PC Mode on Display Necessary? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-06-2013, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cpercival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I fairly recently completed building my HTPC and have everything working pretty well, but wanted to fine tune the picture on my display only to find that most of the adjustments are missing.

My display is a Pioneer PDP-5080HD 1366 x 768. Its manual states as a caution point that you need to "Make sure to select “PC” when a PC is connected to the HDMI input terminal." However, doing so eliminates the option of adjusting the picture to the same degree that you'd be able to with a non-PC source. The only adjustments I'm able to make are the standard brightness, contrast, color adjustments. Things like color temp, noise reduction, black level, Pure Cinema, and more of the advanced adjustments are not available.

Because I'm too curious for my own good, I decided to see if I would still get a picture if I set the HDMI input to Video instead of PC and it seemed to work. I didn't linger long because I didn't know what might happen, but my question is why does the manual state that the display must be set to PC? Would it be bad for the display? Can I make those adjustments on the PC if they're available and still get the same results as if I had made them on the display itself?

ASRock Z77 Extreme4-M motherboard; Intel i3-3225, 3.30 GHz, HD Graphics 4000 processor, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit; Ceton InfiniTV 4 PCI; Pioneer PDP-5080HD 1366 x 768 Plasma Display; Marantz SR7000 Non-HD Receiver; Logitech Harmony One; Eden 11.0; Aeon Mq3
cpercival is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-06-2013, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
You should not be selecting PC mode on your TV when using an HTPC.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-06-2013, 06:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cpercival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea what the reasoning behind Pioneer's caution point might be?

ASRock Z77 Extreme4-M motherboard; Intel i3-3225, 3.30 GHz, HD Graphics 4000 processor, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit; Ceton InfiniTV 4 PCI; Pioneer PDP-5080HD 1366 x 768 Plasma Display; Marantz SR7000 Non-HD Receiver; Logitech Harmony One; Eden 11.0; Aeon Mq3
cpercival is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-06-2013, 06:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
If memory serves right, Pioneer suggested using PC Mode so that using it as a monitor will render the best standard desktop/text display.

For what it's worth, having access to the color temp is important, but I never enable any noise reduction or other processing on any of my displays. Same for the PC, anything that adds additional processing is turned off - no dynamic contrast, no color correction, etc.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-06-2013, 07:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cpercival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, I generally try to to avoid those too.
You raised another question though. I should go into my display properties on the PC and ensure that any/all processing there is disabled if I'm going to ask the display to do it all, right?

ASRock Z77 Extreme4-M motherboard; Intel i3-3225, 3.30 GHz, HD Graphics 4000 processor, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit; Ceton InfiniTV 4 PCI; Pioneer PDP-5080HD 1366 x 768 Plasma Display; Marantz SR7000 Non-HD Receiver; Logitech Harmony One; Eden 11.0; Aeon Mq3
cpercival is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-06-2013, 07:34 AM
Member
 
SlantNGo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

You should not be selecting PC mode on your TV when using an HTPC.

Why? Assuming that the HTPC does more than just play back media, turning on PC mode to get 4:4:4 chroma subsampling for crisper text seems like a no-brainer, again if it's used to surf the web or do something besides just play media.
SlantNGo is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-06-2013, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
cpercival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's only being used to play back media so text clarity is less important to me. I'll play around with it tonight to see how much of a difference it makes when browsing the Web. I can't imagine it would be bad enough to justify losing the ability to make any advanced picture adjustments, but I'll report back with results.

Question still stands - should I turn off all pc video processing if I'm going to use the display to do it?

ASRock Z77 Extreme4-M motherboard; Intel i3-3225, 3.30 GHz, HD Graphics 4000 processor, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit; Ceton InfiniTV 4 PCI; Pioneer PDP-5080HD 1366 x 768 Plasma Display; Marantz SR7000 Non-HD Receiver; Logitech Harmony One; Eden 11.0; Aeon Mq3
cpercival is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off