Assassin's Intel NUC Review - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaremyP View Post

I've been experimenting with dedicated streamers but am coming back to the htpc world. Looking at the brix or nuc. For full ISO bd playback, is the i3 plenty of power or worth it to just get the new i5? Also, I'd assume 4gb of ram will be plenty as well?

I'll be running windows 8.1 with xbmc and powerdvd/tmt as my disc player with anydvd and media served off a synology nas. Will be playing 3d bd full rip ISO as well. It feels like the i3 w/4gb would be plenty but I don't want to underspend and regret it.

Oh and I may also run the box as an iTunes server as well.

beware of running iTunes and a media player. I was running iTunes in background on my WMC and a bunch of the remote buttons didn't work (I seem to recall skip fwd and back were offenders). Took me forever to figure it out. Seems some IR commands were being passed to iTunes instead of WMC. No idea if this can be controlled in Windows and couldn't find a way to tell iTunes to ignore IR codes. Not sure if it will affect your setup, but thought I'd give you a heads up
ellisr63 likes this.
mark_anderson_u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 03:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
mark_anderson_u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaremyP View Post

Does the nuc ir driver allow you to configure buttons per application?

When I was htpc building years ago I recall using imon software to set key bindings per app. So the same buttons on one remote could be used to properly control different apps. I'll be using a control 4 remote universally and need to make sure I can properly control either mediabrowser3/xbmc and powerdvd/tmt as they have different bindings.

I was looking at maybe using the Flirc to achieve a general remote to keyboard mapping and just change the xbmc key bindings to match the pdvd/tmt ones.

Surely if you have control 4 you'd use IP/Serial?
mark_anderson_u is offline  
post #363 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 03:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

The NUC only support x86.
Thanks. I was thinking 64-bit and crossed the streams with nomenclature.

The correct OpenELEC version for all NUCs is Intel x86_64
ellisr63 likes this.
bluechunks is offline  
post #364 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
I'm not sure if you saw this...

To simplify the number of OpenELEC 3.2 builds available we have discontinuted the ION 32-bit, Intel 32-bit, and ‘Ultra’ builds for Xtreamer users. If you are using one of these builds the correct migration path to follow is:

ION i386 (with 32-bit capable hardware) => Generic i386
ION i386 (with 64-bit capable hardware) => ION x86_64
Intel i386 (with 32-bit capable hardware) => Generic i386
Intel i386 (with 64-bit capable hardware) => Intel x86_64
Xtreamer Ultra 1 / Xtreamer Ultra 2 => ION x86_64

Openelec is no longer providing a Intel 32 bit version... You have to use the Generic version with 32 bit now.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #365 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
sievers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks. I used OpenELEC Stable - Generic i386 Version:3.2.2 from this page http://openelec.tv/get-openelec/download/viewcategory/8-generic-builds and the install was a snap. But, after downloading all the fan art and such, my keyboard/mouse mini remote seems pretty laggy. Maybe I need to reboot? Maybe this mini keyboard is just a piece of junk. Will be moving to my main tv and try with my harmony and usb ir adapter soon, see if it's any better.

Celeron NUC
4 GB RAM
4 GB usb stick
ellisr63 likes this.
sievers is online now  
post #366 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 06:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by sievers View Post

Thanks. I used OpenELEC Stable - Generic i386 Version:3.2.2 from this page http://openelec.tv/get-openelec/download/viewcategory/8-generic-builds and the install was a snap. But, after downloading all the fan art and such, my keyboard/mouse mini remote seems pretty laggy. Maybe I need to reboot? Maybe this mini keyboard is just a piece of junk. Will be moving to my main tv and try with my harmony and usb ir adapter soon, see if it's any better.

Celeron NUC
4 GB RAM
4 GB usb stick

My setup is the same as yours except I am running a 60GB SSD. Mine seems to run fine with the wireless keyboard I got. I do know that my i3 is a bit snappier than the Celeron, but my i3 is running 8GB of ram too.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #367 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 07:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

I'm not sure if you saw this...

