HDMI & Display Port at the same time - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-26-2013, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mopar_Mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rice Lake, WI
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Can anyone tell me first if Audio goes through the display port? Then if it does can the HDMI and Display port be used to go to different diplays?

I want to send the HDMI to my reciever and the Display Port to my TV, I believe you can get a display port to HDMI adapter.

Mother Board is GA-H57M-USB3
Mopar_Mudder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-26-2013, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18

I recall Display Port supports audio.  I would bet you can't get audio on both simultaneously, though.  WHY do you want the TV connected directly to the PC and not the receiver anyway?

Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-26-2013, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mopar_Mudder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Rice Lake, WI
Posts: 1,658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hornfeck View Post

I recall Display Port supports audio.  I would bet you can't get audio on both simultaneously, though.  WHY do you want the TV connected directly to the PC and not the receiver anyway?

The TV is actually in a different room and the reciever goes to the projector. Actlually the computer will be hooked to 3 displays. Right now it runs to the receiver to the projector plus I use the sub out on the reciever to go to yet another display. I have a HDMI splitter in the way that I am going to try first. Just had the thought that maybe I could use the display port, but the splitter is probably easier if it works.

should just build another HTPC I guess biggrin.gif
Mopar_Mudder is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-26-2013, 06:56 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
DisplayPort with a passive DP-HDMI adapter like this (so actually HDMI signals will be transmitted over DP) should support HD audio bitstreaming. But this depends on each mb...

Clarkdale (and later) supports dual audio stream (over HDMI+HDMI and HDMI+DP).
renethx is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-20-2013, 10:12 PM
Member
 
eedwards86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm actually curious about this as well. Can you use a displayport to go out to TV (for 3D) and use the HDMI output to go to your receiver for HD-audio (receiver that does not support 3D, HDMI 1.4a, etc).

eedwards86 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off