Hauppauge WinTV-DCR-3250 3 Tuner CableCard - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 28 Old 04-09-2013, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
highzone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
highzone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 12:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jdcrox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Posts: 2,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 74
I have heard it is a re-badged HDhomerun Prime
jdcrox is offline  
post #3 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 04:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 260
I don't know if it's a rebadged HDHR Prime, but it is a networked tuner. It's enclosed in a completely different case than the HDHR Prime, so it's not rebadged, but possibly repackaged. If it is a HDHR Prime in a different box then I'd be curious to know if it's also DLNA certified.
captain_video is offline  
post #4 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Looks to be on the same PCB.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 10:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Looks to be on the same PCB.
You must have bought yourself a set of X-ray specs to come to that conclusion unless you have access to both tuners and compared them side-by-side with the cases open. I'd be hard pressed to believe that Hauppauge would license a tuner design from a competitor, but I suppose it could happen. It also seems strange that it's only available from Best Buy.
captain_video is offline  
post #6 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
The 2650 is made for Hauppauge! by Silicon Dust so why wouldn't this be also?

That said, I suspect it is the same PCB because all the LED's and connections are in the same location as the HDHR Prime. As Silicon dust phases out the current Prime for the 4 tuner model with the h.264 encoder they can get additional sales from their tried and true tuner this way without having to offer two products.. Just a guess. I could be all wrong.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #7 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

The 2650 is made for Hauppauge! by Silicon Dust so why wouldn't this be also?
I was not aware of that. If that's the case then the 3650 is likely a repackaged HDHR Prime as you suspect.
captain_video is offline  
post #8 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Look familiar?



Linky

Sammy2 is offline  
post #9 of 28 Old 04-11-2013, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
More information right here on avsforum.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #10 of 28 Old 04-18-2013, 12:35 PM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

More information right here on avsforum.

That topic is for the dcr-2650. The OP is referring to the dcr-3250. It is a 3 tuner networked box. I have one being delivered today but, I am new to these types of tuners so, I probably won't be able to add much info. As of 2 days ago, the price was dropped to $149 from $179.
foltz61 is offline  
post #11 of 28 Old 04-18-2013, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I know this. What I was doing was demonstrating to captain video that this Hauppauge! Tuner you are getting is most likely a re-badged HDHR Prime. When you set it up verify if the web GUI looks like the picture I posted above.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #12 of 28 Old 04-18-2013, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I know this. What I was doing was demonstrating to captain video that this Hauppauge! Tuner you are getting is most likely a re-badged HDHR Prime. When you set it up verify if the web GUI looks like the picture I posted above.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #13 of 28 Old 04-18-2013, 03:34 PM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

I know this. What I was doing was demonstrating to captain video that this Hauppauge! Tuner you are getting is most likely a re-badged HDHR Prime. When you set it up verify if the web GUI looks like the picture I posted above.

Ok. Sorry about that. I'm actually just gonna return it without opening it. The windows media extenders are way overpriced. Also, VZ wans $20 to ship a cablecard. The closest fios cener is 30 miles away.
foltz61 is offline  
post #14 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 05:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,894
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 262 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by foltz61 View Post

Ok. Sorry about that. I'm actually just gonna return it without opening it. The windows media extenders are way overpriced. Also, VZ wans $20 to ship a cablecard. The closest fios cener is 30 miles away.
Look on ebay for used Linksys or HP media extenders. You can typically find them for less than $100. Verizon charges you for overnight shipping so if you order it today it will be on your doorstep tomorrow. They used to charge a lot more if they had to send out a tech to install the cablecard so consider it a bonus.
captain_video is offline  
post #15 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 08:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Let me understand this. You are not going to use the CableCARD tuner because of a shipping charge for the CableCARD and you are not going to use an extender because it cost too much but are willing to pay rent to Verizon month after month for their DVR's?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #16 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 10:58 AM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yup. $400+ for 3 extenders. Then I'm sure my computer will be too slow to run 3 extenders. So that will need upgrading. If the exenders were closer to $50 each, I'd do it.
foltz61 is offline  
post #17 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I suppose it takes about 30 months to recoup the cost of an extender but I need something to stream local media anyhow so why not an extender?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #18 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 12:25 PM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
An extender is a great choice if your starting from scratch and have the money. I have a Logitech Revue and a Roku for local media. The Roku requires Plex running on a server or compatible NAS though.
foltz61 is offline  
post #19 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 12:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
ncarty97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by foltz61 View Post

Yup. $400+ for 3 extenders. Then I'm sure my computer will be too slow to run 3 extenders. So that will need upgrading. If the exenders were closer to $50 each, I'd do it.

For me the pay back was pretty quick, especially if you go the used route on an XBox 360. Cablevision charged us $17.98 a month per DVR ($8.99 per cable box, then $7.99 for DVR service). So even if I had bought an Echo at $179.99, its only a 10 month payback. They also attached a $5 'extra drop' charge for having more than 2, so it was even more economical.
ncarty97 is offline  
post #20 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 02:03 PM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Another thing that stops me is, how long will it be until this setup would become unusable? I didn't say obsolete because I don't need the latest and greatest. I actually pay $40 a month for a multi room dvr and 2 HD boxes so, I'd be at about 14+ months just to break even. That's without a pc upgrade. RAM is fairly cheap now though.
foltz61 is offline  
post #21 of 28 Old 04-19-2013, 02:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I believe it will be for quite some time. Your 14 month window would be covered. Doing this is not for the average Joe because you become your own Cable Guy. If you are comfortable with trouble shooting issues once in a while I'd say do it. My set up is basically paid for already (beyond the HTPC which I would have anyhow so I don't count that) and now it is $28 on my pocket every single month which I actually use to up my package somewhat.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #22 of 28 Old 04-20-2013, 06:19 PM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just bought 2 hdmi xbox 360's with disc reading problems to use as extenders. One step closer. Verizon waived the shipping fee for the cablecard also.
Afroteddy likes this.
foltz61 is offline  
post #23 of 28 Old 04-21-2013, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I thought you were going to return it?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #24 of 28 Old 04-21-2013, 07:40 AM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Changed my mind.
foltz61 is offline  
post #25 of 28 Old 04-21-2013, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Good! biggrin.gif

Sammy2 is offline  
post #26 of 28 Old 04-21-2013, 10:08 AM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

Look familiar?



Linky

The 3250 has the same web interface. When you click the driver link, it has a Silicondust url.
foltz61 is offline  
post #27 of 28 Old 04-21-2013, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,885
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I knew it! Thanks for confirming. So if you have issues there is all sorts of answers on the SD forum and in the HDHR Prime thread here.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #28 of 28 Old 04-21-2013, 03:31 PM
Member
 
foltz61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks. I know it's still an SD repackage but, just to be clearer. The links start out as SD but redirect to Happauge.
foltz61 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off