What Router do you use (new thread with the poll intact) - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



View Poll Results: what router do you have? (PRIMARY)
Amped Wireless 1 0.53%
Netgear 35 18.72%
Cisco-Linksys (pre belkin) 28 14.97%
Cisco Enterprise 10 5.35%
Belkin 5 2.67%
D-Link 19 10.16%
TP-Link 13 6.95%
Buffalo 1 0.53%
ISP Supplied (Please specify) 7 3.74%
Custom PFSense or other Linux distro 11 5.88%
None (I use 3G/4G or direct modem connection) 0 0%
Other (Please specify) 57 30.48%
Voters: 187. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 86 Old 07-25-2014, 10:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
72.9.159.100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Major network update!

My new router is a Cisco Meraki Z1 (review)

I also have two Aruba Networks RAP109 access points as well as a Meraki MR12 AP.
72.9.159.100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 86 Old 07-31-2014, 01:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,789
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 428 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Netgear has recently pushed out some firmware updates to fix security problems for older routers like the WNDR3700 and it's derivatives, so any of you who are using older Netgear routers like myself should go to their website for the latest firmware if you aren't already using third-party firmware that has been recently updated.
LexInVA is offline  
post #63 of 86 Old 07-31-2014, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hammerdwn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 4,827
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 44
4/13 got Cisco Linksys EA4500 N900 dual band 2.4 & 5GHz running NON Cloud firmware. Been rock solid.
hammerdwn is offline  
post #64 of 86 Old 08-05-2014, 01:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post
What's best "value" router ?
I second that.

What is a good cheap router? I have a D-Link DIR-601 which IIRC cost $30. The wireless is a bit weak but the main reason for getting a replacement is sometimes it loses connectivity & needs rebooting. Anything out there for about $50 with a bit more wireless range?
Mike99 is offline  
post #65 of 86 Old 08-05-2014, 02:17 AM
 
A9X-308's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 7,173
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1040 Post(s)
Liked: 771
Cisco RV042G.
Looking a getting either an Asus RT-AC68 or Netgear R7000 as a wireless AP.
A9X-308 is offline  
post #66 of 86 Old 09-19-2014, 01:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
i use Wolflink Smart Router
Wi-Fi Wireless Dual-Band+ Router with Gigabit Ports, Smart Wi-Fi App Enabled
Ivywei is offline  
post #67 of 86 Old 09-19-2014, 07:06 AM
V_J
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by 72.9.159.100 View Post
Since the other thread's poll got eaten by the conversion from SMF to Huddler the router poll got deleted but the post remained in tact, however I would like to bring the poll back to it and get more discussion about this<br><br>
Please also feel free to submit some tips and tricks to getting better media server performance with your routers as well. I hope this version of this poll turns out better!<br><br><br><br>
To start with I currently have the Amped Wireless R20000G and I really like it.<br>
I have a review up <a class="bbcode_url" href="http://remixedcat.blogspot.com/2013/03/amped-wireless-r20000g-wireless-router.html" target="_blank">here</a> if anyone wants to check it out.<br><br>
Please tell us what you have and generally how your network setup is as well.
Other: Asus DSL-N16U

I did not put high requirements on wifi, as I have full gigabit cabling (former communist building: reinforced walls are good at blocking wifi signals) and a gigabit switch.

Reasons to choose it:
- included DSL modem (no two devices needed to be plugged in)
- has WAN ethernet port (in case I don't use DSL anymore
- has 2 USB ports (1 for printer, 1 for harddisk)

It gives a much better wifi signal than my previous router, but that was a 10 year old Linksys WRT54GC (compact travel router), which nicely surprised me. Multiple connections are rock solid, so I'm very happy with it.
V_J is offline  
post #68 of 86 Old 12-24-2014, 01:08 PM
Senior Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Upgraded my firmware on the Asus RT-N16, and also added in a wireless bridge to one of my security cameras at the back of the yard.

Main Router:
Router Model: Asus RT-N16
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/24/13) big - build 22118
Kernel Version: Linux 3.10.2 #52 Wed Jul 24 11:16:12 CEST 2013 mips

Wireless Bridged Router:
Router Model: Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) mini - build 14896

Last edited by w1retap; 12-25-2014 at 04:47 PM. Reason: typo
w1retap is offline  
post #69 of 86 Old 12-24-2014, 11:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
funhouse69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 470 Post(s)
Liked: 152
I am using a combo of the Verizon FIOS Supplied ActionTec Router along with my ZyXEL ZyWall 110 which I LOVE. I have the FIOS 75 / 75 and can watch Plex pretty much anywhere / on any device. Heck I can even "Direct Play" at over 30mb / sec while at work.

