz?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #103 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Yes, but it puts more strain on your CPU + (mainly) GPU. If your PC can handle, the higher the refresh rate the better for Smooth Motion FRC. However, there's probably the law of diminishing returns somewhere...
madshi is online now  
post #104 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
It is a Clardale i3 550 with a Radeon HD 7850 so that law will kick in sooner than later if it is CPU driven but the GPU has plenty of headroom.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #105 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 08:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chronoptimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by pokekevin View Post

Would smooth motion work on 25p content? My tv supports 24p and I have my movies (24P) playing back fine but it's the euro films that are proving to be difficult.
If you are watching films which are encoded at 25p, you should be using ReClock/JRiver VideoClock/Other to play back the file natively at 24p.

SmoothMotion FRC would help smooth it out, but why do that when you can play it back at the correct speed?
Chronoptimist is offline  
post #106 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 08:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I think that the DAC in my AVR is better than the DAC in my HTPC but that may be a fallacy as well.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #107 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 10:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I will have to remember this one. My TV does 96Hz and 120Hz (it is labled as a 600Hz plasma but I cannot see were to set it for 600Hz so that is a falacy) so should I use one of these refresh rates instead of 60Hz?

You have a 600Hz Sub-Field drive rate, not refresh rate.
Quote:
Many consumers are falsely led to believe that the Sub-Field Drive Rate is analogous to Screen Refresh Rate, such as the screen refresh rates commonly stated for LCD Televisions. However, the Sub-Field Drive Rate actually refers to something slightly different.

Unlike Screen Refresh Rate, which is how many times each frame is repeated within a specific time period (such as 1/60th of a second), Plasma TVs also do something additional. In support of the screen refresh rate, a Plasma TV also sends repeated electric pulses to the pixels to keep them lit for the time period (such as 1/60th of a second) that each frame is displayed on the screen. The Sub-Field Drive is designed to send these rapid pulses.

I've not ever seen a plasma that claims to support a 600Hz refresh rate, but plasmas that claim 600Hz Sub-Field drive are pretty common.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is offline  
post #108 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
That makes ssense. Is there even any content at this refresh rate?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #109 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ajhieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

That makes ssense. Is there even any content at this refresh rate?
I'm not aware of any content that is produced at a refresh rate above 60Hz.

RAID protection is only for failed drives. That's it. It's no replacement for a proper backup.
ajhieb is offline  
post #110 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chronoptimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I think that the DAC in my AVR is better than the DAC in my HTPC but that may be a fallacy as well.
Decoding a compressed format like DTS-HD to uncompressed PCM is not a digital to analog conversion. It's more like unzipping a file - it's a completely lossless process.

You're still sending digital audio over to your AVR.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajhieb View Post

I'm not aware of any content that is produced at a refresh rate above 60Hz.
PC gaming is often done at refresh rates above 60Hz, and there are reasons why it would be beneficial to support higher refresh rates like that even with video playback from a PC, but you're correct that there isn't any commercial video produced above 60fps.
Chronoptimist is offline  
post #111 of 133 Old 12-08-2013, 02:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Correctamundo.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #112 of 133 Old 12-27-2013, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
I've been having this small issue since I upgraded to the new version of MadVR. My computer is set to output 24p but once in awhile when starting a movie it will play in 24p than switch over to 60p which causes me to have to reload the film. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Kevin

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #113 of 133 Old 12-28-2013, 02:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Could be either D3D switching behind madVR's back for some reason. Or it could be madVR switching on purpose. Do you have the madVR display mode changer active? And if so, is 60Hz one of the modes in the list?

Does the switch occur right at playback start? Or somewhere in the middle of the movie?
madshi is online now  
post #114 of 133 Old 12-28-2013, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Could be either D3D switching behind madVR's back for some reason. Or it could be madVR switching on purpose. Do you have the madVR display mode changer active? And if so, is 60Hz one of the modes in the list?

Does the switch occur right at playback start? Or somewhere in the middle of the movie?

I believe I don't have MadVR display mode active on as the list has no resolutions in it. The films start in 24p after the screen flickers when switching to 24p than flickers again and is back in 60p.

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #115 of 133 Old 12-28-2013, 11:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Who's doing the switching to 24p then? If the madVR display mode switcher is turned off, madVR simply tells Direct3D9 to keep using the current display mode and refresh rate.
madshi is online now  
post #116 of 133 Old 12-29-2013, 12:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Who's doing the switching to 24p then? If the madVR display mode switcher is turned off, madVR simply tells Direct3D9 to keep using the current display mode and refresh rate.

I set MPC HC to do 24p

Like mentioned earlier, I'd say everything works fine 70% of the time (24p no problem) with 30% of the time it does 24p than flickers than goes back into 60p

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #117 of 133 Old 12-29-2013, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 140
Try using the madVR display mode switcher instead of the MPC-HC one. The problem with the MPC-HC one is that it changes the refresh rate behind madVR's back and when the timing is bad, madVR might miss the change and ask Direct3D to use the previous refresh rate (60Hz).
madshi is online now  
post #118 of 133 Old 01-01-2014, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pokekevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post

Try using the madVR display mode switcher instead of the MPC-HC one. The problem with the MPC-HC one is that it changes the refresh rate behind madVR's back and when the timing is bad, madVR might miss the change and ask Direct3D to use the previous refresh rate (60Hz).

Worked perfect thanks!

Now last question regarding RGB levels, I have my htpc plugged into a samsung plasma and currently have LAV set to untouched and Video Levels for MadVR . Would this be preferred? I believe my TV is set to 16-235 as my calibrator picked the HDMI Black Level to low compared to normal. Not sure where in the Nvidia control panel is the setting for it though. 17-25 are flashing on the black clipping pattern.

No subwoofer I've heard has been able to produce the bass I've experienced in the Corps!

Must..stop...buying...every bluray release...
pokekevin is offline  
post #119 of 133 Old 03-18-2014, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
matthewn4444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

This feature is awesome but I have a question. So I have been using SVP for the motion interpolation for a while now and then I tried yours, it reduces the CPU by a lot but the problem is that it seems that this feature only doubles the framerate. SVP is able to change the framerate to multiple different versions. My question is, is it possible to set the framerate for videos running 23.976fps to 60fps instead of 48fps (measured with Fraps)? Or can you possible include it in an update (if possible).

 

EDIT: 60fps works on exclusive mode, 48fps for windowed with 23.976fps video

 

Another question is, will there be support for something like lightpack in the future?

matthewn4444 is offline  
post #120 of 133 Old 03-18-2014, 07:16 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
"Smooth motion frame rate conversion" repeats and blends frames in accordance with "whatever" refresh rate is. The underlying algorithm is due to madshi. Generally the bigger the difference between the refresh rate and the frame rate is, the cleaner the image is. So, for example, 24fps video playback in a 25Hz display with "smooth motion frame rate conversion" is smooth but blurred. 24fps video playback in a 60Hz display is smooth and clean.
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off