Assassin's Intel NUC Review - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 578 Old 06-29-2013, 05:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solderbot View Post

NUC case with room for two SATA drives: http://www.fanlesstech.com/2013/06/nuc-case-with-room-for-two-sata-drives.html

This is pretty sexy.

That it does... Now if they just made it twice as tall and stuffed in 6 HDDs. Then we would be talking i3 NUC NAS that is really small. smile.gif

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 578 Old 06-30-2013, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
josh9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, so it looks like the i5 NUC can only handle 2 Plex streams (3MB 720p to Galaxy S3 and 3MB 720p) at a time with CPU hovering around 95-99%. If I wanted to run a movie on XBMC I could only have one client playing from Plex. I was kind of disappointing as I wanted to get at least 3 streams going at once while running a movie on XBMC. Someone did point out that Plex does not support QuickSync so maybe in the future.
josh9000 is offline  
post #183 of 578 Old 06-30-2013, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
josh9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post

I setup the Intel NUC DC53427HYE i5 Dual-Core this afternoon with a 240GB Intel Lincoln Crest 525 Series SSD, 16GB Mushkin Blackline CL9 1600MHz, and Intel Centrino 6235 Wireless-N Dual Band with Bluetooth. First, the UEFI BIOS is really nice. I found the NUC is somewhat warm at 52C with the fan at 3200 RPM. It's not as quiet as the 2011 Mac mini. It may cool down with Windows 7 installed and actively managing power. I had no luck trying to do a USB UEFI install, and ended up doing a regular install (I think the USB 3.0 port is the problem). Either way the system boots incredibly fast. Windows install went by like a breeze. After setting up my iSCSI target and restoring the recording schedule, I setup two Echo extenders and successfully watch two channels simultaneously. I'll follow up with more stats and some pictures later on.


Curious why you didn't get the wireless ac card?
josh9000 is offline  
post #184 of 578 Old 06-30-2013, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Could not find wireless AC plus Bluetooth.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #185 of 578 Old 06-30-2013, 01:26 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Anyone else setup the i5 NUC and notice System Information shows it as 1.8GHz and immediately next to it says 2.3GHz? The UEFI says Turbo Boost is configured to 2.8Ghz and the maximum non-turbo multiplier is 23. It's my first Ivy Bridge setup, so excuse me if this is a dumb question.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #186 of 578 Old 07-01-2013, 12:23 PM
Newbie
 
josh9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post

Could not find wireless AC plus Bluetooth.

It was $30 last week. http://www.amazon.com/Intel-Network-7260-HMWG-Wireless-AC-Bluetooth/dp/B00DMCVKMU/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=3IE3FOKFB7E6D&coliid=IV0721OU6G6EP

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post

Anyone else setup the i5 NUC and notice System Information shows it as 1.8GHz and immediately next to it says 2.3GHz? The UEFI says Turbo Boost is configured to 2.8Ghz and the maximum non-turbo multiplier is 23. It's my first Ivy Bridge setup, so excuse me if this is a dumb question.

It's like that on mine.
josh9000 is offline  
post #187 of 578 Old 07-01-2013, 06:08 PM
Member
 
Solderbot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was searching for parts to see if I could do a tiny NUC based NAS with RAID1. Of course the NUC has no RAID chip, so I started looking for a mini-pcie RAID card. Found some!

Board: NUC (whichever)
Case: Logic Supply ML300
RAID card: There are a few to pick from. A quick search turned up: Then toss in a couple of 2TB 2.5 inch drives 1TB 2.5 inch drives. 1TB are 9.5mm thick. 1.5TB and 2TB are 15mm thick (probably too big).
You'd still have to figure out how to power both drives. The Haswell boards coming out have a SATA power header on them which you could split with some light DIY.
Solderbot is offline  
post #188 of 578 Old 07-01-2013, 07:00 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29

Good to know the Wireless AC card is available. However, I disable WiFi anyway and just leave bluetooth. I also don't have an AC AP yet.

