XBMC PVR Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2013, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
So is there anybody out there that would be willing to help me set up a pvr for XBMC so that i can use with my cable/DDVR instead of WMC? I've tried a few times but could never seem to get it to work. I have a HDHR3 tuner and a comcast cable card. I tried using next pvr and went step by step on the wiki page but no luck.

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-23-2013, 11:00 PM
Member
 
bluesynk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you downloaded the next PVR app for windows? You need it for the xbmc client to work.
bluesynk is offline  
Old 04-23-2013, 11:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
oh ya i downloaded it, fired it up and scanned my channels off of the card but when i would click on a channel it would just be a black screen.. googled that and tried everything i could find but no luck.

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
Old 04-24-2013, 06:50 AM
Member
 
gewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I found this guide to be pretty helpful:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1440470/xbmc-live-tv-and-unofficial-nextpvr-guide-targeted-to-homerun-prime

I don't use schedules direct but rather mc2xml. There's a guide on the mc2xml page which shows how to integrate it with NextPVR pretty seamlessly (auto update and all).

In terms of black screen, I had a similar problem. You need to play around with the video/audio codecs. I have the Shark007 codec pack installed and use the LAV codecs just to get it to work. If you want to used XBMC I don't think you need video working in the NextPVR program as XBMC has it's own codecs which seem to work well.

Just keep playing around with it and you can get it to work. I've founds WMC "just works" while XBMC/NextPVR requires a little bit more tweaking/patience. The tweaker in me loves XBMC for that reason, but at times it can be frustrating.

Oh, and also the NextPVR wiki is pretty helpful: http://www.gbpvr.com/nwiki/pmwiki.php?n=QuickStart.QuickStart
gewbert is offline  
Old 04-24-2013, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blueiedgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Amherst, NY
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 71
IF your provider flags everything as "copy once" I don't think anything, but WMC will work.

6 TV's in the house on FiOS and we only pay $4.99/month to connect them all!!! Power to the CableCard and WMC7!!!
blueiedgod is offline  
Old 04-24-2013, 02:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Is there anyway to look up whether my provider flags everything as "copy once" before i attempt to try setting this up again? I really don't want to spend all day trying to figure this out to find out its not going to work. Thanks in advance

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
Old 04-24-2013, 07:55 PM
Member
 
gewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Who is your provider?
gewbert is offline  
Old 04-24-2013, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
comcast in eugene oregon

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
Old 04-25-2013, 03:57 AM
Member
 
gewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Comcast marks everything as "copy freely," with the exception of premium channels like HBO which are marked "copy once." So you can watch anything through XBMC but those premium channels.
gewbert is offline  
Old 04-27-2013, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Mikeclough24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 28
So i'm at the point in their walkthrough where you scan your home run in device settings on nextpvr and it crashes it. I already patched it and restarted my pc.. any ideas?

Mike Clough #24
Mikeclough24 is offline  
Old 04-29-2013, 03:56 AM
Member
 
gewbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I'd register over on the NextPVR forum. Sub (the developer) is pretty active and can probably answer better than I can. He'll have you post some files and should be able to figure it out.
gewbert is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off