AMD FX or A series ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2013, 03:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 51
What's the difference between AMD FX or APU?

If FX uses integrated graphics and A series has built in APU graphics, what's the difference between these?
Mike99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2013, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I believe the FX series doesn't have integrated graphics but would rely on whatever graphics may be included on a mobo.

The APU has it built into the CPU like most newer Intel chips.
FantaXP7 is online now  
Old 03-02-2013, 10:21 AM
Member
 
DDK65JAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't know for sure, but the last integrated graphics on any of my AMD boards was HD4290 graphics
on an SB850 chip, not bad & does the job for me.
If memory serves, FM1 compatible A processors have 6xxx series graphics and FM2 compatible A
processors have 7xxx series graphics. Either being far more powerfull than the integrated(onboard)
graphics.


DDK
DDK65JAG is offline  
Old 03-02-2013, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I think you are correct that the FX does not have integrated graphics.

I don't know where I got that idea. Maybe because some or all of the Athlons & Phenoms do. My desktop with a quad core Athlon has integrated HD4200 graphics so I presumed anything newer and/or more powerful did.

What is the difference between an Athlon with integrated graphics and an A-series CPU?
Mike99 is offline  
Old 03-02-2013, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

I think you are correct that the FX does not have integrated graphics.

I don't know where I got that idea. Maybe because some or all of the Athlons & Phenoms do. My desktop with a quad core Athlon has integrated HD4200 graphics so I presumed anything newer and/or more powerful did.

What is the difference between an Athlon with integrated graphics and an A-series CPU?

If it's an AM2/2+/3/3+ then the GPU is on the motherboard's northbridge (e.g. Athlon, Phenom, FX)

If it's an FM1/FM2 then the GPU is part of the CPU (e.g. A4/A6/A8)

Your quad-core Athlon does not have an integrated GPU. The HD4200 GPU is part of the motherboard's northbridge chipset.

 

 

StardogChampion is online now  
Old 03-02-2013, 04:02 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike99 View Post

What is the difference between an Athlon with integrated graphics and an A-series CPU?

HD 4200: UVD2, 40 Radeon cores
Llano: UVD3 (Divx, MVC), 160/320/400 Radeon cores
Trinity: UVD3, WLIW4 architecture, 128/192/256/384 Radeon cores
renethx is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off