asrock fma85x itx aftermarket cooler... owner users please - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hazna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Running a10 5700 in a isk300-150 . The stock cooler is overwhelmed. The back of the mono does not work for backplate coolers.
Anybody else with a similar setup?
Thanks
hazna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 06:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
I mention this often but an a8/a10 in a small case is not a good idea. From my experience you are going to need a large aftermarket cooler which will necessitate a larger case.
assassin is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 07:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Try to downclock CPU. CPU is less important in video playback, GPU is everything.
renethx is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hazna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by assassin View Post

I mention this often but an a8/a10 in a small case is not a good idea. From my experience you are going to need a large aftermarket cooler which will necessitate a larger case.

The case is behind my tv Vesa mounted.
hazna is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hazna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Try to downclock CPU. CPU is less important in video playback, GPU is everything.
Renethhx,
Is there a guide for under clocking?
Actually the temps are ok around 41 just the noise is bothering...
hazna is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 08:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
assassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 12,961
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazna View Post

The case is behind my tv Vesa mounted.

I don't think this is going to work well for you given the amount of heat and lack of airflow generated by the HTPC and HDTV in a cramped space.
assassin is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 09:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazna View Post

Renethhx,
Is there a guide for under clocking?
Actually the temps are ok around 41 just the noise is bothering...

Have you clicked the hyperlink in my my post? (There is nothing terribly difficult; just move the slide bar to the left a little bit. smile.gif)

Have you adjusted the fan speed in BIOS > H/W Monitor > CPU Fan Setting? (Select "Automatic mode" and set "Target CPU Temperature to, say, 60 and "Target Fan Speed" to, say, Level 3).
renethx is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 12:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hazna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Have you clicked the hyperlink in my my post? (There is nothing terribly difficult; just move the slide bar to the left a little bit. smile.gif)

Have you adjusted the fan speed in BIOS > H/W Monitor > CPU Fan Setting? (Select "Automatic mode" and set "Target CPU Temperature to, say, 60 and "Target Fan Speed" to, say, Level 3).

Sorry hyperlink did not show on my phone. Thanks.

The biggest problem I have is mounting an after market cooler. The back of the matherboard has chips where the backplate is supposed to go.
hazna is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hazna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Have you clicked the hyperlink in my my post? (There is nothing terribly difficult; just move the slide bar to the left a little bit. smile.gif)

Have you adjusted the fan speed in BIOS > H/W Monitor > CPU Fan Setting? (Select "Automatic mode" and set "Target CPU Temperature to, say, 60 and "Target Fan Speed" to, say, Level 3).

isn't 60c high?
hazna is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 03-18-2013, 02:13 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Maximum operating temperature of A10-5700 is 71.3°C. So 60°C is pretty safe. (If the temperature reaches 71.3°C, CPU will throttle down automatically to avoid damage anyway.)
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off