W8 Ceton InfiniTV Experience? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-21-2013, 12:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11

I've been using my W7 Ultimate X64 HTPC with Ceton InfiniTV watching/recording Cable TV for years. It is once rock solid HTPC to me.

 

I do not have any tablet except iPad. Is it a good idea to move up to W8? Any W8 Ceton user here that can share with me their W8 Ceton InfiniTV experience?

 

Thanks!

hlkc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-21-2013, 10:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,237
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Worked exactly like win 7 for the hour I was able to tolerate win 8.
mdavej is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-21-2013, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 6,451
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Works fine for me. Only limitation is that the Win 8 driver doesn't allow for network tuner sharing. Just add StartIsBack if you don't like using Win 8.

bryansj is online now  
post #4 of 8 Old 04-21-2013, 03:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10,237
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post

Works fine for me. Only limitation is that the Win 8 driver doesn't allow for network tuner sharing. Just add StartIsBack if you don't like using Win 8.
Unfortunately the missing start button is only the tip of the iceberg. For me, the damage they have done to every facet of windows is insurmountable, no matter how many add-ons and hacks you use. Just my opinion. Don't mean to turn this into a Win 8 vs. Win 7 thread.

While I agree than Ceton works fine in Win 8, I'm a strong believer in the old adage, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Also realize that if you have any extenders that aren't xboxes, they won't work anymore. So I have to say, no, it is not a good idea to "upgrade" your HTPC to Win 8.
mdavej is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 04-21-2013, 06:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
hlkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,758
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post


Unfortunately the missing start button is only the tip of the iceberg. For me, the damage they have done to every facet of windows is insurmountable, no matter how many add-ons and hacks you use. Just my opinion. Don't mean to turn this into a Win 8 vs. Win 7 thread.

While I agree than Ceton works fine in Win 8, I'm a strong believer in the old adage, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. Also realize that if you have any extenders that aren't xboxes, they won't work anymore. So I have to say, no, it is not a good idea to "upgrade" your HTPC to Win 8.

Thanks for the advice.

hlkc is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 04-21-2013, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
likelinus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Win 8 is just fine with a Ceton InfiniTV installed. I really have no problem with Metro as far as a start screen for an HTPC. I have mine setup with only a few tiles and my HTPC loads to the tiles and I can select XBMC, WMC, IE or Desktop. It's really fairly simple.

My other HTPC is running Win 7 and I won't be upgrading it to Win 8 simply because of the Networking Tuner issue.
likelinus is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-22-2013, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
erickotz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 30
We test on both Windows 7 and 8 and the InfiniTV works fine on both. My personal HTPC is on Windows 7 still simply because there is no reason to upgrade. However other machines in my house with InfiniTVs, like my desktop PC, do run Windows 8

Quality Assurance Manager, Ceton Corporation
erickotz is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-23-2013, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
mo0sic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Windows 8 works great with the ceton. If you use netflix, the windows 8 netflix app is really nice, with the exception of no keyboard shortcuts/remote capabilities.
mo0sic is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off