Thanks on confirming the processor speed.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #189 of 578 Old 07-02-2013, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post

Major Issue: This new build seems to have more trouble with Microsoft iSCSI Initiator than my previous 2011 Mac mini. The iSCSI Favorite Target does not reconnect after restart. I have to launch the iSCSI Initiator and refresh and click connect. This is a major annoyance because I use the iSCSI target as my recording drive. Any idea? There does not seem to be a solution on the web for Windows 7.

I was able to resolve the iSCSI Favorite Target issue not reconnecting. I found the resolution on Technet.

I was able to successfully setup a Task without creating a .cmd script. The solution was to create a task on Trigger for Startup, with Conditions of Wait for Connection: Any, and Wait 30 seconds. The action was iscsicli qlogintarget
shortcut3d is offline  
post #190 of 578 Old 07-02-2013, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post


I was able to resolve the iSCSI Favorite Target issue not reconnecting. I found the resolution on Technet.

 

I have been using a iSCSI disk for recordings (WMC) with Windows 8.1 Pro Preview without any issue. Reboots, awake from sleep... whatnot.

Charles R is offline  
post #191 of 578 Old 07-02-2013, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The problem appears to be related to the availability/state of Ethernet adapter drivers when iSCSI Initiator loads. If the system boots too quickly the iSCSI initiator will attempt to connect before the connection is established. For my system, powering on from complete power off reconnects fine, but a restart would not reconnect to the iSCSI Target.

Maybe this was fixed in Windows 8.1 Professional.

Did you bind the iSCSI target and setup service dependencies?
shortcut3d is offline  
post #192 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 07:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post

Did you bind the iSCSI target and setup service dependencies?

 

I didn't do anything. smile.gif Using Windows 8's iSCSI Initiator Properties (app) I entered my target (MediaServer) and it auto connected. After that I pretty much clicked through the various panes. Under Volumes and Devices I may have clicked on Auto Configure... can't remember. I haven't stress tested the connection... hopefully it can handle four recordings and playback.

Charles R is offline  
post #193 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 08:47 AM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

I didn't do anything. smile.gif
 Using Windows 8's iSCSI Initiator Properties (app) I entered my target (MediaServer) and it auto connected. After that I pretty much clicked through the various panes. Under Volumes and Devices I may have clicked on Auto Configure... can't remember. I haven't stress tested the connection... hopefully it can handle four recordings and playback.

Clicking Auto Configure binds the iSCSI Target to the Volume and Drive Letter.

With the NUC, I haven't recorded more than 3 shows and watched 1 on an Extender in real world usage. However, I briefly tested the i5 NUC with two extenders and six recordings with my Synology DS411slim (pictured above). My 2011 Mac mini & NAS had no problem handling this load for the last couple of months. The reconnecting issue was the only problem with iSCSI.

So far the i5 NUC has been great after I worked out a CableCARD issue that manifested itself during the upgrade. Since the NUC requires a network tuner and external recording storage (NAS), I found the best network settings were to disable Priority & VLAN, increase the RSS Queues to 2, manually set the negotiated speed to gigabit, and disable all energy efficient options except wake for ARP/Ping request. Also, in Control Panel > Power Options leave the Link State Power Management on Moderate or Off. I got what can be described as slow motion playback every so often when it was set to Maximum.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #194 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by shortcut3d View Post

So far the i5 NUC has been great after I worked out a CableCARD issue that manifested itself during the upgrade.

 

I really wanted to build a NUC but I couldn't talk myself into it and ended up throwing together another Shuttle. Details are here...

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1422535/windows-media-center-vs-tivo-premiere/540#post_23473191

 

Cost wise a little less than the NUC (i3) and it's some what more expandable down the road. My current HTPC is an i3 and after a year it's overkill for what I use it for... 95% WMC and 4% XBMC.

