XBMC Stuttering on New SSD Drive Running Windows 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-28-2013, 09:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Reneamaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello
I just upgraded my HTPC that was built a few years ago, by adding more RAM, a new video card, and a new solid state drive for speed. When running windows media and recording shows, there is no problem. I watched a few blu-rays through TMT5 with no problem. But now the problem I am coming across is when running XBMC, either streaming shows or movies, in a show I may have 2-3 times where the streaming video and audio will stutter. If you put pause and play, it will fix itself. The only thing I am thinking is that it has to do with the new SSD Drive. Does anyone know what the problem could be? Should I return the SSD drive and return to a normal one?

This is the drive I bought: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B004W2JLB6/ref=oh_details_o03_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Reneamaya is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-28-2013, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16

I can't imaging how a SSD could be worse than a traditional HDD.  I'd suspect something in your installation, drivers, codecs before the SSD.  Maybe your net is being taxed, or needs a new driver since you say this is happening on streaming.

Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-28-2013, 11:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Reneamaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed them on Sunday and I first tried it wireless and yesterday I try it wired, I did not have any issue before the video card , SSD and Ram install. Before I could not use TMT 5 but now I can. I installed the drivers that came with the card I scanned everything in the device manager for updates. I did installed XBMCHUB may be that can be an issue.
Reneamaya is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-28-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 22,418
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 776
ACHI ???


ACHI ???

ACHI ???


Or did you clone it ??? Messed up the aligment or something?

I am not a fan of the M4 SSD, but it's a fine SSD drive and if you clean install properly it's way faster than a HDD.

Something is Amiss for sure.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-28-2013, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Reneamaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

ACHI ???


ACHI ???

ACHI ???


Or did you clone it ??? Messed up the aligment or something?

I am not a fan of the M4 SSD, but it's a fine SSD drive and if you clean install properly it's way faster than a HDD.

Something is Amiss for sure.

No I did not clone the operating system , if that’s what you mean. It was a fresh install . The same disc that I used originally windows 7 pro. tonight I will reinstall XBMC without the XBMCHUB and see if that works. Thanks
Reneamaya is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-28-2013, 02:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Reneamaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, if anyone has any experience with the SSD drive, am I just able to install the operating system and not any other programs on it (like XBMC, TMT5, Media Browser, etc.)? Could those other programs be installed in other drives and not in the SSD drive? And would those programs work correctly? I am trying not to install a lot onto the SSD.
Reneamaya is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-28-2013, 03:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 239
assassin is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-01-2013, 10:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Reneamaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Last night I removed XBMC and reinstalled it. I didnt run XBMCHUB. I just installed one add-on. I streamed a full movie without a problem. Because of what I did, I can't try changing the audio output to see if that was the issue. But what I did after the XBMC install was to change the audio output to HDMI and 7.1 and then, towards the bottom changed the audio output device and the pass through that is normally optical to HDMI.

To see if the audio was the original issue, I will try running XBMCHUB tonight and change the audio settings and see if it plays back with no problem.

Thanks for the advice.

Assassin: I see that you build home theater PC's, so do you have any experience with the SSD drive? Am I just able to install the operating system and not any other programs on it (like XBMC, TMT5, Media Browser, etc.)? Could those other programs be installed in other drives and not in the SSD drive? And would those programs work correctly? I am trying not to install a lot onto the SSD.
Reneamaya is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off