Flexraid and CPU speed. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 03-25-2013, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
highzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking of building a media server using Windows 7 x64 Home Premium and Flexraid. I would be using already filled disks. I understand that Flexraid takes a lot of time to calculate parity. Would using a faster CPU help or is the parity calculation disk limited?
highzone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 03-25-2013, 04:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I would say parity calculation is mostly disk dependent. I don't see a lot of CPU usage on my aging i7 920 when updating the parity. If you have faster disks, the parity calculation will be faster.
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-26-2013, 04:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
highzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Then I don't need a powerful CPu to run Flexraid.
highzone is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-26-2013, 01:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomandbeth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
No, you don't need much of a processor.

Bear in mind I've only had a server for just under a year and used Assassin's guide ,
Since the CPU is running 7/24 it seems like a good idea to have a system that runs
on the 65W or lower processors. Now if your server is being used in a business
environment or constantly handles an interface with the outside (as compared to streaming
music and video to your household) then you probably want more robust of a CPU MOBO and NIC.
Oh, I do all my transcoding on another computer. As I transcode MAYBE a few hours three times
a week that computer only gets run "as needed"

I use speedfan, which crudely shows how much the CPU is working on various tasks.
I HAVE noted the activity running Flexraid on WHS2011 with an I3-2120 and G2139.
It barely registers. Maybe it's pegged running a verification, but that's at 4 in the morning...
Seeing your question above about building the Parity drive, I wish I had bothered to look at this
meter, but... knowing I had over 5T of data, I just let it run while I slept.

Anyway from a newbie to a newbie,

.
tomandbeth is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-27-2013, 12:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
highzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice to get a 2nd confirmation. Thanks.
highzone is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off