HELP! Not getting any HD audio with my HTPC - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 03-08-2013, 04:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
EyesOnly2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So heres the deal... I just got a blu-ray drive for my HTPC, but I can't get ANY HD audio to out to my receiver. Here is what I'm using for hardware.

MOBO: Asrock Z77 Extreme 4
GPU: EVGA GTX 660 SuperClocked
CPU: Intel Core i5 3330
RAM: 8GB
BD: Pioneer BDC-207BDK
OS: Windows 8 Pro
Software: Total Media Theatre 5 (installed as trial) & MakeMKV

Audio Receiver: Onkyo HT-R280 (from Walmart)

Here is what i've tried.

HDMI from GPU to Receiver with nvidia HD audio drivers
HDMI from MOBO to Receiver with Realtek drivers
HD audio enabled in BIOS
HD audio disabled ind BIOS
Tried switching HDMI cables out
Tried changing HDMI ports on my receiver
Tired uninstalling and reinstalling all drivers
HD-Audio plays fine from same HMDI port using my PS3

No matter what I do, I can't get ANY of the HD audio formats to show up as available in the sound settings. All it gives me is DTS, Dolby Digital and Dolby Digital Plus. When I play a blu-ray using TMT 5 (checked settings, and choose the HD audio stream) it outputs DTS-HD Master Audio as just regular DTS and Dolby-HD as PCM (weird.. right?)

I'm attaching screen shots of what my audio properties look like. I hope some can help me figure this out... it's driving me crazy!


EyesOnly2k is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-08-2013, 04:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 241
That's a HTIB,

Most of them cannot accept and decode bitstreamed HD Audio. Are you 100% sure it can accept a bitstream HD Audio stream?
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-08-2013, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
EyesOnly2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not 100% sure. I can't find any confirmation on it, but that seems like very likely explanation. Let's say that is whats happening, besides investing in a new receiver, is there any other way to make it work? Thanks!
EyesOnly2k is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 03-08-2013, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EyesOnly2k View Post

I'm not 100% sure. I can't find any confirmation on it, but that seems like very likely explanation. Let's say that is whats happening, besides investing in a new receiver, is there any other way to make it work? Thanks!

No, you won't get HD audio without a receiver capable of decoding it. You'll just have to enjoy the audio you have currently unless you upgrade your receiver.
kegobeer is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-08-2013, 05:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
EyesOnly2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's kinda what I figured. Thanks for confirming for me!
EyesOnly2k is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-10-2013, 05:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,563
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17

According to the manual on the O it does the HD formats... you mentioned having the latest driver for your video card but do the nVidia cards pass HD audio?

Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-10-2013, 07:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ikkuranus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
My gtx 570 don't do hd audio formats either use the intel hd graphics instead and that will solve your prob.

ikkuranus is online now  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-10-2013, 07:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 387
So nobody (except Andrew Hornfeck) reads the manual? From page 6:
Quote:
AV Receiver HT-R280

HDMI (Ver.1.4 with Audio Return Channel, 3D), Deep-Color, x.v.Color, Lip Sync, DTS-HD Master Audio, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio, Dolby TrueHD, Dolby Digital Plus, DSD and Multi-CH PCM

But I don't know why there is an EDID problem.
renethx is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-11-2013, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
vladd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 5,469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

But I don't know why there is an EDID problem.
It's a 5.1 system and is most likely missing the 8ch LPCM SAD. EDID override is most likely needed.
vladd is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off