GeForce GTX 660 7.1 Audio Sending PCM only - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 105 Old 03-26-2013, 07:45 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anujpuri85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you Shark... MPC-HC does use LAV now... however, I'm still not getting sound out of all my speakers. When I go into Play>Filters>LAV Audio Decoder, under the status tab, it shows input codec as aac, but output is PCM. I'm assuming this is my problem?
anujpuri85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 105 Old 03-26-2013, 08:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
I guess your "Speaker Setup" in Windows sound control panel is 7.1:



If the AAC source is stereo / 5.1, then sourround / rear speakers will be silent because Windows Audio Engine sends silent sound to these speakers. If the source is stereo (resp. 5.1) and Speaker Setup is stereo (resp. 5.1), AVR receives stereo (resp. 5.1) and can upmix it to 7.1. A fix to this problem is bypass Windows Audio Engine by WASAPI exclusive mode (then AVR receives stereo from stereo source and 5.1 from 5.1 source). How.
renethx is offline  
post #33 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 06:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
What is resp 5.1?

Is there still a need to run Reclock? I'm going to be re-doing my system in x64 soon and am wondering if I should bother with it.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #34 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 06:46 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
resp. = respectively. The sentence "If the source is stereo (resp. 5.1) and Speaker Setup is stereo (resp. 5.1), AVR receives stereo (resp. 5.1) and can upmix it to 7.1" is the same as the conjunction of "If the source is stereo and Speaker Setup is stereo, AVR receives stereo and can upmix it to 7.1" and "if the source is 5.1 and Speaker Setup is 5.1, AVR receives 5.1 and can upmix it to 7.1".

I don't know if you should or shouldn't. The main audio track of roughly 15% of all BD movies is LPCM. If you want to send the original LPCM as is ("bitstreaming" LPCM) to AVR, WASAPI exclusive mode is the only choice.
renethx is offline  
post #35 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Okay. I understand that now. I have my speakers set to 7.1 in Windows and in WMC.

I have a few older BRD's that are LPCM (Kill Bill's and Harry Potter's) that I've ripped to mkv. They playback multi-channel LPCM to my AVR. Is maybe the video and audio clock out of sync in this case so Reclock would be better?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #36 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
renethx is offline  
post #37 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
I'm about to do a new set up using Win7x64 on an new SSD I have so maybe I will try then.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #38 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 07:20 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did you say you have a Asus mother board?.I use nothing but Asus boards, Been There ,If so go into the motherboard Bio's setup, (hold the Del key during boot up, It will take you there)
then go to Advanced\ then go down to onboard devices configuration, then look for SPDIF out mode setting, You will have 2 choices there SPDIF & HDMI, Choose HDMI, hit ESC, then go to exit & hit save .
& you should be good to go
tuna1934 is offline  
post #39 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 08:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267

That bios setting is for the integrated GPU, has no affect on a dedicated video card.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #40 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 08:28 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry ", But none of my Mother boards Have integrated Video cards. I have a Xfx Ati 6950 in one, A nvidia gt 650. & a ATI HD 5870 in the third, All ASUS NO built in Video.I'm a Builder & all i use are Asus Boards.
tuna1934 is offline  
post #41 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:14 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's the setup instructions right from the Asus P6X58D-E manual
The HDMI is on the Video card XFX radeon HD 6950
I'm running DTS HD Master audeo pass through via the built in realteck audio.
If i disable HDMI in the setup, it reverts back to SPDIF, I lose everything.
OH" i forgot to mention I'm a retired CBS Broadcast Engineer.
tuna1934 is offline  
post #42 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anujpuri85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna1934 View Post

Here's the setup instructions right from the Asus P6X58D-E manual
The HDMI is on the Video card XFX radeon HD 6950
I'm running DTS HD Master audeo pass through via the built in realteck audio.
If i disable HDMI in the setup, it reverts back to SPDIF, I lose everything.
OH" i forgot to mention I'm a retired CBS Broadcast Engineer.

Tuna, I do have HD Audio enabled.. though I believe that's for the front speaker jacks... I'm sending my audio out of my GPU. Either way... hd audio is set in bios to no effect...
anujpuri85 is offline  
post #43 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anujpuri85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

I guess your "Speaker Setup" in Windows sound control panel is 7.1:



If the AAC source is stereo / 5.1, then sourround / rear speakers will be silent because Windows Audio Engine sends silent sound to these speakers. If the source is stereo (resp. 5.1) and Speaker Setup is stereo (resp. 5.1), AVR receives stereo (resp. 5.1) and can upmix it to 7.1. A fix to this problem is bypass Windows Audio Engine by WASAPI exclusive mode (then AVR receives stereo from stereo source and 5.1 from 5.1 source). How.