Charles R is offline  
post #195 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 12:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

Quote: Originally Posted by shortcut3d So far the i5 NUC has been great after I worked out a CableCARD issue that manifested itself during the upgrade. I really wanted to build a NUC but I couldn't talk myself into it and ended up throwing together another Shuttle. Details are here... http://www.avsforum.com/t/1422535/windows-media-center-vs-tivo-premiere/540#post_23473191 Cost wise a little less than the NUC (i3) and it's some what more expandable down the road. My current HTPC is an i3 and after a year it's overkill for what I use it for... 95% WMC and 4% XBMC.

I really like the Shuttle systems. Have had several, but my favourite was an Ion based passively cooled one that I ran XBMC on. I eventually replaced it by the i3 NUC which is very nice, expensive and unfortunately not silent. I have the NUC to a point where where it is almost silent but it's just not like my previous Shuttle (the NUC is much faster though). Does your Shuttle have a fan?

There is now the i5 NUC which I suspect is going to be fairly loud. Even my latest Mac Mini has now become too loud for me ( it's an i7).

All these silent cases for the NUC seem to be from Europe and only a few ship over here ( from the UK).

Now, if only Shuttle were to come out with a passive i3 based unit.

Where are the Haswell based PC's with no fans. I just don't understand how anyone can watch TV with those darned tiny fans ruining shows.

To be fair to Intel, their support has been great with the NUC and they have produced as silent a fan based small computer as possible.

Philip
pmcd is offline  
post #196 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 01:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 9,821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmcd View Post


Does your Shuttle have a fan?

 

Yes, right below the CPU exhaust pipes (I believe two). That is one of the reasons I didn't go with the NUC... reading it wasn't silent. I can't hear the shuttle at all from a couple of feet away. Much quieter than TiVo and what sound it does have is a very low hum... nothing high pitched. I had an old Mac Mini that was silent with OS X and the moment I installed Windows 8 I could hear it... especially if I put it to work at all. Quite a while ago I tried one of the Lenovo Q small form factors and it was so noisy (high pitched at that) I punted.

Charles R is offline  
post #197 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248

My i3 NUC is silent for movie watching, I can BARELY hear the fan when I put my ear right next to the case. If the fan is running at 100% then yes, it outputs a high pitched fan noise but I never run the cpu at 100%.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #198 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
I have 2 i3 NUCs and one is perfectly silent all the time and the other one has just a little bit of noise (like a HDD spinning). I went in and adjusted mine to have the fans come on at 40c and increased the duty cycle... I think that is why I hear the noise on the one (it is being taxed more). I am very happy with them and they are way quieter than my HTPC was by far!

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #199 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 05:20 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
The i5 NUC is as quiet ad my 2011 Mac mini with only SSD. They can not be heard. The noisy component in my setup is the NAS, but what can I do about 4 7200RPM drives. Fortunately, they are 2.5" so the noise is not that bad and definitely can't be heard at viewing distance.

FWIW, the TDP of the i3 and i5 is the same.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #200 of 578 Old 07-03-2013, 08:53 PM
Member
 
Roberyu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have a 2011 Mac Mini as well as the i3 NUC. In my case, the mini is a bit quieter than my i3 NUC at similar tasks. My NUC fan can be heard where I cannot hear my mini at all. If I ad more load to the mini, the fan will come up as well, that just seems to happen sooner on my NUC. Iv'e swapped them in the same duties for testing, but now the mini serves all of my TV/DVR stuff via WMC and 4 XBOX/Ceton extenders, and the NUC is my XBMC player streaming 1080p MKVs from a NAS in another room. They both stay pretty quiet in those roles as long as I don't get the NUC fans up using too fancy of a XBMC skin.
Roberyu is offline  
post #201 of 578 Old 07-06-2013, 03:35 PM
Member
 
Popeeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everyone pretty happy overall with the i5 version?
Popeeta is offline  
post #202 of 578 Old 07-06-2013, 07:36 PM
Senior Member
 
shortcut3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popeeta View Post

Everyone pretty happy overall with the i5 version?

