Upgrade E-350? - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2013, 05:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jamesm113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I currently have an MSI E-350 that can get choppy at times under load. I have a 1 TB external hard drive connected via the mobo's USB 2.0 connector and I've heard that using USB is CPU intensive.

The case is an Antec ISK300-65. It came with an internal 135 watt PSU, but the power brick is only 65 watts. I've found inexpensive new bricks that will put out 120 or 135 watts and am considering upgrading there.

The next question is, if i get the 120 or 135 watt power brick, can it work with a triple core A6? Or should I go the Intel route? What CPU/mobo combo would work best? I have an HDHomeRun, along with lots of H.264 movies, and enjoy watching Netflix in HD.

Thanks,
James
jamesm113 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2013, 06:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pixelation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,067
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesm113 View Post

The case is an Antec ISK300-65. It came with an internal 135 watt PSU, but the power brick is only 65 watts. I've found inexpensive new bricks that will put out 120 or 135 watts and am considering upgrading there.

If it came with an internal PSU, what is the power brick for???
pixelation is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 06:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jamesm113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pixelation View Post

If it came with an internal PSU, what is the power brick for???
Sorry, an internal DC to DC converter.
jamesm113 is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 08:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 390
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesm113 View Post

The next question is, if i get the 120 or 135 watt power brick, can it work with a triple core A6?

Perhaps you are talking about Llano. Yes, but Trinity A6-5400K is a better choice.
renethx is offline  
Old 03-16-2013, 06:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ruiner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Or use ESATA instead of USB.
Ruiner is offline  
Old 03-16-2013, 06:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
jamesm113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruiner View Post

Or use ESATA instead of USB.
I haven't really seen any externals HDs on the market that are eSATA
jamesm113 is offline  
Old 03-17-2013, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,576
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19

The E-350 is weak at best and having the latest video drivers with NO POST PROCESSING selected in the CCC will serve you best for that processor.  Upgrading to an eSATA enclosure (assuming you have the connection on your mobo) would help.  Upgrading to an A6 means a new mobo and possibly RAM which is essentially a rebuild.  Funny you mention .264 movies 'cause I find the GPU knocks them out with ease - see how your APU is performing on them with MPC-HC - it's a free d/l and is DxvA accelerated.  Grab the AMD fusion apu monitor to see how much CPU/GPU is being used.

Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off