Do I need the LAV codecs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-09-2013, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm following the assassin htpc guide and one of the first things e does is have you install the LAV splitter for codecs

If I'm just watching recorded TV on my htpc do I still want to do this?
GrantMeThePower is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-09-2013, 02:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Not needed if that's all you are doing.

Venture away from that and the answer is yes.
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-09-2013, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrantMeThePower View Post

I'm following the assassin htpc guide and one of the first things e does is have you install the LAV splitter for codecs

If I'm just watching recorded TV on my htpc do I still want to do this?

I use WMC for Recorded TV and XBMC for all other video. I don't install any codec packs.
sawfish is online now  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-09-2013, 03:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by sawfish View Post

I use WMC for Recorded TV and XBMC for all other video. I don't install any codec packs.

Correct. But if you want to use the wmc player and mkv you have to add something. No way around it.
assassin is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-09-2013, 05:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
sawfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 760
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Correct. But if you want to use the wmc player and mkv you have to add something. No way around it.

For sure.
sawfish is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off