How to Handle TV Episodes that are 2-in-1? - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > How to Handle TV Episodes that are 2-in-1?

Home Theater Computers

123's Avatar 123
09:04 PM Liked: 11
post #1 of 7
04-17-2013 | Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2007
Hey guys,

So I'm having a problem with my metadata fetch. A lot of tv shows 'double' up 2 episodes into 1, and so I have those 2 episodes as a single file. This creates an issue with the metadata fetch, where it will only recognize the file as 1 of the 2 episodes. It's not such a big deal when it's the last 2 ep's of the season, but sometimes this happens mid-season, and it throws off the rest of the episodes' metadata. I thought about splitting the file into 2, but I think the shows actually released them as a "single" episode because the theme song only occurs once. How do you guys handle these 'double' episodes?

Thanks in advance.

Edit:

Found my answer by browsing the Media Center Master forums (the scraper I'm using). It is very sensitive to the naming convention - using "S04E12-E13" type convention did the trick.
ElJimador's Avatar ElJimador
01:33 PM Liked: 87
post #2 of 7
04-18-2013 | Posts: 538
Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by 123 View Post

Edit:

Found my answer by browsing the Media Center Master forums (the scraper I'm using). It is very sensitive to the naming convention - using "S04E12-E13" type convention did the trick.

Good to know. I've got a couple MKVs of Downton Abbey where PBS decided to run 2 episodes together so I was trying to figure out the same thing. I'll try this naming convention with my media scraper and see if it does the trick.
123's Avatar 123
05:18 PM Liked: 11
post #3 of 7
04-18-2013 | Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2007
Yup. It may be different for different scrapers, but that is (1 of 2) formats required by Media Center Master. Good luck!
omerome's Avatar omerome
05:35 AM Liked: 10
post #4 of 7
04-19-2013 | Posts: 61
Joined: May 2009
Could you please post the thread you found your solution to?

Thanks!
123's Avatar 123
11:36 AM Liked: 11
post #5 of 7
04-19-2013 | Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2007
Sure. Look at these threads:

http://forums.mediacentermaster.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7125

http://forums.mediacentermaster.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7120
ElJimador's Avatar ElJimador
12:44 PM Liked: 87
post #6 of 7
04-21-2013 | Posts: 538
Joined: Mar 2011
Well maybe I need a different scraper because I tried this with TVDB and it doesn't work for me. What I want in my case is for a single episode to show up in the list but with the title "Episode 7-8", etc. What I'm getting is 2 lines in the list view -- "Episode 7" and "Episode 8" -- with both pointing to the same file. I know I can just edit the title through guide / content settings but how do I keep it the scraper from re-titling it every time I update the library? Bit of a newb question I know but any help would be appreciated.
123's Avatar 123
11:39 PM Liked: 11
post #7 of 7
04-21-2013 | Posts: 117
Joined: Nov 2007
Hm. I was under the impression it would show up one time. I recently rebuilt my HTPC and formatted it as well and I've been cleaning up my files and metadata. Haven't actually loaded it into my front-end (XBMC) - I will report back when I do.
Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3