Bitstraming while connected to LG projector - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-30-2013, 05:22 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
levian71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ,
i followed Tullis procedure on http://www.avsforum.com/t/1065232/official-asus-xonar-hdav1-3-thread/8100#post_17448181 and it works perfectly when i connected my HTPC to my Sony Bravia TV. However when i connect my LG projector (CF181D) to it (and switch the TV off) i am getting only following supported audio formats:

DTS Audio
Dolby Digital Plus
Dolby Digital


No DTS-HD or Dolby TrueHD formats are listed.

When starting up and having the Sony TV connected i am receiving following formats:

DTS Audio
Dolby Digital Plus
DTS-HD
Dolby TrueHD
Dolby Digital

I followed Tulli's procedure and extracted my EDID to an .inf file while connected to the Sony TV.
When connected to the LG projector i imported the .inf file to the display driver.
Hovever it doesn't overide and only shows the audio formats without DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD.

My setup is following:
OS: Windows 7
mainboard; Asrock H67M with Intel HD Graphics 2000/3000
processor: core i3
receiver: Denon AVR 2313

Could anybody help me ?

Thanks for any help,
levian71
levian71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-31-2013, 12:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andrew Hornfeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: AL
Posts: 2,551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16

Given nobody has written I'll show MY ignorance and ask: what's the big deal???  I have a Epson PJ (my third PJ, had 2 Sony models prior) and have never had to do all this EDID stuff or load a bunch of codec "pak" files to get it to work -- K.I.S.S.

 

I have HDMI from PC to Onkyo 803 and HDMI from it to PJ -- viola`   Sure, my AVR is only 5.1 but all is well using my $20 HD4550 and the AMD CCC drivers.  (OK, so I really do have a HD6450 now, but my AVR won't do the HD formats so I didn't mention it - why spend another $500 on another AVR that does 7.1 when my 5.1 is functioning just fine???)

Andrew Hornfeck is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-31-2013, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kegobeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 1,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this your setup?

Computer -> Denon -> TV/Projector
kegobeer is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-31-2013, 01:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
If .inf file can override EDID of HDMI, we don't need so many EDID override threads. EDID is passed over by HDMI hand shake. In this case, your Denon receiver will hand over its EDID info for Audio + PJ or TV's EDID info for video. Normally, audio info in the EDID should not change with TV changes. But if your projector only supports DVI, a lot of receiver will have problem handshake with DVI devices.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 04-04-2013, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
levian71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Code:
Is this your setup?

Computer -> Denon -> TV/Projector

Yes, that's how i connected it.


Code:
If .inf file can override EDID of HDMI, we don't need so many EDID override threads. EDID is passed over by HDMI hand shake. In this case, your Denon receiver will hand over its EDID info for Audio + PJ or TV's EDID info for video. Normally, audio info in the EDID should not change with TV changes. But if your projector only supports DVI, a lot of receiver will have problem handshake with DVI devices.

No, my PJ is connected with HDMI...
I don't understand why it changes also the audio signal.

My Denon has 2 hdmi outputs. setup looks like:

Computer -> Denon -->
HDMI1out to TV
HDMI2out to projector

I'm going to test the projector only on the HDMI1out next.
levian71 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
DVI and HDMI has the same exact digital wiring. Since Projectors don't support audio, it will be just like a DVI device. It is up to your Denon receiver to interpreting the EDID from the connected systems. Your receiver could use HDMI1out only for EDID info (in this case the TV is off). Who knows. But I think you should test it out using HDMI1out connection like mentioned above.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 09:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Rather than getting a bigger LED or Plasma, I am thinking projector and screen at 120" for my next HT upgrade (six months out). My Denon only has one HDMI out so a switch would be necessary but I am curious as to the solution here as what is revealed may be helpful information for me.

That said, what model Denon is this? Knowing that, we can take a peak at the manual and see if there's a setting that you missed or something along that line.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Another possibility is that the receiver can't get a proper HDCP handshake from the projector. In turn it will disable all HD audio capabilities. With the long HDMI cables connecting to projectors, it is a rather common problem.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 180
The AVR will disable HD Audio because it can't get EDID from the projector?

How I long for the simplicity of analog connections that don't have a sorry excuse for DMR built in like HDMI/HDCP does.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
No, it is probably more than just EDID. HDCP handshake is separate process. Long HDMI cable is always a problem.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 180
I know that it is and that long cables are a problem but why would an AVR refuse HD Audio because it cannot get the EDID data back from a projector? This is why I think it is HDCP too as it is refusing the HD Audio because all the HDCP failed. Just my thought's but I am probably wrong as I am no expert here.

To the OP, there may be more info on this in the Projector section too as I'm sure that people there have wrestled with these type issues and with long HDMI cables already.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 204
You misread my post. What I said is that if the receiver failed HDCP handshake with PJ, it could then disable HD audio.

Some video card utilities (like NVidia) can display whether or not current connection is HDCP capable. Not sure where to find this information on Intel IGP though.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 180
I did, in fact, mis-read that! So we're both saying the same thing I think.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 04-05-2013, 05:09 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Tulli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 5,169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 81
@levian71: Intel IGPs don't accept EDID overrides. Use a separate connection with a DVI-HDMI adapter or cable.

EDID Overrides (capture, install/uninstall, troubleshooting)
Tulli is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off