To simplify the number of OpenELEC 3.2 builds available we have discontinuted the ION 32-bit, Intel 32-bit, and ‘Ultra’ builds for Xtreamer users. If you are using one of these builds the correct migration path to follow is:

ION i386 (with 32-bit capable hardware) => Generic i386
ION i386 (with 64-bit capable hardware) => ION x86_64
Intel i386 (with 32-bit capable hardware) => Generic i386
Intel i386 (with 64-bit capable hardware) => Intel x86_64
Xtreamer Ultra 1 / Xtreamer Ultra 2 => ION x86_64

Openelec is no longer providing a Intel 32 bit version... You have to use the Generic version with 32 bit now.
Hmmm....Am I missing something here?

Even the Celeron NUC is a 64-bit machine and that's why I'm running the Intel x86_64 version in my NUC.

No need for the Generic 32-bit version for a NUC.
ellisr63 likes this.
bluechunks is offline  
post #368 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 08:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Hmmm....Am I missing something here?

Even the Celeron NUC is a 64-bit machine and that's why I'm running the Intel x86_64 version in my NUC.

No need for the Generic 32-bit version for a NUC.

Interesting... I thought I read somewhere that you could only run the 32bit version of windows on the i3 NUC. That is why I installed the 32 bit version. mad.gif I just got done installing it too. The 64 bit version should be faster too I believe.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #369 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 08:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
I'm running win7 64bit on my i3 NUC without any problems.
ellisr63 likes this.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #370 of 578 Old 10-11-2013, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Well next time I do a clean install in windows I will go that route too. Will it make a difference with Openelec?

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #371 of 578 Old 10-12-2013, 05:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

Will it make a difference with Openelec?
Probably. The Intel x86_64 version is totally designed for the CPU/GPU/Chipset of the NUC.

From OpenELEC:


INTEL BUILD

This is NOT a generic image for anything with an Intel CPU, it is tailored for HTPC systems that use Intel GMA integrated graphics, Core2Duo or higher, including Sandybridge and and Ivybridge.

GENERIC BUILD

The Generic image is a "catch-all" build containing more drivers than any other image. If you have a home-built HTPC that is not based on ION, ION2, Intel or Fusion GPU chipsets, or you are going to install OpenELEC onto a laptop or desktop computer this is probably the best image to use. The Generic images may require a moderate level of post-installation tweaking to get items like sound configuration correct.


Quote:
Originally Posted by sievers View Post

I used OpenELEC Stable - Generic i386 Version:3.2.2 and the install was a snap. But, after downloading all the fan art and such, my keyboard/mouse mini remote seems pretty laggy.

Celeron NUC
4 GB RAM
4 GB usb stick

You will also want to use the Intel x86_64 version of OpenELEC on your NUC.

Also, set the video memory allocation to a fixed 512MB in BIOS. Even after doing that OpenELEC will still show ~3GB of RAM available while running so you have plenty of memory.

The loading of fan art and such is one of the few things that actually uses I/O from the USB stick where it's stored. If using the optimized version of OpenELEC does not make performance better your best options are to use a different (faster) USB stick or install a mSATA drive. A mSATA will absolutely fix the problem if you have a massive library but many of us were fine with our reasonably quick USB sticks.

FWIW, I mentioned earlier in this thread that I found a new mSATA SSD on fleabay for less than $30. It's only 24GB (thus the price) and was designed as a secondary "cache" drive but the size is overkill for OpenELEC so one does not have to break the bank with a SSD for a build.
ellisr63 likes this.
bluechunks is offline  
post #372 of 578 Old 10-12-2013, 08:04 AM
Member
 
dikkiedirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the first gen. core i3 NUC. I installed Win 7 64b and XBMC Frodo 12.2. Didn't install any other software, drivers or add-ons. When playing 24p files I found that playback became ver choppy. Is there a fix for this?

I now use Openelec 3.2.2 and this plays 24p files just fine. I checked to see that my TV does indeed switch to 24p.

I like however to go back to Windows/XBMC, because this offers me more flexibility in respect to playing bluray rips with full menus.

Would Windows 8 with XBMC fix the 24p issue?

