Building new server - Old 24TB server died time for a new one - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: What do you think?
Good 0 0%
Bad 2 100.00%
Different 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 04-18-2013, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
WestChi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My old 24 TB server died, I had way too many things wrong with it and I just got rid of my last 750GB drive. It's time to start fresh (Somewhat)

I will be reusing my case, power supply, and some 2TB drives, but below is what I am looking to purchase.

I will be using Server 2012 with one or two virtual linux machines.

What do you think of the combo?

1 G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL10D-16GBXL
Item #: N82E16820231528
Return Policy: Memory Standard Return Policy $124.99

1 MSI 970A-G46 AM3+ AMD 970 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
Item #: N82E16813130637
Return Policy: Standard Return Policy $79.99

1 AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor FD8120FRGUBOX
Item #: N82E16819103961
Return Policy: CPU Replacement Only Return Policy $159.99

https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=16979754
WestChi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 04-18-2013, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
amarshonarbangla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 39
I would get a Vishera CPU, like the 8320.

Are you going to use a bare-metal hypervisor or will you run the VMs within Server 2k12?
amarshonarbangla is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 04-19-2013, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
WestChi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been looking at that CPU wasn't sure if the additional cost is worth it.

I'll be running the VMs inside Server 2K12, I have had some compatibility issues with my raid cards and XEN.
WestChi is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 04-21-2013, 08:42 PM
Member
 
kingpin748's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
For what it's worth I just put these into my server this weekend:

Gigabyte GA-F2A75M-D3H
HyperX Blu 8GB DDR3-1600 CL3
AMD A8-5600K Black 3.6GHz 4MB Cache

Parts came to about $200 since the board was a refurbished. I'm running 10 drives with a total of 20tb.
kingpin748 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off