Broke my HDMI port. Any options? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 06:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I was moving my HTPC around the other day and the HDMI cable got caught and bent/cracked the HDMI port on the MoBo. Do I have any options other than replacing the MoBo? Right now I'm running DVI > HDMI and Optical.

CPU - Sandy Bridge LGA1155 (3D) Intel i3-2100
MoBo - GIGABYTE GA-Z68MA-D2H-B3


Newegg isn't carrying the MoBo anymore so If I have to replace the MoBo all together what should I get?
hollatbk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Just get a gt430
AnthonyB is offline  
post #3 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Toys7505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milford, Ma
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can you post a pic of the damaged HDMI port?

Toys

My Gear
Toys7505 is offline  
post #4 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah. I'll get a picture tonight when I get home.
hollatbk is offline  
post #5 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:26 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,831
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Buy a cheap $15 Radeon 6450 silent video card.

Profit.

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #6 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

Just get a gt430

Tell me more about this. Does it support 3D?
hollatbk is offline  
post #7 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mfusick View Post

Buy a cheap $15 Radeon 6450 silent video card.

Profit.

If I just bought a cheap video card with HDMI would I still be able to playback 3D?
hollatbk is offline  
post #8 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,831
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Provided the card supports 3D then yes of coarse .

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #9 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hollatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hollatbk is offline  
post #10 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
The gt430 supports 3d. I use it for my 3d viewing
AnthonyB is offline  
post #11 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 07:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

The gt430 supports 3d. I use it for my 3d viewing

What Player do you use?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #12 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 08:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Mfusick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Western MA
Posts: 21,831
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 689
Don't most video cards support 3d

-

"Too much is almost enough. Anything in life worth doing is worth overdoing. Moderation is for cowards."
Mfusick is online now  
post #13 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Just replace the HDMI port on the board. Shouldn't be too bad to solder

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #14 of 29 Old 04-19-2013, 03:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248

If its just bent then you can have someone buy a new port and solder it to the board. If it was ripped off then the traces/pads could be damaged and will be a nightmare to repair.

Mrkazador is offline  
post #15 of 29 Old 04-22-2013, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

What Player do you use?

PowerDVD 12
AnthonyB is offline  
post #16 of 29 Old 04-22-2013, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy2 View Post

What Player do you use?

PowerDVD 12

Thank you. I guess you play from disc rather than ripped to a HDD then?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #17 of 29 Old 04-22-2013, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Well.. You can get AnyDVD to play Cinevia protected discs with PowerDVD
AnthonyB is offline  
post #18 of 29 Old 04-22-2013, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Symbios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bennett, CO
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

What's wrong with your current DVI to HDMI solution? That's how I have my HTPC hooked up since the DVI port is much more durable. Does your board not output audio over DVI?

Symbios is offline  
post #19 of 29 Old 04-22-2013, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
DVI is Video only.
AnthonyB is offline  
post #20 of 29 Old 04-22-2013, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

DVI is Video only.
On some video card, DVI port carries audio as well.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #21 of 29 Old 04-23-2013, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
what is the point if it's not standard and no TV or receiver will understand there is audio.


http://m.cnet.com.au/does-dvi-carry-audio-signals-as-well-as-video-339270821.htm?redir=1


My guess is, you may be mistaken.
AnthonyB is offline  
post #22 of 29 Old 04-23-2013, 12:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,828
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 248
He is correct, there are video cards that can output HD audio through dvi using the supplied DVI/HDMI adapter. Any TV or receiver will get audio perfectly fine using this adapter.
Only specific video cards can do this so don't expect audio from a 10 year old GPU.
Mrkazador is offline  
post #23 of 29 Old 04-23-2013, 12:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
DVI port may or may not carry audio. It's up to the mb manufacturer. It looks like it does not in the present case. (Or hollatbk just didn't try to send audio over DVI?)
renethx is offline  
post #24 of 29 Old 04-23-2013, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,816
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

what is the point if it's not standard and no TV or receiver will understand there is audio.


http://m.cnet.com.au/does-dvi-carry-audio-signals-as-well-as-video-339270821.htm?redir=1


My guess is, you may be mistaken.

DVI-D (means digital) and HDMI have the exact same wires. Whether or not it carries the audio or not is up to the source as long as the other end is HDMI port. In fact, IIRC, audio is carried on the same wires that video goes. So, it is purely a protocol difference. There is nothing non-standard about it.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #25 of 29 Old 05-14-2013, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
There are no TV or receiver models that use dvi audio, so it's just a waste.

I read that ATi has a proprietary dvi which includes an hdmi dongle for audio.

Again, it's proprietary, not a standard.
AnthonyB is offline  
post #26 of 29 Old 05-14-2013, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

There are no TV or receiver models that use dvi audio, so it's just a waste.

I read that ATi has a proprietary dvi which includes an hdmi dongle for audio.

Again, it's proprietary, not a standard.

you need a cable that is dvi on the source end and hdmi on the tv end. i learned this by accident a few years back but it does work.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
post #27 of 29 Old 05-14-2013, 05:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AnthonyB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 3,685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
With what setup?
AnthonyB is offline  
post #28 of 29 Old 05-14-2013, 09:33 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,035
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 346
I tested literally dozens of dGPU / iGPU and found that

- AMD dGPU: DVI supports audio with this proprietary DVI-HDMI adapter.
- AMD iGPU: DVI supports audio with any DVI-HDMI adapter.
- NVIDIA dGPU / iGPU: DVI supports audio with any DVI-HDMI adapter.

There was no exception with the models I tested.

- Intel iGPU: Up to the motherboard. For example,
-- Intel mb: No audio over DVI.
-- ASRock mb: DVI supports audio with any DVI-HDMI adapter.
renethx is offline  
post #29 of 29 Old 05-15-2013, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pittsoccer33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pittsburgh (East Liberty)
Posts: 1,830
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnthonyB View Post

With what setup?

It was a Gigabyte GA-73PVM-S2H motherboard and a dvi to hdmi cord I bought at Walmart. Onboard Geforce 7100 graphics. Worked with a few different tvs.

My HTPC front end set up
Integration for whole home ATSC, CableCARD, FM radio, Blu-Ray, HD-DVD, DVD, VHS control & capture, video games, and archived & streaming media playback
Mironto's Panasonic plasma black level restoration guide
Restore the initial MLL on a 2009 Panasonic plasma
pittsoccer33 is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off