Or are there other options?
dikkiedirk is offline  
post #373 of 578 Old 10-12-2013, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dikkiedirk View Post

I use the first gen. core i3 NUC. I installed Win 7 64b and XBMC Frodo 12.2. Didn't install any other software, drivers or add-ons. When playing 24p files I found that playback became ver choppy. Is there a fix for this?
Yup.

Download and install the most current video drivers from Intel.

FYI, also there is a minor bug that affects 24p playback for pre-Hawswll Intel CPU/GPUs. It should not be choppy but rather it will drop a frame occasionally and would not normally be noticeable unless you are really looking for it.
ellisr63 likes this.
bluechunks is offline  
post #374 of 578 Old 10-12-2013, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
sievers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Thanks again for the help and discussion all. After shutting down and moving the NUC to its permanent home, my mini keyboard is responding as normal again. Harmony doesn't work at all, I guess I need to look into some mapping something or other. Will reinstall the 64 bit version, as recommended, probably tomorrow, no time today.
sievers is online now  
post #375 of 578 Old 10-12-2013, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Is there a way to save all the artwork on openelec/xbmc before I re install with the 64bit version?

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #376 of 578 Old 10-12-2013, 02:49 PM
Member
 
dikkiedirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already use the latest drivers from intel downloadcenter. They are GFX_Win7_Win8_64_9.18.10.3165.
dikkiedirk is offline  
post #377 of 578 Old 10-12-2013, 03:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
FWIW, the current Windows 7/8 64-bit graphics driver for an i3 NUC with Intel 4000 graphics appears to be 15.31.17.64.3257 dated 09/11/13.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=23106&lang=eng&OSVersion=Windows%207%20(64-bit)*&DownloadType=Drivers
bluechunks is offline  
post #378 of 578 Old 10-13-2013, 01:25 AM
Member
 
dikkiedirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

FWIW, the current Windows 7/8 64-bit graphics driver for an i3 NUC with Intel 4000 graphics appears to be 15.31.17.64.3257 dated 09/11/13.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?agr=Y&DwnldID=23106&lang=eng&OSVersion=Windows%207%20(64-bit)*&DownloadType=Drivers


Strange, I found the driver I listed above on the NUC download page.

On the download page of the driver you listed the NUC isn't even mentioned. Just processops are mentioned.
dikkiedirk is offline  
post #379 of 578 Old 10-13-2013, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by dikkiedirk View Post

Strange, I found the driver I listed above on the NUC download page.

On the download page of the driver you listed the NUC isn't even mentioned. Just processops are mentioned.
Yup. The CPU/GPU in the NUC is stock Intel commodity part and has a newer driver update than the one Intel has bothered to publish for the NUC.

If the new driver does not do the trick, I'd suggest checking out the XMBC FAQs and/or support site for Windows for suggestions as we know your hardware works (as demonstrated by OpenELEC).
bluechunks is offline  
post #380 of 578 Old 10-13-2013, 07:42 AM
Member
 
dikkiedirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

Yup. The CPU/GPU in the NUC is stock Intel commodity part and has a newer driver update than the one Intel has bothered to publish for the NUC.

If the new driver does not do the trick, I'd suggest checking out the XMBC FAQs and/or support site for Windows for suggestions as we know your hardware works (as demonstrated by OpenELEC).


Thanks, I will try your suggestions. Openelec is completely different off course and uses OpenGL drivers I think.
dikkiedirk is offline  
post #381 of 578 Old 10-14-2013, 03:25 AM
Member
 
dikkiedirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dikkiedirk View Post

Thanks, I will try your suggestions. Openelec is completely different off course and uses OpenGL drivers I think.


Unfortunately does upgrading to the latest Win7 HD4000 drivers only make matters worse. Disabling Aero would remedy the choppy/stuttering playback of 24p. But I see many dropped frames, and IQ is not terrific, to say the least. When I turn debugging on the FPS goes up and down from 22 to 25 when playing a mkv file. This is in Win7/XBMC. I plan on installing LAV and MPC-HC with madvr later.


