Help with first build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 04-02-2013, 08:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi

I would welcome any advice on the enclosed link



Intel Core i3-2125 Dual-Core Processor 3.3 GHz 3 MB Cache LGA 1155 - BX80623I32125

Hauppauge 1196 WinTV-HVR-1250 PCI-E x1 TV Tuner 1196

SilverStone Aluminum/Steel Micro ATX Media Center/HTPC Case ML03B

WD Green 2 TB Desktop Hard Drive: 3.5 Inch, SATA III, 64 MB Cache - WD20EZRX

ADATA USA Premier Pro SP600 2.5-Inch 64 GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive ASP600S3-64GM-C​

New Seasonic Power Supply SS-300ET Bronze 80+ ATX 300W/PFC/+12Vx2​/SATAx2/RoHS 12cm Bulk High Quality

LG Electronics 12x SATA Blu-Ray Disc Combo Internal Drive with 3D Playback and M-DISC (Black) UH12NS29

Corsair Vengeance 8GB (1x8GB) DDR3 1600 MHz (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory (CMZ8GX3M1A1600​C10)

Windows 7 Home Premium OS


Is this the right CPU and which motherboard would you recommend?

Thanks


P
Paul Light is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 04-02-2013, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
stamina1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Link does not work.
stamina1914 is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 04-02-2013, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You can tell I'm new at this.

Original post edited with list.
Paul Light is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 04-02-2013, 09:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 250

I would go with a different ssd like crucial m4, Samsung 830/840, or an Intel.

Get 2x4gb of ram so it can run in dual channel.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 04-02-2013, 11:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Adidas4275's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It is for a HTPC right?

I have used older gen slower SSDs in my HTPCs with out issue.

I have not used that one specifically but I would not spend the $$ on an M4, 840 or intel SSD.

The Kingston v300 series is cheaper.

I buy my HTPC parts used smile.gif

4gb of RAM is more than enough for HTPC use even with extenders.

I have ran my HTPCs on 2gb of RAM with w7 for a long time.

The i3 looks fine, PSU is fine, case is fine.....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Adidas4275 is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 02:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks for the replies.

What about a motherboard that can output 5.1 audio via HDMI?
Paul Light is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 05:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
http://microcenter.com/product/404867/H61M-E33-W8_LGA_1155_H61_mATX_Intel_Motherboard

You don't have to go with that much processor either. I'm about to build one with this one:
http://www.microcenter.com/product/408967/Celeron_G1610_26GHz_LGA_1155_Boxed_Processor

Using this case and power supply, I've built a system with it before.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811154087

And going to tear one of these open to get the HDD
http://www.staples.com/Seagate-Expansion-3TB-Desktop-USB-30-External-Hard-Drive-Black/product_895616

Have you considered an HDHomeRun tuner?
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 05:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Shoot, I just saw this deal... $39 after rebate and includes power supply.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811353017
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 06:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks TornadoTJ.

I want to make sure that the system is powerful enough for all HTPC duties and normal home PC functions, Word, web browsing etc.

I thought about HomeRun but thought that an internal tuner would be neater.
Paul Light is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 06:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
So is it an HTPC, or is it a desktop PC?

Running Word, a browser, and an email client don't take any power at all. With the power of today's PCs, just about anything can perform HTPC duties. It's when you start wanting it to be a gaming rig you run into problems with low power PCs. If you want to do MadVR, you'll need a discrete video card (as I've been told, I don't run it, I don't feel a need).
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HTPC and desktop PC. Will sit with router, AVR and XBox next to TV, 50 ft VGA cable runs to desk on opposite side of room for monitor.
Paul Light is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 06:48 AM
Senior Member
 
stamina1914's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just built my first HTPC about 3 months ago. I am a newbie at this and I am learning tons of things about CPU's everyday. A few things from my experience. First and Foremost, purhase the Assassins Guides to help with your build. Saying this would help tremendously would be an understatement. If Rome had a guide like this, it would have been built in a day. Secondly is this HTPC going to replace your cable's DVR boxes and will be used with extenders so that other TV's in the house will use it? If yes you may want research an alternative TV Tuner.