As for Wireless I have a Cisco 2504 WLAN Controller and two 1100 APs in my house.

Denon AVR-X7200 - Klipsch RF-82 II Fronts, RC-62 II Center, RS-52 II Surrounds & R-112SW & Four CDT-5800-C II Ceilings for an Atmos 5.1.4 Setup.
funhouse69 is offline  
post #70 of 86 Old 12-25-2014, 02:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
politby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: N59.45817 E18.39345
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 76
I use a Microtik RB2011UiAS-RM with Ubiquiti wireless access points, two indoors and one outdoors.


--
There are two kinds of people. Those who can extrapolate from missing information.
politby is offline  
post #71 of 86 Old 12-25-2014, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 6,655
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by amarshonarbangla View Post
ASUS ASUS RT-AC66U
+1
Karyk is offline  
post #72 of 86 Old 12-26-2014, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
smitbret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: East Idaho - Pocatello
Posts: 753
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 307 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Been using a TP-Link Archer C7 for about 2 years and just recently went down to T-Mobile and picked up their Personal Cell-Spot (Asus RT-AC68U). Flashed it back to OEM and quite frankly there is no measurable difference in the two.

I am using the Asus right now because it is hooked up and will just keep the TP-Link as a spare but if I had to spend the money on a router, the TP-Link Archer C7 is a steal at <$100.
smitbret is offline  
post #73 of 86 Old 12-26-2014, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Renton, WA
Posts: 6,655
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Good to see so few people using Buffalo routers. My Buffalo router was without a doubt the worst router I've ever owned. Constant dropped connections over its life, but the worst thing was that they released it with firmware which clearly wasn't ready for prime time. I thought it was just sluggish when setting it up, but after the first firmware update it became apparent it was just really lousy firmware that had not been optimized for the device. But that didn't stop them from releasing the model for sale.
Karyk is offline  
post #74 of 86 Old 12-26-2014, 07:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Using a Netgear R6200 that I bought last year. I am really starting to wonder if I should invest in a wireless bridge to get a little more added coverage in an attempt to stabilize the connection speed in my living room a bit. Just hesitant to spend the money.
davis449 is offline  
post #75 of 86 Old 01-21-2015, 11:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lulimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mukilteo, WA
Posts: 1,057
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 94 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Got a new router last week. Asus RT-AC68P. Such a huge upgrade over what I had, especially the wireless internet speeds.
lulimet is offline  
post #76 of 86 Old 01-22-2015, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jevans64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,134
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 160 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Router -- Linksys WRT 1900AC
Modem -- Linksys DPC3008
Switch -- Linksys LGS108 ( 8 port )

Denon AVR X7200WA, Emotiva XPR-5, Emotiva XPA-7, Sony XBR 75" 850C, Oppo BDP-103D, Roku 4.
DefTech BP7000SC (L/R), CLR3000 (C), SM55 (FH), UIW BPZ/A (SB), UIW 75 (TM).
JBL L7 (Sur), EoSone RSR 350 (RH).

PC 2.1 setup. Emotiva Stealth 6, SVS SB2000 sub, Emotiva DC-1 DAC.
jevans64 is offline  
post #77 of 86 Old 01-22-2015, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1381 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Do you mean wireless access point, or main internet router? Mine are not combined.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #78 of 86 Old 07-14-2015, 04:50 PM
Senior Member
 
w1retap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Just upgraded..

pfSense Router:
Silverstone PT13 Slim-ITX Case
Jetway NF9HG-2930 (Intel Celeron N2930 1.83 - 2.16 GHz Quad Core Processor, 4x Intel i211AT Gigabit LAN, mini-PCIe, mSATA, etc..)
8GB DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Impact 1.35v (Part#: HX316LS9IB/8)
128GB SanDisk x110 mSATA SSD
pfSense 2.2.3-RELEASE







Wi-Fi 1 Access Point:
Router Model: Asus RT-N16
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (07/24/13) big - build 22118
Kernel Version: Linux 3.10.2 #52 Wed Jul 24 11:16:12 CEST 2013 mips

Wi-Fi 2 Wireless Bridged:
Router Model: Linksys WRT54G/GL/GS
Firmware Version: DD-WRT v24-sp2 (08/07/10) mini - build 14896
w1retap is offline  
post #79 of 86 Old 07-14-2015, 06:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
dfkimbro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Franklin, TN (mostly)
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1retap View Post
Just upgraded..

