24p Content - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2013, 08:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by xreyuk View Post

One last question, MadVR just seems to be switching everything to 24p (even content I believed to be 50 or 60hz). Is there anyway I can double check this? Can anyone link me to some 50/60hz content? Or is it possible to use the OSD in MadVR to determine the source framerate?

This is not correct. In my case I added "1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p50, 1080p59, 1080p60" in "display mode" of my display device in madVR settings. The refresh rate (default 59Hz) automatically changes to (press Ctrl+J to see the refresh rate):

- 23fps progressive: 23Hz
- 24fps progressive: 24Hz
- 25fps progressive: 25Hz
- 25fps interlaced: 50Hz
- 25fps telecined: 50Hz; add the tag "deint=ivtc" in the file name to force 25Hz.
- 29fps progressive: 59Hz
- 29fps interlaced: 59Hz
- 29fps telecined: 59Hz (whence pulldown judder); add the tag "deint=ivtc" in the file name to force 23Hz.
- 30fps progressive: 60Hz
- 50fps progressive: 50Hz
- 59fps progressive: 59Hz
- 60fps progressive: 60Hz

Right now MadVR can't distinguish interlaced and telecined contents @25/29fps automatically. This is one of the problems madshi will have to address.

If your display can handle 23/24p contents properly, i.e. there is no internal pulldown to 59/60fps (and your graphics card supports 23Hz properly [if not, a workaround is ReClock or VideoClock]), just turn off SMFRC.
renethx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2013, 06:49 AM
Member
 
HDWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by xreyuk View Post

is it possible to use the OSD in MadVR to determine the source framerate?

You can do what renethx said, press Cntrl and J at the same time whilst watching a film. You wil see this:



Look at "movie 23.976 fps ...", it says what framerate film is. If you look at the first line you can see what refresh rate exactly GPU and Display are working.

Or you can see the mediainfo of the file by doing right click and clicking properties (or Shift+F10), you will see:



You can now see movie frame rate, bit rate, audio, etc.
HDWorld is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xreyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

Can you tell a difference when it switches? If not don't worry about it and enjoy the movie! smile.gif

Yeah I think I'll just stop worrying about it smile.gif

Just need to fine tune the calibration now smile.gif
xreyuk is offline  
Old 03-26-2013, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xreyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I apologise, I didn't realise there were other posts in this thread before I posted the other day.

I think it turns out a lot of my content was a different frame rate than I thought!

Thanks for all the help guys, really appreciate it.

On a side note, MadVR's upscaling is awesome!
xreyuk is offline  
Old 04-20-2013, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
xreyuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I wanted to revive this thread regarding this problem again.

I have it setup the way Renethx said above and I've come across one of these problems above. In the UK TV is shown at 50hz, so I wanted to check that MPC-HC was switching correctly by opening one of my TV recordings from WMC in there.

However when I opened it up in MPC-HC it was using 25hz instead. I looked at the file source in MPC-HC and VLC and they both said 25 frames per second, so I'm assuming UK TV is 25fps interlaced as above, but because MadVR can't switch for this yet it wasn't working.

The other thing was, I'm pretty convinced some of my programs that the source says are 24p are actually supposed to be 60hz, because they're recordings taken directly from American TV or DVD. It's the same with some of my English shows taken from DVD, I believe they should be 50hz but are showing as 24p in the file source.

It's getting to the stage where I'm sort of thinking about giving up trying with this..
xreyuk is offline  
Old 04-20-2013, 02:36 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
If you post short clips, I am willing to test them.
renethx is offline  
Old 04-20-2013, 03:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I play quite a few 25fps mkv's using madVR SMFRC on a 24/60/120 TV and it looks fantastic!

Sammy2 is offline  
Old 04-20-2013, 11:48 PM
Senior Member
 
gonzo90017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I installed MadVR but whenever I run it using MPC-HC I keep getting an error about unrar.dll is missing.
gonzo90017 is offline  
Old 04-21-2013, 12:10 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post

I installed MadVR but whenever I run it using MPC-HC I keep getting an error about unrar.dll is missing.

Use the latest build of MPC-HC. (Or find unrar.dll somewhere and put it in C:\Windows\SysWOW64.)
renethx is offline  
Old 04-21-2013, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by gonzo90017 View Post

I installed MadVR but whenever I run it using MPC-HC I keep getting an error about unrar.dll is missing.

Use the latest build of MPC-HC. (Or find unrar.dll somewhere and put it in C:\Windows\SysWOW64.)

I am running 1.6.5.6366 right now and it works. Is there a compelling reason to upgrade to 1.6.6.6957 at this time?

Sammy2 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off