AMD Richland (codename “Annapurna”) APU Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 142 Old 05-20-2013, 09:38 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
So you do not know if it will work as a good HTPC APU either. That's fine.
cybrsage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 142 Old 05-20-2013, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 136
To be honest, since everyone's list of "all the bells and whistles" varies, no, I guess I don't know that for any CPU/APU. Again though, if the A4-5300 has all the features to cover your list of bells and whistles then the A4-4000 should be slight worse for it. That might still be enough though -- it depends on what exactly you want to do with your HTPC.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #93 of 142 Old 05-20-2013, 12:19 PM
Member
 
Veeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
I think the AMD driver issues aren't really debatable as even Reviewers mention them in many of the recent reviews for use in HTPC. With that being said they are a TON better than they used to be and I hope this is actually a thing of the past.

Hey I think I've been saying this about ATI AMD since at least 2001 or so. biggrin.gifbiggrin.gif
Veeper is offline  
post #94 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 01:22 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 387
HKEPC's preview on A10-6800K (May 29), in particular comparison with A10-5800K: Fire Strike is DX11, Cloud Gate is DX10.



Basically GPU performance increase is only 3-4%. Depending on the price, A10-5800K may be a better buy.
renethx is offline  
post #95 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 02:02 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
And not much improvement power wise it seems although I'd be more interested in seeing what the A6's and A8's look like.

I'm still waiting for Anand to get their hands on these Richland's and do their HTPC perspective review with the power readings for media stuff.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #96 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 05:49 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
EDIT: If the leaks are correct, the new APUs get released today!
cybrsage is offline  
post #97 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 06:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Release date is June 5th, 0:00AM EDT. Products will be available immediately at retail stores.
renethx is offline  
post #98 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 06:29 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
In Germany they are already listed and I could actually make an order right now and they're in stock.
http://geizhals.de/?cat=cpuamdfm2&sort=p&xf=596_Richland#xf_top
http://www.mindfactory.de/Hardware/Prozessoren+(CPU)/AMD+Desktop/Sockel+FM2.html/13/19735

A10-6800K is 139,90€ vs A10-5800K is ~107€
A8-6600K 104,90€ vs A8-5600K is ~82€

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #99 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 136
There are 6 Richland APUs available at Newegg.com today.

What's strange though is how little news coverage and I can't find a review yet there's many for Haswell. I was hoping to find a HTPC perspective review like the one Anandtech did for Haswell but no luck. I can't find any reviews at all.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #100 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jeffkro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by StardogChampion View Post

There are 6 Richland APUs available at Newegg.com today.

What's strange though is how little news coverage and I can't find a review yet there's many for Haswell. I was hoping to find a HTPC perspective review like the one Anandtech did for Haswell but no luck. I can't find any reviews at all.

Since Intel fixed its 23.xxx there really is no reason to choose an AMD setup over haswell at least after the cheaper core i3's come out.
jeffkro is offline  
post #101 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Since Intel fixed its 23.xxx there really is no reason to choose an AMD setup over haswell at least after the cheaper core i3's come out.

People will find a reason. I probably make 1 AMD system for every 10 Intel systems. Usually those buying AMD have some kind of light gaming they want to do (Minecraft builds for the kids usuall) but want a mini-ITX system w/o a dedicated GPU. I delivered an A8-5500 system for that very thing last week. The only gaming interest in Intel buyers are those looking at emulators and going for the i3-3225. HTPC and business/desktop users always go Ivy Bridge when they realize they can go a little smaller on case size and PSU size.

An i3-3245 is coming soon.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #102 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 08:56 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I just purchased the A10-6700 from Newegg. I was on the fence between it and the A8-6500, but the A10-6700 was only $30 more and that is inconsequential to me. I did not want to go to the A10-6800K because it is a 100W part and I will not be overclocking...as well as they both have the same GPU portion. I already have everything else, so once this gets in I can upgrade. First mobo and CPU change in years for my HTPC.
cybrsage is offline  
post #103 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 09:19 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nice cybrsage! Would be interested in seeing some power measurements from your setup when you have it upgraded and all set up. That is of course if you have a power meter.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #104 of 142 Old 06-04-2013, 11:03 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I don't, but I am checking with friends...I am sure one of them has one I can borrow.
cybrsage is offline  
post #105 of 142 Old 06-05-2013, 11:16 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
My chip just arrived - have to love Newegg. I live very close to a regional UPS hub, so UPS shipments to me from New Jersey arrive next day - even when they are sent 3 day mail. smile.gif
cybrsage is offline  
post #106 of 142 Old 06-05-2013, 06:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
macks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffkro View Post

Since Intel fixed its 23.xxx there really is no reason to choose an AMD setup over haswell at least after the cheaper core i3's come out.

I think you lost your way and ended up in the wrong thread.

