New to htpc. Can a 150watt psu power my set up? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-19-2013, 05:16 PM - Thread Starter
Oxn
Member
 
Oxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i have considered building a very powerful htpc using the igp on either an ivybridge or haswell.

So here is the plan with the Origen M10 case that comes with 150watt psu

I5 3570k or 4570k (may underclock pending how much power is needed) 77 or 83 max watts
Mobo
8 gigs of ram
Blu ray drive
1 ssd
1 hdd

Will it run on 150 watt if i keep everything stock, and max it load under gaming?
Oxn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-19-2013, 09:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 387
150W is enough.
renethx is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-20-2013, 07:21 AM - Thread Starter
Oxn
Member
 
Oxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any other input or is this definitive?

Reminder i want it to work under load
Oxn is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-20-2013, 07:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxn View Post

Any other input or is this definitive?

Reminder i want it to work under load

Definitive.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Oxn
Member
 
Oxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone explain it to me how? I used a power calculaator and it jus doesnt add up
Oxn is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxn View Post

Can someone explain it to me how? I used a power calculaator and it jus doesnt add up

From my own experience having built dozens upon dozens of mini-ITX systems I can tell you those power calculators just don't work when it comes to the small PSUs and modern systems.

What would the power calculator say the PSU needed for this?

i3-2120T
H61 motherboard
8GB RAM
128GB SSD
BD-ROM drive (slot-load)
AMD HD6670 GPU

Measures 110W at full load with a 120W power supply -- fully stable -- no shutdowns or anything. I ran Prime95 and Furmark and then played Steam demos all evening.

My guesstimate with the i5-3570K and your components you might see 100W max but most of the time 25W-45W.

I have customers running i7-3770S on 120W PSUs.

I save the 150W power supply for the AMD A10 builds.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 08:14 PM - Thread Starter
Oxn
Member
 
Oxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The power calculator i used shows actually around 140w
Oxn is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-25-2013, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Oxn
Member
 
Oxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just dont want to buy a $350 case just to see it run unstable
Oxn is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-26-2013, 09:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
user4avsforum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: California
Posts: 1,180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
150w is more than you need.

For reference I am running a mini-ITX with the following:

I7 3770S (65w TDP)
DH77DF Mobo
8 gigs of ram
Blu ray drive
1 ssd
1 hdd
Keyboard, Mouse, Webcam, BT USB, z-wave USB

All running on a CityNet 150w PicoPSU fed by a 120w AC-DC adapter.

Peak power at the wall as measured by Kill-a-watt meter never ever EVER... gets close to 100w - in fact I don't think I have ever seen it exceed 80w at the wall.
Intel Desktop utilities show steady voltage, a good indication that the PSU is not overloaded.
user4avsforum is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-26-2013, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Oxn
Member
 
Oxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply.

Its just a little confusing to me because I run just about the EXACT same set up on my main PC as the one I plan for my HTPC and the only difference being the 6870 gpu in my PC, and that has a 550watt psu in it.

I know it will never hit close to 550watts, but there is just such a huge power difference.
Oxn is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-27-2013, 01:45 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,240
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 387
When running all of the following programs simultaneously,

- Prime95 (CPU stress test)
- MSI Kombustor (GPU burn-in test)
- AnyDVD HD ripper (making BD drive and HDD busy)

the power consumption of the total system is ~125W DC (yup, DC is what you need to know when selecting a PSU). The system:

- Core i5-3570K (non-oc)
- DDR3-2133 4GB x 2
- Z77 mb
- a SSD
- a HDD
- a BD driver

This is an extreme case. I can say 150W PSU is enough.
renethx is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-27-2013, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Oxn
Member
 
Oxn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks now i feel confident in making the purchase in a month
Oxn is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off