MPC-HC Question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 03-10-2013, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
With my setup:

Win 7, WMC7 with media browser, shark codes, Intel G1610, Asrock B75-GL, SSD, and 4gb ram

Would i see any audio/visual benefit in using another player?

I have been reading about using MPC-HC, but I am not sure how to get DTS or DTS-HD to pass thru.

I play mainly .mkv thru an internal HDD.
slosvt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 03-10-2013, 01:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
If you get MPC-HC (lite) from the developer HERE, you do not need to make any changes to player settings what-so-ever. Whatever you have already setup for use in my codec Application(s) will be used by the player, including bitstreamed audio if that was part of your setup. When deciding which player to download from the linked page, EXE files = installer.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 03-10-2013, 03:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks for the suggestion!

I'm getting multi CH on the receiver, so the pc is processing the signal. How can I change this?
slosvt is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 03-10-2013, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
In the Settings Application...
press [Reset All]
select the [x] SUGGESTED settings checkbox
on the Audio TAB, select HDMI in the upper right (dont set anything else, the rest is automated)


I know you stated that you use mainly mkv files, but . . . just in case . . .
For MP4 files, you need to disable the Microsoft Audio decoder on the SWAP TAB
For AVI files, you need to disable the DMO codecs on the SWAP TAB
For M2TS files, you need to disable Media Foundation on the SWAP TAB

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 03-10-2013, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thank you, it is working correctly now.


Can anyone say if 7WMC, XBMC, MPC, Plex or any other engine would work best visually with my setup?

The HTPC is connected via DVI/HDMI to a Denon AVR 1713, then HDMI to a LG PK500 Plasma.

It does not seem suggested to use MPC-HC w/o an external video card. Thoughts?
slosvt is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shark007 View Post

In the Settings Application...
press [Reset All]
select the [x] SUGGESTED settings checkbox
on the Audio TAB, select HDMI in the upper right (dont set anything else, the rest is automated)


I know you stated that you use mainly mkv files, but . . . just in case . . .
For MP4 files, you need to disable the Microsoft Audio decoder on the SWAP TAB
For AVI files, you need to disable the DMO codecs on the SWAP TAB
For M2TS files, you need to disable Media Foundation on the SWAP TAB

One more question... Do your codecs pass DTS-HD?
slosvt is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post

The HTPC is connected via DVI/HDMI to a Denon AVR 1713, then HDMI to a LG PK500 Plasma.
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post

One more question... Do your codecs pass DTS-HD?

yes.... but,
To send DTS-HD to an AVR for decoding you need to use a HDMI cable directly from the PC to the AVR

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 05:31 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,949
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 314
DVI port -> a generic DVI-HDMI adapter -> HDMI cable supports HD audio bitstreaming (in this case, ASRock B75-GL).
renethx is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 06:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shark007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 1,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

DVI port -> a generic DVI-HDMI adapter -> HDMI cable supports HD audio bitstreaming (in this case, ASRock B75-GL).

Thanks for the hardware clarification renethx.

Use Shark007 Codecs and retain your sanity.
Shark007 is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Thanks again, sounds like Shark codecs and MPC-HC lite are the way to go for me! Ill keep 7MC and Media Browser to make the navigation portion "pretty".

Is there any advantage to me doing further customization (madVR) to MPC-HC without an external video card? It seems like an external video card and an i3+ CPU are suggested for most "advanced" setups.


I just want to make sure I am getting the best AQ/PQ possible with my HTPC setup. I calibrated my TV for a reason! smile.gif
slosvt is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I don't think you will get anything out of madVR with your old(er) dual core processor.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,949
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 314
G1610 is the latest IVB processor. smile.gif

madVR
Chroma upscaling: Bicubic 50
Image up/downscaling: DXVA2 (equivalent to Lanczos+AR / Catmul-Rom)

is the best choice.
renethx is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
And they are usable with the G1610 and without a discrete video card?
slosvt is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 08:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 15,949
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post

And they are usable with the G1610 and without a discrete video card?

Yes. That's the best choice for iGPU in G1610.
renethx is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 03-12-2013, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
I did not know this. See what happens when I assume.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 03-15-2013, 04:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

G1610 is the latest IVB processor. smile.gif

madVR
Chroma upscaling: Bicubic 50
Image up/downscaling: DXVA2 (equivalent to Lanczos+AR / Catmul-Rom)

is the best choice.


Thank you kind sir. Things are looking and sounding great. Now I need to validate my calibration to see how much the PS3 video output differs vs. the HTPC.
slosvt is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 03-15-2013, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

G1610 is the latest IVB processor. smile.gif

madVR
Chroma upscaling: Bicubic 50
Image up/downscaling: DXVA2 (equivalent to Lanczos+AR / Catmul-Rom)

is the best choice.

I have madVR installed. How do I access the Chroma upscaling and Image up/downscaling settings?

Start a video in MPC-HC.
Right Click.
Go to Filters.
Select madVR
Go to Edit Settings.
Go to Scaling Algorithms.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 05-26-2013, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ive started getting sever stutter using madVr. Any ideas?
slosvt is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 05-26-2013, 10:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vlad Theimpaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post

Ive started getting sever stutter using madVr. Any ideas?

I take this to mean that when you run madVR on a local machine and use it to play a remote file (stored on a 2nd machine, i.e. server) over a network, you experience stuttering during the playback.

If this is the case, then I'd do the following.

First, determine whether or not the problem is due to the network. To do this, create a copy a file that stutters when played over the network, and put it (the copy) on your local machine -- the one running madVR. If the playback still stutters when playing the file locally, then you have an issue with madVR. If the playback is stutter-free, then you have a network issue.

This is where I would start if it was me. What action to take next will depend on the outcome of the above suggestion. I hope this helps to begin resolving your issue.

Vlad Theimpaler is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 05-27-2013, 07:14 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My HTPC contains a 2tb HDD, so the file is local. frown.gif
slosvt is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 05-27-2013, 11:08 AM
Advanced Member
 
Vlad Theimpaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by slosvt View Post

My HTPC contains a 2tb HDD, so the file is local. frown.gif

Okay, I understand now... I thought in your other post you meant server stutter, but I now know you were actually saying severe stutter.

Since the issue is local, and it just started happening recently, the next question would be... do you do backups of your system with a backup utility -- like Norton Ghost or Acronis, or something similar? If so, try restoring your system to your last saved backup image/snapshot and see if the issue is resolved.

If you do not run a backup utility, you should probably start doing so, because they are invaluable tools for recovering from virtually every software-related issue, from minor headaches like your madVR problem, to major catastrophies like a virus infection.

Even without a backup utility to fall back on, however, you still have another alternative to try and restore your system. Try rolling back your system to an earlier working configuration with Windows Restore Points, which is available natively in Windows 7.

Please keep us posted, and good luck.

Vlad Theimpaler is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 06-15-2013, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
slosvt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Va Beach, VA
Posts: 470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I am not sure what the issue was, but It has been fixed with a clean install of WIndows 8 Pro. Back in business (with madVr)! biggrin.gif
Vlad Theimpaler likes this.
slosvt is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off