I'm happy with my i5 NUC. Still have the same issues as the Mac mini in bootcamp, which more or less confirms its Ceton Echo related.
shortcut3d is offline  
post #203 of 578 Old 07-07-2013, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Sent from my SGH-T879 using Tapatalk 2

What should my CPU temp be on my i3? It is 132c with the case being 40c

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #204 of 578 Old 07-07-2013, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Mrkazador is offline  
post #205 of 578 Old 07-07-2013, 07:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

132c...I think you mean 32c?

Sorry I had them backwards... But it still seems way too high for the MB.
Here is a screen shot.


Is this normal? I don't understand why the MB would be so much hotter than the CPU.

I was doubting the Bios readings so I tried another software....

Open Hardware Monitor Report


Version: 0.5.1.0


Common Language Runtime: 4.0.30319.296
Operating System: Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1
Process Type: 32-Bit


Sensors

|
+- Intel D33217GKE (/mainboard)
| |
| +- Nuvoton NCT6776F (/lpc/nct6776f)
| | +- CPU VCore : 0.816 0.792 0.816 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/0)
| | +- Voltage #2 : 1.488 1.488 1.488 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/1)
| | +- AVCC : 3.328 3.328 3.328 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/2)
| | +- 3VCC : 3.328 3.312 3.328 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/3)
| | +- Voltage #5 : 1.048 1.048 1.048 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/4)
| | +- Voltage #7 : 1.008 1.008 1.016 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/6)
| | +- 3VSB : 3.296 3.296 3.312 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/7)
| | +- VBAT : 3.248 3.248 3.264 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/8)
| | +- CPU Core : 45 45 49 (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/0)
| | +- Temperature #1 : 123.5 123.5 123.5 (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/1)
| | +- Temperature #2 : 25.5 25.5 25.5 (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/2)
| | +- Temperature #3 : 62 62 62 (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/3)
| | +- Fan #2 : 4909 4909 6221 (/lpc/nct6776f/fan/1)
|
+- Intel Core i3-3217U (/intelcpu/0)
| +- Bus Speed : 99.875 99.8749 99.8801 (/intelcpu/0/clock/0)
| +- CPU Core #1 : 799 798.999 1797.84 (/intelcpu/0/clock/1)
| +- CPU Core #2 : 799 798.999 1797.84 (/intelcpu/0/clock/2)
| +- CPU Core #1 : 44 43 48 (/intelcpu/0/temperature/0)
| +- CPU Core #2 : 46 44 49 (/intelcpu/0/temperature/1)
| +- CPU Package : 46 44 49 (/intelcpu/0/temperature/2)
| +- CPU Total : 1.53846 0.769231 37.4249 (/intelcpu/0/load/0)
| +- CPU Core #1 : 3.07692 0 40.873 (/intelcpu/0/load/1)
| +- CPU Core #2 : 0 0 50 (/intelcpu/0/load/2)
| +- CPU Package : 3.0149 2.94627 6.16341 (/intelcpu/0/power/0)
| +- CPU Cores : 0.936842 0.886599 3.99898 (/intelcpu/0/power/1)
| +- CPU Graphics : 0.00371667 0.00130911 0.0890312 (/intelcpu/0/power/2)
|
+- Kingston 99U5417-021.A00LF (/ram)
| +- Memory : 46.9826 46.9826 47.7551 (/ram/load/0)
| +- Used Memory : 1.57402 1.57402 1.5999 (/ram/data/0)
| +- Available Memory : 1.7762 1.75032 1.7762 (/ram/data/1)
|
+- M4-CT064M4SSD3 (/hdd/0)
| +- Used Space : 48.2972 48.2972 48.2973 (/hdd/0/load/0)
| +- Remaining Life : 100 100 100 (/hdd/0/level/0)