pfSense Router:
Silverstone PT13 Slim-ITX Case
Jetway NF9HG-2930 (Intel Celeron N2930 1.83 - 2.16 GHz Quad Core Processor, 4x Intel i211AT Gigabit LAN, mini-PCIe, mSATA, etc..)
8GB DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Impact 1.35v (Part#: HX316LS9IB/8)
128GB SanDisk x110 mSATA SSD
pfSense 2.2.3-RELEASE
Nice! Eventually, I'd like to set up a roll-your-own pfsense or Sophos UTM appliance in a VM. Too many tech projects and not enough time.
dfkimbro is offline  
post #80 of 86 Old 07-15-2015, 08:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1381 Post(s)
Liked: 428
Quote:
Originally Posted by kapone View Post
pfSense under ESXi with an Access Point for wifi.
Same here.

A router is a router, an access point is an access point.

Do you want to know what people are using for routing or access points? Too often I see people calling access points routers. And yes, I understand that you can have wifi routers, but I want to be clear regarding what the question is.


Last edited by TornadoTJ; 07-15-2015 at 08:29 AM.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #81 of 86 Old 07-15-2015, 08:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Asus RT-AC68U

It´s one of the fastest on the market including the 5 GHz band.
gurkey is offline  
post #82 of 86 Old 07-18-2015, 11:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
72.9.159.100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
UPDATE!!!

Cisco Meraki Z1 router
Cisco Meraki MS220-8P switch
Cisco Meraki MR12 AP
2x Aruba RAP109 APs
D-Link DGS1210-10P switch
Xclaim Xi3 AP
Valuepoint Networks 12P
Luxul XWR-1750 router
Luxul XAP-1500
Netgear R7000
Airtight C75 AP
Netgear WNDR 4500v2 router
Amped RTA15 router
Amped R20000G router
Netgear WGR614
72.9.159.100 is offline  
post #83 of 86 Old 07-19-2015, 09:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
video321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by w1retap View Post
Just upgraded..

pfSense Router:
Silverstone PT13 Slim-ITX Case
Jetway NF9HG-2930 (Intel Celeron N2930 1.83 - 2.16 GHz Quad Core Processor, 4x Intel i211AT Gigabit LAN, mini-PCIe, mSATA, etc..)
8GB DDR3-1600 Kingston HyperX Impact 1.35v (Part#: HX316LS9IB/8)
128GB SanDisk x110 mSATA SSD
pfSense 2.2.3-RELEASE
Very nice build!
I've been running pfSense for about 2 yrs now with a few packages, OpenVPN, and many VLANs.
It's been rock solid
video321 is offline  
post #84 of 86 Old 07-19-2015, 09:33 AM
Member
 
waja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Belmont, CA, USA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I use three different routers, but only one is wired to do any routing.
Cisco RV-320 Chosen for the 900Mbps throughput between WAN and LAN and 100Mbps VPN throughput. Replaced a Netgear Gigabit Router that only had 60 Mbps throughput between WAN and LAN.
TP-Link AC 1750 - Used only as a WiFi Access Point.
TP-Link WDR 4300 - Used only as a WiFi Access Point.

Most rooms in the home are hard-wired through one, two, or three gigabit switches. None managed.

Rick
Sony XBR-75X940C | Denon AVR-X4200W | TiVo Roamio Pro | Panasonic DMP-UB900
HSU
VTF-3 MK5 HP | Hafler DH-500K | Snell Type C | Polk Audio 255C-LS | Polk Audio AB555
Sony KDL-48W600B
waja is offline  
post #85 of 86 Old 07-23-2015, 06:39 PM
G--
Member
 
G--'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElJimador View Post
Linksys E4200 v1. We'd been having some problems w/wifi dropping out so I briefly tried out Linksys' new flagship WRT1900AC but then returned it once it turned out the dropouts were just due to the buggy wifi card in my wife's laptop and I could no longer justify the expense of keeping the new router once I fixed the real problem. I've also been thinking about installing DD-WRT or Tomato on the E4200 but just haven't gotten around to it yet.
Been running the e4200 for about 4 yrs now it works very well. You will have to re flash stock firmware every year or two, firmware seems to get corrupted over time intentionally by Linksys or maybe not, I believe its intentional. I have used Tomato and it wasn't as good and had problems with specific devices. Enjoy.
G-- is offline  
post #86 of 86 Old 07-23-2015, 06:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadowed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,494
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 610 Post(s)
Liked: 506
I have a Makita router
Shadowed is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off