HTPC vs PS3 video playback quality - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mumflaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all, I hope I'm posting this in the right section.

I own both a ps3 and a HTPC. I use Xbmc for video playback on the htpc.

If playing the same HD video file, same format, same everything on both devices, would one give me better quality than the other? Some people say ps3 is better for video playback(ignoring Blu-rays) and some people say HTPC. Was wondering if there is a definitive answer?

Thanks
mumflaps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 126
They should look exactly the same, playing the same file. If one looks better than the other, something is configured wrong on one of the devices.

Streaming Netflix, hands down the PS3 is far better than HTPC.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #3 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mumflaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

They should look exactly the same, playing the same file. If one looks better than the other, something is configured wrong on one of the devices.

Streaming Netflix, hands down the PS3 is far better than HTPC.

Thanks dude. Appreciate the quick response smile.gif
mumflaps is offline  
post #4 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
My HTPC is better than my PS3 on blu-ray and DVD playback. I am using an I5 processor and Radeon 7770 GPU and playing movies with MPC-HC using madVR with jinc 3+ AR and smooth motion and LAV.

The older model PS3 I have is better with Netflix, but I no longer use streaming, so, I can say it was better a year ago with different components in the HTPC.

In my experience a HTPC and a PS3 always produce visibly different results.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #5 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 02:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mumflaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

My HTPC is better than my PS3 on blu-ray and DVD playback. I am using an I5 processor and Radeon 7770 GPU and playing movies with MPC-HC using madVR with jinc 3+ AR and smooth motion and LAV.

The older model PS3 I have is better with Netflix, but I no longer use streaming, so, I can say it was better a year ago with different components in the HTPC.

In my experience a HTPC and a PS3 always produce visibly different results.

Yeah. My PC has i5 as well but a nvidea gtx 680 4GB gfx card. Guess that's similar to what you have.

I'm also going through an onkyo av reciever. You don't by chance know if this will effect gaming graphics at all? Probably the wrong forum to be asking in.
mumflaps is offline  
post #6 of 20 Old 03-13-2013, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sitlet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Your computer may be overscanning the picture, thus the ps3 looks better since you are getting the whole resolution. Or vice versa.
sitlet is offline  
post #7 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 02:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mumflaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sitlet View Post

Your computer may be overscanning the picture, thus the ps3 looks better since you are getting the whole resolution. Or vice versa.

On Xbmc you can adjust the scan and its set to overscan off so hopefully should be ok. Not sure about gaming.
mumflaps is offline  
post #8 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 05:02 AM
Senior Member
 
rsoares28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 401
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 23
From my own experience the ps3 beats my htpc in picture quality.

My htpc is basic.. Asus itx board.. I3 2100, 8gb ram, 50gb ssd. I use mediabrowser to play my media. I use the Lav splitters following assassins guide. All my intel drivers are up to date.

I have couple mkv x264 TV shows I acquired from the web.. One in particular on my htpc shows really bad banding in dark scenes... Skin in dark scenes kinda looks Fluorescent in moon light.... Same file streamed to my ps3 using ps3 media sever shows a lot less banding and skin looks a lot more natural in dark scenes.

Now full 1080p mkvs look great on my htpc so I'm assuming the ps3 just does a better job with lesser quality 720p TV show encodes.

My tv is a panny vt25 and was isf calibrated by lions av. All my devices are fed through my pioneer amp with hdmi so it can't be a problem with one of the TVs inputs not being calibrated properly.

Just my two cents


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
rsoares28 is offline  
post #9 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 126
My main HTPC is a very nice setup. But honestly if there is any difference in playback, it is minimal. I'm on a Panny 60VT50, so any differences should be very obvious.

There's a big convenience difference though. I by far prefer to view ripped movies through WMC/Media Browser over the PS3. But again this is a convenience thing, not a quality thing.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #10 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 07:34 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mumflaps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

My main HTPC is a very nice setup. But honestly if there is any difference in playback, it is minimal. I'm on a Panny 60VT50, so any differences should be very obvious.

There's a big convenience difference though. I by far prefer to view ripped movies through WMC/Media Browser over the PS3. But again this is a convenience thing, not a quality thing.

Do you have any problems with screen burn on the plasma?
mumflaps is offline  
post #11 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,757
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 126
No burn-in, no IR (image retention). Been great. No regrets after almost a year with the set.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #12 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RLBURNSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,792
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 463
I used my 2008 panny plasma for almost 5 years as my main PC monitor and haven't had a single problem with burn in. I'm also a huge console gamer, but I did make sure to have screensavers and turn on pixel orbiting.
RLBURNSIDE is online now  
post #13 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 12:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
It is strange. I have a 2011 GT30 and that had IR...a lot more so than my 09' GT15 (I believe)....And my newest 65ST50 has zero.

Almost like every year is hit or miss. And maybe per model/size.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #14 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
If you have a CPU, RAM and GPU which can play a DVD or DVD iso using MPC-HC with the madVR renderer using jinc 3 +AR upscaling and smooth motion, (if your display is 60Hz) it will produce a better image than a PS3. Anyway it clearly produces the best sd I have ever seen. I also like blu ray better on my computer.