Secondly, as a newbie, you are going to read tons of post on this board where folks will say, you are only going to need this amount of that. Such as "G640 CPU would have more than enough power to do want you want an HTPC to do", or "I got my HTPC working with just 2gb of ram." These statements might all be factualy, but you are going to have to dig deeper to see if these items would work for you. For example 2gb of Ram could work for your HPTC, but lets say you have 5 TVs in your house and you plan to use 5 XBOX 360s as extenders( I know this my be a some hyperbole) 2gb or ram simply will not work for that set up. You would need more like 8. When confronted with this, i opted to go with the bigger is better approach. I bought 8gbs of ram form my build. I purchased the i3 3225 CPU, so know I just feel better about my build and I don't worry if I shorted myself.


Lastly the build part of your HTPC is only 20% of putting the HTPC together. 80% of your time will dedicated to adding and tweaking the softward so this baby hums.
stamina1914 is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I'm on somewhere around my 8th HTPC, going back to running GB-PVR on XP. I have 3 in the house right now, along with a WHS 2011 server. I do not run any XBOX extenders, but the system I'm building right now will run one. I use two HDHomeRun tuners; one HDHR Prime and one HDHR Dual ATSC. I'm a little the opposite side of the fence from you as you can tell, I like the minimalist approach. My two dedicated HTPCs right now are running i3 2400's, one being a 2400T because it's an mITX build where the processor fan had to be VERY small. The main HTPC is a regular i3 2400 built as fanless and quiet as possible, even going so far as to use a Scythe Mini Ninja fanless heatsink for the processor.

The Assassin's guide is interesting and useful if you are needing lots of options and need to figure out how to build something specific. If all you need is a basic HTPC, it's easy enough to do without the guide.

Whatever happened to Renethx guide?
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post

Whatever happened to Renethx guide?

It's still a sticky: http://www.avsforum.com/t/940972/guide-to-building-a-htpc-workstation-and-server

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 07:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
It is there, but very out of date.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
TornadoTJ

Is there anywhere local to North Dallas that you would recommend for parts?

Or, is it best to mail order?

Convenience is more important to me than price, to a point.

Thanks
Paul Light is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 3,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 34
MicroCenter in Richardson, Spring Valley and 75. I'm trying to get my account straightened out right now to order some junk right now. You can place the order online, then go pick it up at the express pick-up desk. Usually cheaper than mail order. You'll notice my links above are almost all MicroCenter. I just couldn't find the case I wanted there.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 06:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 152
Get the i3-3225 and bump your SSD up to 128GB

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,287
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Don't forget that Microcenter will price match NewEgg. Just figure out what you want from MC and check NE before you go to the store. If the difference is worth your effort then simply mention it to one of the salespeople and they'll print out the price and they will match it at checkout.

Going there tomorrow to pick up parts for a video editing PC I'm building for a coworker. Get to spend about $1,000 (i7, 16GB RAM, SSD, 7,200rpm HDD...).

bryansj is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 07:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks everyone.

Would the system benefit from a dedicated video card or is it not needed due to the on board video processing?
Paul Light is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 07:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Andy_Steb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 1,017
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 152
You have a low profile case picked out. Something to think about if you want to add a video card.

Andy_Steb is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I'm having problems finding a case that I like.

But, do I need a dedicated video card?
Paul Light is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 125
No, you don't need a dedicated video card. The Intel integrated GPUs will do everything you've talked about.

If you do go to MicroCenter, look at the $40 off i3-3225/motherboard deals: http://www.microcenter.com/site/brands/intel-processor-bundles.aspx .

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 04-03-2013, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Paul Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Thanks.

So, which motherboard would you choose?
Paul Light is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off