Hauppauge WinTV-DCR-2650 CableCARD Tuner Freezing... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-24-2013, 10:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
N7AS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having freezing problems with my Hauppauge WinTV-DCR-2650 CableCARD Tuner in that very frequently, while watching TV in Windows Media Center, the picture and sound comes to a hault and freezes. To recover, I have to exit out of WMC and remove the power from the Hauppauge tumer and plug back in and then restart WMC. This works but is a PITA to do this several times a night. Is there any cure for this?
N7AS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
N7AS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a firmware update on the DCR-2650 and I think all is well. The only other problem is that Windows Media Center is hogging my resources and overheating all my cpu cores.
N7AS is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
That doesn't sound "well" at all. Have you had a gander at Resouce Monitor to see what is hogging up all the resources? What is your HTPC anyhow?

Sammy2 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
N7AS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is on my main PC. HP HPE8 3,5GHz AMD FX-6120 CPU - 10GB DDR3 RAM. I do not use it as An HTPC. I just watch TV on it among other things. Windows Media Center is the resource hog. My ore temps jump ftom about 27 deg C to around 57 to 59 deg C when Windows Media Center is launched. I just think I will have to go to a Corsair Liquid Cooling System.
N7AS is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
No system running HMC needs to be liquid cooled. Something is not right. WMC runs at less than 20% of my i3-550, 3.2 GHz dual core. The temps are very low too.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-26-2013, 10:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
N7AS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What temps are you getting before and after running Windows Media Center?
N7AS is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-27-2013, 05:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 9,631
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 165
Comparing temps for a 2-core Intel to that of a 6-core AMD is not really appropriate. I'm willing to bet that your processor runs hotter out of the gate. That said, my i5-650 desktop which I am checking right now did not change temps at all when loading WMC with a LiveTV stream:

PCH : 34C
CPU: 25C

Sammy2 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off