Built-in DVR Mobo? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 03-28-2013, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Is there such a thing as a Mobo with built-in DVR hardware? I will need ATSC/QAM recording only.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 03-30-2013, 06:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
audit13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,666
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I've never heard of such a feature being hardwired into a mobo. Personally, I would not want such a feature given the flexibility of using an add-on pci-e or usb tuner.
audit13 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 03-30-2013, 06:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBobb View Post

Is there such a thing as a Mobo with built-in DVR hardware? I will need ATSC/QAM recording only.

it wouldnt surprise me if there was an integrated solution with an ATI All in Wonder chipset, but those are long gone.

does your need for an integrated solution come from a very small case? this might be of interest to you.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816321017

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 03-30-2013, 07:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 118
It's called a Tivo. wink.gif
captain_video is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 03-31-2013, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by pittsoccer33 View Post

does your need for an integrated solution come from a very small case? this might be of interest to you.


Thanks, I guess I will have to compromise with a 1-slot riser.

Solution: FREE. Explanation: I will have to charge$ you.

MrBobb is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 03-31-2013, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 176
There are USB and Ethernet atsc/qam tuners that you could connect.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 03-31-2013, 05:45 PM
Senior Member
 
MrZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Madison, AL
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Another option is a HDHomeRun on the network. I don't know if it's still on sale tonight, but it was just $59.99 shipped on Friday from Newegg.

Mr Zoid

A GF that bought me a PS3 and a HD-A2? I'm a lucky man!
MrZoid is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off