Parameters

|
+- Intel D33217GKE (/mainboard)
| |
| +- Nuvoton NCT6776F (/lpc/nct6776f)
| | |
| | +- CPU VCore (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/0)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 0 : 0
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 1 : 1
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- Voltage #2 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/1)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 0 : 0
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 1 : 1
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- AVCC (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/2)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- 3VCC (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/3)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- Voltage #5 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/4)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 0 : 0
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 1 : 1
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- Voltage #7 (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/6)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 0 : 0
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 1 : 1
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- 3VSB (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/7)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- VBAT (/lpc/nct6776f/voltage/8)
| | | +- Ri [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Rf [kΩ] : 34 : 34
| | | +- Vf [V] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- CPU Core (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/0)
| | | +- Offset [°C] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- Temperature #1 (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/1)
| | | +- Offset [°C] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- Temperature #2 (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/2)
| | | +- Offset [°C] : 0 : 0
| | |
| | +- Temperature #3 (/lpc/nct6776f/temperature/3)
| | | +- Offset [°C] : 0 : 0
|
+- Intel Core i3-3217U (/intelcpu/0)
| |
| +- CPU Core #1 (/intelcpu/0/temperature/0)
| | +- TjMax [°C] : 105 : 105
| | +- TSlope [°C] : 1 : 1
| |
| +- CPU Core #2 (/intelcpu/0/temperature/1)
| | +- TjMax [°C] : 105 : 105
| | +- TSlope [°C] : 1 : 1
| |
| +- CPU Package (/intelcpu/0/temperature/2)
| | +- TjMax [°C] : 105 : 105
| | +- TSlope [°C] : 1 : 1
|
+- Kingston 99U5417-021.A00LF (/ram)
|
+- M4-CT064M4SSD3 (/hdd/0)

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #206 of 578 Old 07-09-2013, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
josh9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Popeeta View Post

Everyone pretty happy overall with the i5 version?

Yes, very happy! Only issue with it is that it's a little pricey.
josh9000 is offline  
post #207 of 578 Old 07-09-2013, 01:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
I contacted Intel and apparently there is a problem with some SSDs that are heating up too much. The solution is to increase the time the fans stay on. If that doesn't work then they will send out a thermal insulator pad for the SSD card. Once I get mine I will post pack as to how well it solves the problem.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
post #208 of 578 Old 07-09-2013, 01:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,873
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by josh9000 View Post

Yes, very happy! Only issue with it is that it's a little pricey.

Yeah, a lot of write-ups are saying that Intel is screwing the pooch here now that AMD has their own NUC-like offerings from Gigabyte and others for much less money with more muscle inside the case. I use Linux, so getting an Intel NUC/NUC knock-off is sensible because AMD doesn't have their stuff together when it comes to Linux, but for a Windows user, AMD's offerings are a no-brainer because they cost as much with a copy of Windows as the Intel NUC does by itself, and have comparably acceptable performance with better graphics.
LexInVA is offline  
post #209 of 578 Old 07-09-2013, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
emcdade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by ellisr63 View Post

I contacted Intel and apparently there is a problem with some SSDs that are heating up too much. The solution is to increase the time the fans stay on. If that doesn't work then they will send out a thermal insulator pad for the SSD card. Once I get mine I will post pack as to how well it solves the problem.

Wow, never seen a MB temp that high. There has to be something wrong with the sensor I would hope. Otherwise I doubt your MB could really even function at that temp.
emcdade is offline  
post #210 of 578 Old 07-09-2013, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ellisr63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: In the Home Theater
Posts: 1,952
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by emcdade View Post

Wow, never seen a MB temp that high. There has to be something wrong with the sensor I would hope. Otherwise I doubt your MB could really even function at that temp.

I don't recall it being that hot before I did the bios update and both units are virtually cold to the touch of the case top. My Denon 4520ci runs considerably hotter to the hand touch than either of the NUCs and it is not running hot at all. If the thermal pad doesn't solve the problem then I would think it would be either the sensors are bad or the bios update is the problem. I did the bios update only because I couldn't get into the bios to adjust the fan speed.

Denon 4520ci, 3 JBL 2360As/EV DHA-1s, 3 1/4 Pie bass bins, MiniDSP 2x4s, 4 Klipsch HIPs, 2 Klipsch KP3002s, PS3, XBox 360, 3 Intel NUCs, Monoprice Redmere, Monster HTPS7000, 2 SUPER SPUD subs, Panasonic AE8000u, and a Yamaha P7000s.
ellisr63 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off