Tried all this... doesn't work...wasapi mode is set, but still doesn't play out of all speakers. the only way I get sound out of all speakers is if i set sound config to Stereo instead of 5.1 surround or 7.1 surround. But then, my sub doesn't work. In 5.1 or 7.1, I get sound out of some of my speakers. My greatest problem is not getting sound out of all my speakers from tv through my tuner in media center. My previous setup, I had my media center streaming to my xbox360, and I got 7.1 sound out of it... tv played through all speakers AND sub... but now i moved my htpc into my living room and directly connect it to my receiver... and i have these sound issues....
anujpuri85 is offline  
post #44 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:37 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HD enable/disable is only for the frontRCA jacks.
The important Item is SPDIF is in the back, & HDMI is on the video card,
Tell me what Mother board you have & what Video Card you are using.
Some video cards require a audio jumper from the MB SPDIF output To the video card, in order for the HDMI to work.
tuna1934 is offline  
post #45 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna1934 View Post

Here's the setup instructions right from the Asus P6X58D-E manual
The HDMI is on the Video card XFX radeon HD 6950
I'm running DTS HD Master audeo pass through via the built in realteck audio.
If i disable HDMI in the setup, it reverts back to SPDIF, I lose everything.
OH" i forgot to mention I'm a retired CBS Broadcast Engineer.

Why is that option in the bios when you can switch audio devices in windows or any other os... Doesn't make sense to me. My guess is that bios is also used on another board with onboard video.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #46 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Play a stereo PCM source (e.g. music CD) in WASAPI exclusive mode. Does your AVR receives stereo audio stream?

Play a 5.1 PCM source (there are many BD movies with 5.1 LPCM; if you don' have any, I can send you a short clip) in WASAPI exclusive mode. Does your AVR receives 5.1 audio stream?

You can check this by setting your AVR in "Direct" mode (or OSD if OSD shows information on incoming audio channel count and frequency). This is the first step to diagnose the problem.

It's AVR's role to expand stereo/5.1 to 7.1 (e.g. by Dolby Pro Logic IIx). If AVR receives 7.1 with silent surround, it can't expand it.
renethx is offline  
post #47 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 09:54 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have my three computers all setup as follows.Computer room asus as i mentioned ATI 6950 video card, HDMI out put to a Denon AVR 2309CI HDMI out to a 32" LG LCD TV 7.1 external speaker surround with a paragean Sub woofer.
Bedroom Same setup 42" lcd TV Infinity 7.1
Living room same as above 52" lcd TV 12" sub woofer & 7,1 speakesr my design & build.
All HDMI as I discribe earlier.
tuna1934 is offline  
post #48 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 10:04 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(Why is that option in the bios when you can switch audio devices in windows or any other os.) This is software control.
Bio's Controls Hardware through IRQ.( Like Switching Train tracks at a rail yard)
So what does that mean Windows say I'm all set I turned on the lights for the train to go.
The bio's now says Ok " let me switch the Tracks.
Or one has nothing to do with the other.,One is software & the other is Hardware.
Remember the Bio's Chip on bootup has all the instructions for what Hardware to turn on & how to Route It
Hope that helps.
tuna1934 is offline  
post #49 of 105 Old 03-27-2013, 10:48 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna1934 View Post

HD enable/disable is only for the frontRCA jacks.
The important Item is SPDIF is in the back, & HDMI is on the video card,
Tell me what Mother board you have & what Video Card you are using.
Some video cards require a audio jumper from the MB SPDIF output To the video card, in order for the HDMI to work.

Every latest graphics card (since Radeon HD 2xxx series, GeForce GT 210/220/240, Intel G35) has its own HD audio controller that grabs audio signals via PCI Express. So there are two completely independent audio codecs in most of the latest systems:

- HDMI (DVI, DP) on GPU that has a HD audio controller of its own.
- Analog / SPDIF on onboard audio codec; HD audio controller is in the mb chipset.

Older GeForce GT(X) 8xxx, GT(X) 9xxx and GT(X) 260- cards (except for GeForce mGPU) don't have HD audio controller and require S/PDIF input for audio support, but this is not the case here ("GeForce GTX 660" in the thread title).
renethx is offline  
post #50 of 105 Old 03-28-2013, 06:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,846
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna1934 View Post

HD enable/disable is only for the frontRCA jacks.
The important Item is SPDIF is in the back, & HDMI is on the video card,
Tell me what Mother board you have & what Video Card you are using.
Some video cards require a audio jumper from the MB SPDIF output To the video card, in order for the HDMI to work.

Every latest graphics card (since Radeon HD 2xxx series, GeForce GT 210/220/240, Intel G35) has its own HD audio controller that grabs audio signals via PCI Express. So there are two completely independent audio codecs in most of the latest systems:

- HDMI (DVI, DP) on GPU that has a HD audio controller of its own.
- Analog / SPDIF on onboard audio codec; HD audio controller is in the mb chipset.

Older GeForce GTX 8xxx, GT(X) 9xxx and GT(X) 260 and up cards (except for mGPU) don't have HD audio controller and require S/PDIF input for audio support, but this is not the case here ("GeForce GTX 660" in the thread title).

This is good information.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #51 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anujpuri85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuna1934 View Post

HD enable/disable is only for the frontRCA jacks.
The important Item is SPDIF is in the back, & HDMI is on the video card,
Tell me what Mother board you have & what Video Card you are using.
Some video cards require a audio jumper from the MB SPDIF output To the video card, in order for the HDMI to work.