In Openelec things look much better, IQ is much improved and no dropped frames. FPS shows a steady 24.0 on the debugging screen. Just an occasional drop.
dikkiedirk is offline  
post #382 of 578 Old 10-16-2013, 05:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
aliaskary77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 43
did any of you add wireless capabilities to these things? if so, what and how did it work out?

note: the post above is my opinion. as such, when reading any recommendations from me, please do you research and seek out other recommendations and make up your own mind on your next course of action. i mean, most reasonable adults should know that, but it seems this should be stated anyways.
aliaskary77 is online now  
post #383 of 578 Old 10-16-2013, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
It looks like Intel is going to introduce a new NUC case design targeted for release before the end of the year. It's slightly taller and will allow for mounting a 2.5" drive internally. Reports are that it will be available in the i3 and i5 versions.

http://missingremote.com/news/2013-10-16/slightly-bigger-intel-nuc-way-25-hard-drive-mount
captain_video is online now  
post #384 of 578 Old 10-16-2013, 06:28 AM
Advanced Member
 
bluechunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

It looks like Intel is going to introduce a new NUC case design targeted for release before the end of the year. It's slightly taller and will allow for mounting a 2.5" drive internally. Reports are that it will be available in the i3 and i5 versions.

http://missingremote.com/news/2013-10-16/slightly-bigger-intel-nuc-way-25-hard-drive-mount

FWIW, a possible $139 NUC is also on the way in the larger case. Should be interesting to see which exact GPU is included and thus potential for a HTPC.

http://hexus.net/tech/news/systems/60085-exclusive-intel-launch-139-bay-trail-nucs-q1-2014/
bluechunks is offline  
post #385 of 578 Old 10-16-2013, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,515
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluechunks View Post

FWIW, a possible $139 NUC is also on the way in the larger case. Should be interesting to see which exact GPU is included and thus potential for a HTPC.

http://hexus.net/tech/news/systems/60085-exclusive-intel-launch-139-bay-trail-nucs-q1-2014/
That's great news. The only reason I've shied away from the NUC is the price tag. However, I'd like to see the model you referenced include at least a Pentium CPU instead of the Celeron mentioned in the article.
captain_video is online now  
post #386 of 578 Old 10-16-2013, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
sievers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Lil help please! When I first installed openelec on my celeron nuc, I was able to add shares without any fuss and playback movies from said shares. After shutting down and moving to another location, I can select Windows network (SMB) and see my server, but when I select it I get "connection timed out" immediately. Moved back to original install location, same problem. What happened to my no fuss shares?

Edit: Not really knowing what to try, I rebooted and used f2 to enter bios. I didn't change anything and exited, this time when xbmc loaded I selected a movie and it started playing. So, fixed, for the moment... not sure what happened.
sievers is online now  
post #387 of 578 Old 10-17-2013, 01:54 AM
Member
 
dikkiedirk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After fiddling with my NUC and OpenELEC I have to ask the question:


Is a HTPC running XBMC or OpenELEC a real alternative to a mediaplayer like PCH A400 or Dune Base 3.0 or 3D. I mainly mean in respect to playing BD ISOs (folder and ISO).

On a Dune it is possible to select a BD rip title and it simply starts playing.

Can XBMC or OpenELEC be made to do this? Without the makemkv solution?

Or are there alternatives?
dikkiedirk is offline  
post #388 of 578 Old 10-17-2013, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
I do all my rips from a i3 NUC running win 7 and then copy the file to my NAS... At that point I can play it from MC or from either one of my NUCs.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is online now  
post #389 of 578 Old 10-18-2013, 05:59 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Just updated my Intel NUC i5 to Windows 8.1 and was caught off guard by the driver update. Windows 8.1 has a new driver than the Intel website. It also seems to return the stutter after changing inputs or resuming from sleep. I tried rolling back, but haven't had a chance to test. It pretty much change TV viewing choice. I really need to start testing the effect of resume on updates.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #390 of 578 Old 10-18-2013, 09:39 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I tried rolling back the driver to a couple older versions. The 9/11/13 drivers cause XBMC to crash. The Win7/8 driver that worked so well a couple months ago caused menu glitches all over. I ended up going with the Win 8.1 WHQL driver that was installed with the upgrade. The stutter at resume or switching inputs seems random. For now the workaround was letting my wife know she may have to reboot.
shortcut3d is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off