Additionally, I am using a 2008, 58" panny plasma with no burn in. I thought the plasma burn in discussion had been dropped a long time ago. If burn in exists on plasma TV's one would need to leave a static high contrast image on the display for an extremely long time.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #15 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 12:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

If you have a CPU, RAM and GPU which can play a DVD or DVD iso using MPC-HC with the madVR renderer using jinc 3 +AR upscaling and smooth motion, (if your display is 60Hz) it will produce a better image than a PS3. Anyway it clearly produces the best sd I have ever seen. I also like blu ray better on my computer.

Additionally, I am using a 2008, 58" panny plasma with no burn in. I thought the plasma burn in discussion had been dropped a long time ago. If burn in exists on plasma TV's one would need to leave a static high contrast image on the display for an extremely long time.
.

I have all this set up. Though not too sure on the smooth motion...Didn't bother to try and play with that. Is there certain settings? I had tried SVP and didn't really care for it, but I guess the smooth motion is a bit different.

Also I have used madvr for a long time now, but when applying the above settings I noticed another leap in picture improvement.

Madvr is fantastic.


And on the plasma, yea it is odd. Most years that I have seen through friends/family are great...except for the 2011 model I have. Also I remember in the GT30 thread a few others had mentioned the IR.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #16 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 02:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
SVP is something else and I did not like the results.

madVR version 0..86 has smooth motion: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1616520#post1616520
Once you have this version of madVR please post and I or someone else will suggest the settings. Smooth motion will need to be enabled. You will be asked and indicate OK.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
post #17 of 20 Old 03-14-2013, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rahzel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,715
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 147
SVP is frame interpolation... it is the same technology used in modern flat panels. It estimates motion between real frames and creates new frames which makes it look like the framerate has been increased. Most people don't like this effect. It works ok with sports, animations or documentaries, but not film (IMO).

FRC (frame rate conversion) is basically only for those who have 60Hz displays. Since film is 24p, it needs to be converted to play on a 60Hz display because 24 is not a multiple of 60. The conversion process causes judder that is most noticeable when the camera pans across a scene. FRC removes this judder and essentially makes it look like how a film will look on a display that supports 24p.

BTW, the link above is for v0.86... v0.86.1 is the latest version. The latest version will always be in the first post of that thread at doom9.

For the best results, enable FRC in the smooth motion section, and uncheck 'don't use linear light for smooth motion frame blending' (if your GPU can handle it).
rahzel is offline  
post #18 of 20 Old 03-15-2013, 04:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Postmoderndesign View Post

SVP is something else and I did not like the results.

madVR version 0..86 has smooth motion: http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1616520#post1616520
Once you have this version of madVR please post and I or someone else will suggest the settings. Smooth motion will need to be enabled. You will be asked and indicate OK.

I do have that version already.

Maybe I was asked during the install and didn't notice.

Thanks
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #19 of 20 Old 03-15-2013, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FantaXP7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by rahzel View Post

SVP is frame interpolation... it is the same technology used in modern flat panels. It estimates motion between real frames and creates new frames which makes it look like the framerate has been increased. Most people don't like this effect. It works ok with sports, animations or documentaries, but not film (IMO).

FRC (frame rate conversion) is basically only for those who have 60Hz displays. Since film is 24p, it needs to be converted to play on a 60Hz display because 24 is not a multiple of 60. The conversion process causes judder that is most noticeable when the camera pans across a scene. FRC removes this judder and essentially makes it look like how a film will look on a display that supports 24p.

BTW, the link above is for v0.86... v0.86.1 is the latest version. The latest version will always be in the first post of that thread at doom9.

For the best results, enable FRC in the smooth motion section, and uncheck 'don't use linear light for smooth motion frame blending' (if your GPU can handle it).

Thanks, I agree with frame interpolation...never really liked it on LED/LCD tv's with 120hz. Mixed feelings with my plasma and SVP enabled.

So anyways, now that I understand that FRC is under the smooth motion section of madvr's settings....I tried enabling and something bad happened (I forget exactly I'll have to try it again later today).

Do I want it enabled and select "only of there would be motion judder without it..."?

I may have selected enable smooth motion AND enabled the don't use linear light thing at the same time...

Thanks guys for the insight and sorry OP for the hijacking biggrin.gif

Edit: Actually I remember the issue I had, with smooth motion and the linear light thing checked I had some bad skipping video. Perhaps I need to tweak the settings. I have an i5 760 and a Nvidia GTX 460.
FantaXP7 is online now  
post #20 of 20 Old 03-15-2013, 06:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Postmoderndesign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I am not sure about your GPU for jinc 3. Last month Renethx wrote:
Madshi may add more GPU intensive, good algorithms in future, but for now HD 7770 is a nice inexpensive choice for all kinds of sources with Jinc3+AR / Jinc3+AR in a HD / full HD display, except for downscaling 4K UHD 60fps under Catmull-Rom+AR+LL (4K UHD 60fps is extremely rare anyway). GTX 650 Ti is another good choice (although I prefer AMD).
Edited by renethx - 2/3/13 at 1:08am

See if you can get Madshi or Renethx to advise you on whether you GPU is adequate. I think Renethx has posted a list of recommended GPUs but I can not find the list now.
Postmoderndesign is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off