I have an Asus P5Q-E with a GeForce GTX 660 video card. HDMI out of my video card does currently work, just not proper 7.1 sound.
anujpuri85 is offline  
post #52 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anujpuri85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Play a stereo PCM source (e.g. music CD) in WASAPI exclusive mode. Does your AVR receives stereo audio stream?

Play a 5.1 PCM source (there are many BD movies with 5.1 LPCM; if you don' have any, I can send you a short clip) in WASAPI exclusive mode. Does your AVR receives 5.1 audio stream?

You can check this by setting your AVR in "Direct" mode (or OSD if OSD shows information on incoming audio channel count and frequency). This is the first step to diagnose the problem.

It's AVR's role to expand stereo/5.1 to 7.1 (e.g. by Dolby Pro Logic IIx). If AVR receives 7.1 with silent surround, it can't expand it.

Unfortunately, I don't have any music cds. I tried downloading some 7.1 THX test mp3s, but when I play them, LAV shows them as being 2 channel only. I have some movies that show 6 channel in LAV settings, however I still don't hear sound out of my rear speakers. My audio settings are set to 7.1 surround. If I change to stereo, then I get sound through all my speakers, however my sub doesn't work then.
anujpuri85 is offline  
post #53 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 12:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by anujpuri85 View Post

I have some movies that show 6 channel in LAV settings, however I still don't hear sound out of my rear speakers. My audio settings are set to 7.1 surround. If I change to stereo, then I get sound through all my speakers

Then you are still sending audio in WASAPI "shared" mode (i.e. Windows Audio Engine does processing on your audio stream). You will want to send audio in WASAPI "exclusive" mode. Did you follow the instruction?
renethx is offline  
post #54 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 12:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
I tried downloading some 7.1 THX test mp3s, but when I play them, LAV shows them as being 2 channel only.

 

MP3 doesn't support multichannel audio.

 

 

Quote:
I have some movies that show 6 channel in LAV settings, however I still don't hear sound out of my rear speakers. My audio settings are set to 7.1 surround.

 

6 channels = 5.1 audio. Setup your receiver to upmix to 7.1, not sure what its called.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #55 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 01:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anujpuri85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Then you are still sending audio in WASAPI "shared" mode (i.e. Windows Audio Engine does processing on your audio stream). You will want to send audio in WASAPI "exclusive" mode. Did you follow the instruction?

I did follow your instructions for setting up ReClock. Any way for me to check whether it's actually wasapi exclusive during playback?
anujpuri85 is offline  
post #56 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
anujpuri85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post

MP3 doesn't support multichannel audio.



6 channels = 5.1 audio. Setup your receiver to upmix to 7.1, not sure what its called.

My system's already setup to upmix to 7.1. If I connect my phone or laptop and play music through the front input on my receiver, then it upmixes all my mp3s and I get full sound through all my speakers, including my sub.

If I change my audio settings to 5.1 surround on my computer, then I only get sound through 5 speakers (front three and back 2). The back surrounds get no sound, and on top of that, my sub doesn't work. So i don't think it's a receiver issue...
anujpuri85 is offline  
post #57 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 267

Have you setup the receiver to upmix on the HDMI input you are using? When you change inputs it will most likely change what surround mode you were using. If you click on the reclock icon in the system tray, it will bring up a window and that will show you if you are using wasapi exclusive.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #58 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 01:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by anujpuri85 View Post

I did follow your instructions for setting up ReClock. Any way for me to check whether it's actually wasapi exclusive during playback?

Click the ReClock icon in the system tray during the playback and check ReClock properties > Renderers infos > Audio.
renethx is offline  
post #59 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 03:04 PM
Member
 
tuna1934's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anujpuri85
Said (I have an Asus P5Q-E with a GeForce GTX 660 video card. HDMI out of my video card does currently work, just not proper 7.1 sound.)
I looked at your bio's in your manual.

I had that problem in the past with an older Asus MB.
If you notice I posted my Bio's for my Asus In advanced mine has the HDMI choice, Your does not.
remember the choice on HD in the bio's is only for ( front or Back)
In my bio's the choice for Digital is SPDIF or HDMI.
Yours is missing that choice.

So what i had to do in order to get 7.1 on that MB was to use HDMI for Video only, & use a Optical cable from the back of the MB to the AVR receiver.
You will have to set the receiver for Video= HDMI , Audio= Optical
You should get DTS, Dolby Digital In 5.1 & 7.1, But may or may not get DTS HD Master Audio or same for Dolby Digital Tru HD ,Depending on your receiver.
Setting it up this way, you should be able to verify 7.1 in Control panel sound test, If you hear it there , It should work with everything else.
tuna1934 is offline  
post #60 of 105 Old 03-29-2013, 03:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
S/PDIF (optical / coaxila) supports stereo PCM, DD and DTS, but does not support multichannel LPCM, Dolby TrueHD, or DTS-HD MA/HRA.
renethx is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off