The a10-6800k is overpriced.
macks is offline  
post #107 of 142 Old 06-05-2013, 06:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,044
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 136
AMD A10-6800K et A10-6700 : Richland débarque sur FM2

Looks like the A10-6700 uses a few more watts than A10-5700. Probably no surprise since everything is a few 100Mhz higher (CPU+GPU)

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #108 of 142 Old 06-05-2013, 10:15 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I installed my new motherboard and APU. I ran into a problem because I stupidly forgot to do a complete ATI uninstall first. I could not figure out why the CCC told me I did not have a video card installed and why Windows 7 itself told me I had a basic 640 x 480 VGA card. Then I noticed the ATI Uninstall tool on my desktop, ran it, rebooted, installed the newest CATs and presto, I have 1080. I had to rerun the WMC Digital Cable Advisor and reset the DRM on the box since I replaced the mobo, CPU, memory, etc. Once done, everything is running smoothly.

This is the cleanest looking install I have ever done. With NO add on cards at all, there are no cables draped across the mobo. I routed all the other cables around the board and it just looks very nice. I notice a difference in heat coming form the PC already - and that is just in idle mode. I just finished testing a BluRay and the heat difference between this setup and the previous one (Core2Duo e7200 with a Radeon 6570 video card) is night and day. MUCH less heat with the new setup.

My friend with the Kill-A-Watt meter was not at work today, so I did not get it to do testing. Not sure when I will be able to test the power draw.




Overclockersclub did a review on the A10 APUs, here is their conclusion:
Quote:
AMD A10-6800K & A10-6700 Richland APU Conclusion:

When I first got my hands on AMD's Second Generation Trinity APU, I was was mightily impressed at what it was able to accomplish. By placing a CPU and a very usable GPU, it made the lower end discrete graphics cards obsolete.

The Third Generation of Fusion has continued that trend while going back to an AMD tradition of going in the same socket as its predecessor, and a great socket it is. Placing a $140 A10-6800K in a $120 A85X motherboard affords you the most versatile and powerful computing platform for the dollar again this year. The A-Series platform can be an entertainment hub, a multitasking workstation, and provide a competent gaming center as well. The A85X FCH is equally impressive with about every option and upgradeable capability you could want. For a meager $50-$80 you can make use of AMD Dual Graphics and take advantage of the ability to run three monitors directly from the motherboard or an add-in discrete card.

While the Richland APUs still use the Piledriver cores, it appears that the increase in the CPU half of the die is the result of more than just the increase in frequency and that work on the IPC has been done as well. Or at least the workload switching and resource communication is improved. The CPU capabilities of the A10-6800K are now in league with the Intel i3-3220 and i5-3470, depending on the testing.

When I say "the CPU half" that is not far off, as the portion dedicated to the GPU is now a full 42% of the die, and the improvements from the last generation have been made on a die that is exactly the same size. Also new to the Richland A-Series are max turbo frequencies up to 4.4GHz and HD 8000 series GPU cores of the VLIW4 architecture. While still possessing the same 384 shader cores as the previous generation, it seems to out perform them by some 20%.

When I reviewed the Trinity series I made a comment about how amazing it was to see the CPU and GPU ability to read the workload at hand and throttle them back and forth as was needed. The Richland generation has added a new set of what AMD is calling "bottleneck algorithms" that ostensibly can read the workloads need for either resource and perform faster switching to the appropriate resource even faster.

Overclocking capability seems to be on par with the last generation. I am convinced that had I a bit more time I could have gotten a bit more out of them, however the GPU side of things was as easily overclockable as ever. Reaching an easy 1.1GHz on either chip, it easily bumped the graphics capability up at least to the next discrete level for an easy 20% more performance.

Adding more performance over the previous generation is the native support for 2133MHz memory. In my own tests I found that you can expect a 10-15% increase in overall performance with the use of 2133MHz ram over 1600MHz memory. With the introduction of Haswell, Intel has got a bit closer in the IGP department this week going up against the Trinity. AMD, it seems, has just moved the bar higher again.

AMD has said from the inception that the idea behind the APU was to be "more than the sum of its parts." While that can be used as a meme for the lowering of expectations, AMD has has once again demonstrated that the "more than the sum of its parts" translates to just that. Power, versatility, and value in a single package.
http://www.overclockersclub.com/reviews/amd_a106800k_a106700_richland_apu/12.htm
cybrsage is offline  
post #109 of 142 Old 06-06-2013, 02:50 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Some power readings of A10-6800K and A10-6700, including 1080p H.264
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/a10-6700-a10-6800k-richland-review,3528-11.html
Kinda meh. Didn't tell what software they used and whether they used GPU acc but nearly 20w difference to the 3220.
Now come on Anandtech, waiting on your review haha. But I guess hes still in Computex

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #110 of 142 Old 06-07-2013, 10:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,459
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I just realized these are are still VLIW - I'll wait for the next round (-7x00?) parts.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #111 of 142 Old 06-08-2013, 12:38 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 387
Kaveri FM2+ APU has 6-12 CUs (CU=Compute Unit in GCN=Graphics Core Next). 1 CU has 64 stream processors. Compare:

- HD 7750: 8 CUs
- HD 7770: 10 CUs
- HD 7790: 14 CUs

So Kaveri is equivalent to HD 77xx, except for memory. Kaveri FM2+ still uses DDR3 SDRAM. Maybe there is on-die GDDR5 memory, but no confirmation yet. Socket FM2+ with A78 / A88X chipset (codename: Bolton-D3/D4) is backward compatible with FM2 (i.e. supports not only Kaveri but Richland / Trinity). But a FM2 mb won't support Kaveri. If you want to upgrade to Kaveri, wait for a Socket FM2+ mb.

ASUS A88XM-PRO Socket FM2+ motherboard (note the black socket, this reminds us of AM3+ vs AM3), that will be available soon (according to ASUS).



Kaveri may be available by the end of this year. Richland is a stopgap.

renethx is offline  
post #112 of 142 Old 06-08-2013, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Even Llano was somewhat bottlenecked by ddr3. The limitation will get progressively worse through to Kaveri. DDR5 should give a sizable performance increase which would be improved on if they could give the APU a 256 bit memory interface.
Ruiner is offline  
post #113 of 142 Old 06-08-2013, 06:48 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
That's quite true. It would be quite awesome if AMD would introduce Kaveri with some amount of on chip GDDR5.

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #114 of 142 Old 06-08-2013, 08:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
A significant amount of on-die sounds very expensive. On-board may be more likely, and sounds like what the next gen gaming consoles will carry. IIRC, they will have shared system/graphics DDR5.
I wonder if soldered (or slotted, dedicated) GDDR5 plus regular slotted system ddr3 would be more cost effective.

If they can/would build a 256 bit or higher APU with enough GDDR5 it would challenge at least their mid range dGPUs. I don't know if AMD would risk that.
Ruiner is offline  
post #115 of 142 Old 06-08-2013, 09:14 AM
Member
 
lagittaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I don't really think it's quite that expensive. On-die of course would be but on chip.
Old ish picture that I came across.
http://www.abload.de/img/gpuq3280ufv.png
512M on chip would be quite nice. Or why not 1024..

lagittaja@Overclock.net | Lagittaja@MuroBBS | Also Anandtech AVForums DIYAudio Head-Fi XDA-Developers e-Savuke ECF VFF VaporWall VapePit & etceteros
Main rig
lagittaja is offline  
post #116 of 142 Old 06-14-2013, 06:01 PM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I am running the Green Power Unit feature of my Biostar motherboard with an A10-6700 APU. I have the Green Power set to Performance, but it scales it down when not needed...the performance means it ramps up power needs very quickly. Anyway, it also records the wattage used by my CPU. Over the last 37 hours I have averaged 24 watts/hr. Not shabby.

EDIT: Right now it is saying I am using 0.684 watts while idling; it down-volts automatically and the CPU is only using 0.816V
cybrsage is offline  
post #117 of 142 Old 06-24-2013, 02:39 AM
Member
 
uuddlrlrbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
are there any other boards that scale down the power? is this a standard feature?
uuddlrlrbass is offline  
post #118 of 142 Old 06-24-2013, 05:52 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 148
I believe it is part of what AMD used to call Cool and Quiet. Older motherboards used to have the ability to enable it, but this one does not. I am sure most manufacturers have their own version of a power saving tool.
cybrsage is offline  
post #119 of 142 Old 06-25-2013, 09:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Aluminum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

So Kaveri is equivalent to HD 77xx, except for memory. Kaveri FM2+ still uses DDR3 SDRAM. Maybe there is on-die GDDR5 memory, but no confirmation yet. Socket FM2+ with A78 / A88X chipset (codename: Bolton-D3/D4) is backward compatible with FM2 (i.e. supports not only Kaveri but Richland / Trinity). But a FM2 mb won't support Kaveri. If you want to upgrade to Kaveri, wait for a Socket FM2+ mb.

ASUS A88XM-PRO Socket FM2+ motherboard (note the black socket, this reminds us of AM3+ vs AM3), that will be available soon (according to ASUS).

Does asus even make ITX amd boards anymore, what gives?

The asrocks don't work with any nice heatsinks and the msi ones are rather barren... really kills a lot of amd htpc build ideas.

The last board they made was the FM1A75-i deluxe, it was really nice but it seemed to get discontinued within a few months. Nothing for FM2, will they do anything for FM2+ or will asrock finally stop putting chips in the keep-out zones?

I like the board you posted but one of the biggest selling points of a good apu is consolidation. If the board is properly loaded up with chipsets, all it needs is one good pci-e slot for a tuner or whatever.

Nearly dead silent HTPC ver 2.0: i3-4340 w/ Noctua NH-L9i on Z87E-itx inside CM130 elite, fanless PSU, SSD OS drive
SAN shares via 40GbE tunneled over 56Gb infiniband links
microcenter & ebay = severe risks to my wallet
Aluminum is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off